We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pello Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pello Lake Resort
Ranked #72 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Leiden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neat but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is a clean hotel with great warm showers, good beds with blankets (very rare in Sri Lanka) and the staf is ok. The location is exactly wrong as you are not in Nuwara Eliya, and neither in the Tea country and need a tuktuk to go anywher, there is no terrace or any other possibility to sit out side, so you are confined to your room, that was comfortable, though a bit cold and dark. Food the same as the rest: not Sri Lanka not Western but a bit tasteless in between....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
23
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
172 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Modest hotel, comfortably appointed, mixture of styles but all well maintained. Restaurant rather lacking in atmosphere.

Well run friendly very helpful staff who will do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

No real views but the fields surrounding are interesting to watch the local farmers. You can see the lake from the front rooms of the hotel.

Although they provide blankets you need more to keep you warm . Never realised how cold Nuwara Eliya is at night. Hot water you must turn on the heater outside the bathroom door. The joy of hot water was very welcome.

The top floor also has a lounge area where you can all get together chat and if you want they will serve food there as well as in the restaurant. Only had Sri Lankan food which was excellent and the waiter is a cheerful man who goes out of his way to look after you and see to your every need. They will go and get alcohol for you if you want it or bring your own.

Would not go back to Nuwara Eliya, its just too cold

Room Tip: All rooms are good, ones at the front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was very dissapointed first with there over the phone booking service. I made the booking 1 month before and confirmed again and again but once I reached the hotel they said I have no booking! What has happened was their previous manager has left the place!!!
But the present owner is very nice and arranged and appologised for the inconvenience.
Room was too small. Had clean linen. Hot water was perfect. Bathroom was clean. They provided a room heater for additional small payment.
Food was tereble and was not warm. In a cold weather they should have developed a mechanism to keep food warm at least. We had to go outside for lunch.
in summary, a clean little place. Confirm your booking beore you go. Best to book on BB.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamila75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Foreword: I reserve the 5 stars for the absolute best.

Three days after I landed in Sri Lanka, I understood what their hospitality is about after I entered this hotel. We were wandering around in the night, looking for a place, and were welcomed by the traditional "Ayu Bowan" by one of their helpful staff when we entered.

The manager Chaminda was a very nice man, who proved to us that Sri Lankan hospitality is second to none. There's this staff named Sandaruwan, who was the one to originally welcome us into the hotel the previous night, and he provided us with a warm cup of delicious Ceylon tea after we checked in. This was done without us having asked for it, and because it was extremely cold outside. And then there's Sanjay, who always have a smile on his face, and awaits an opportunity to serve the guests.

The hotel is close to the lake, and on the other side of the lake, you could get tuk tuks if you need to go into the town.

The rooms were great value for money. I did really wish the geyser could dispense some more hot water as the water started becoming cold in about 10 minutes or so (it dispensed enough hot water to take a shower though, but the weather was way too cold and the geyser did its best).

There was some repairing work going on in the noon when I tried to sleep, but I am sure that would have been stopped if I asked Chaminda to do so. There may have been some other minor glitches here or there, but none of that honestly matters. I'll come here for the hospitality. They make you feel at home through the entire stay.

Your mileage may vary, but if I ever come to Nuwara Eliya, I'll have my driver get me straight to this place. Among a lot of other highly commercialised 'guest houses' and hotels, I'd say that these guys are fabulous and deserve your stay more so than others.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bigger shower areas than other. Ask them to show you a few rooms before you decide o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Clyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

we were the only guests (at least it seemed so), but the staff was very kind and helpful. Since it was pretty cold outside, we were offered additional blanket and heater without asking. There were 2 bottles of water in room, kettle, some teabags and coffee. Hotel also offered shampoo and shower gel, which was missing in previous hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristaps B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

From good review of trip adviser book hotel for one night triple bed room
It was foul smelling / no ventilation no fan bed are terrible bathroom after 20 minute of gieser on you can have bath for 5 minute
For room service phone not working
Tv only 5 Chanel of local language
Food no veg food after request prepared it but you can not eat it was terrible , when ask for curd s to eat our home food with curd they replied 45 minutes waiting
Overall if you would like to punish somebody send them to this hotel not in jail

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a29101966a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This a star class hotel with a homely enviroent It is a fantastic place. Very clean, staff friendly, great food and reasonable price. This hotel as 9 rooms and a restaurant. Only missing is a bar, but others items what the guest expected is avialable

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms for a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChamiGalle_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Albany
Albany
#12 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliaya
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliay...
#150 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
#31 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Binota Hotel
Binota Hotel
#43 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
China Garden
China Garden
#64 of 179 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Crest Residency
Hill Crest Residency
#93 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pello Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pello Lake Resort

Property: Pello Lake Resort
Address: No 197/16 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pello Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing