We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid staying here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Midky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midky Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Avoid staying here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel has a good view of tea plantations but very noisy place, because of hotel located near the main road. We were the only people staying in the hotel. We informed the hotel as soon as we checked in that there was no hot water service in the room. After six hours and numerous follow-up calls we finally got some warm water for a shower. You could stay at much better hotels at the same price. It was a very disappointing experience (Poor service, poor staff attention and poor communication). Before spent money think about hotel standard and competitive hotels in this area.

Room Tip: Noisy place near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjula Wic W, Manager at Midky Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for making all your responses with regard to your stay at Midky Hotel. On that particular day, we had faced an unexpected technical issue in our hot water system. It took nearly a considerable amount of time to get it fixed, which caused you some inconvenience. We are sorry to hear that there was some noise that affected your stay.

However we tried our best to make your stay a more comfortable one by offering you a complementary Dinner and beverages.

We look forward to see you in your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    41
    12
    14
See reviews for
66
93
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is small hotel, with one of the best views in town, great to relax in the evening over a dinner or over breakfast. The service was very attentive and very helpful, probably the best we had in sri lanka, without being too much.

Unfortunately for them we have a number of issues with the room. Though the room was recently renovated, there was visible damp which meant a) it was not pleasant to see and b) the room was freezing, even after having the heater on for the entire night. Also though the room had a window, it was boarded up, making the room feel like a dungeon. Finally, we had to wake up really early because of the sound of everybody else moving around and in the hotel, needs some soundproofing. Saying this, these are things easily fixed and would make this a great hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mstraveloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We came for short time but enjoyed our stay the service was good. The veiw from the room was really breathtaking. Should mention the friendliness of the staff and breakfast was simple but good. Hot water is really an issue but may be due to savings of electricity:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasoodMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is small. The room was clean. During our stay, Satellite TV was not working because of rain, and Shower heater was not heating properly. Breakfast was ok (Not a buffet, you order without a menu :P)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhmadYAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were at the Midky Hotel for a couple of days & it was unforgettable. It was quite clean & tidy & the scenery was tremendous. Should mention the friendliness of the staff as well as the tasty food they offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuwan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay the service was great ,Food was very tasty.The veiw from the room across was breathtaking.If we have to mention everthing was great and well planned from the funiture ect...
We hope to come and visit you all in the near future.

Room Tip: A beautiful place to stay for the young and the old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennlensilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanktPeterburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our room was on the last floor and the view to the tea plants was amazing.
The room itself is not just good I can even say a bit luxury. Most of all I liked big windows from floor to the ceiling and very good blanket and bed that provided a good sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midky Hotel

Property: Midky Hotel
Address: 405 Kandy Road | Bambarakale, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midky Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. INTRODUCTION Midky Hotel sits 6,182 feet (1'884 meters) above sea level cradled amidst the mist covered mountains. 2. LOCATION The drive up to the hotel is a scenic one, with lush greenery, waterfalls, tea plantations and majestic mountains. It is approximately 170 Km (5 hours) from the Colombo International Airport. 4. SERVICES Rooms: The rooms at Midky Hotel feature specious interior with fine beddings and furnishing made out of Teak & Mahogany wood. Each Deluxe & Honeymoon rooms are equipped with Mini Bar, All rooms are equipped with a plasma TV with cable channels, and well equipped with all modern comforts to make your holiday a pleasant one. TOTAL NUMBER OF GUEST ROOMS Standard Rooms - 2 Honeymoon Rooms - 02 Deluxe rooms - 04 ROOM SPECIFICATIONS Room Area - 300 sq. feet. Bathroom area - 50 sq. feet Land area of the hotel and its surroundings – 36 p. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing