We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superfriendly”
Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice Room, comfortable bed, supercosy blankets in a very caring and friendly surrounding. Due to the cold temperatures outside, the heater on the Wall, the hot shower in the very nice, europeanstyle bathroom and the warm blanket was the best thing that could Happen... Food was also nice and fresh prepared although we were the only guests at that time! Lovely breakfast, all made by the very Friendly Manager. A few broken steps could Not do. any harm to this nice Hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniLaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Clean rooms with a nice view. Good shower! Rest of hotel a bit old and not clean. Dark restaurant. Good breakfast. For dinner no much choice. Helpfull staff. Too expencive. You need a tuktuk to go to the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2707_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

One of my best stay in Sri Lanka..lovely, clean hotel.. Extremely warm n helpful staff..the hotel is 7mins away from the city by car, but totally worth it to live in this hotel. Food was really nice. There is nothing atall I could complaint about this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Sonalc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is a bit far from the city, but it had a great view to the tea fields. It is clean, and the food is the best we had in the country. The bad side is the service they provide to the staff, if you travel with a driver, he,she will be dad, and for good reason. Sleeping without heating is not convenient at this altitude.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekaeesgazsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Spent one night in this quiet little hotel just outside Nuwara Eliya. A nice change of pace from the other large hotels I have been staying in.

The room was of a nice size with an excellent view across a valley. The hot water, and water pressure were the best I have had yet in Sri Lanka.

Food was good too. One piece of advice would be to have some music playing in the restaurant as it was a little to quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucksee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had no warm water and the shower was broken but the very friendly staff fixed it very quickly so this wasn´t any problem. The room was clean and with the heater it was warm in the night. We also get a hot water bottle for the night.
The dinner was very good and there was nothing to complain about. But the breakfast was nothing special. The toast was very dry it and seemed like it was from the day before.
All in all the hotel was clean, the food was good and the staff very friendly but the price is quiet high for Sri lankan standarts.
We would go there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiKaQua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I booked to stay at the Midky for two nights during our honeymoon to Sri Lanka in early Jan 2014. We chose this place after seeing the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, but having been there, really cannot understand how it got such good reviews. We can only assume that these were fake. The 'hotel' looked fairly nice at first glance and had nice mountain views, however these positives were entirely overshadowed by the pungent smell which was extremely strong in our room and the shared corridor (and I assume all the rooms). The smell was very musty/mouldy and made spending any time in the room most unpleasant. I noticed that the smell made my breathing wheezy and brought on hay fever like symptoms. We even put Tiger Balm under our noses to try and mask the smell when going to bed.

We noticed that the sheets were dirty and clearly had not been cleaned since the last guests. I took the pillow case off as it had a stain on it and found the pillow to be covered in mould. We called the receptionist to change the sheets and slept without pillows as we could not bear to use them.

We re-packed our cases and left early the next morning to find somewhere else to stay. the tour operator we had booked through explained the situation to the hotel management and asked for our money for the second night to be refunded. We were told that the hotel did not offer refunds for "last minute itinerary changes." They also denied having a mould problem and said they had not noticed any smell in the rooms. This must be a lie as it would be impossible not to notice this smell - we felt like the air was so thick with mould that we could taste it!!

I would strongly advise people against staying here. It was not only unpleasant, but also a health hazard! And just to say - we are not usually fussy about accommodation, I am used to staying in hostels and most of the places we stayed in Sri Lanka would be described as 'budget'. I have never stayed anywhere with such an awful smell and there is absolutely NO excuse for mouldy pillows!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
920 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $58 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing