We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Nuwara Eliya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avian Breeze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avian Breeze
Ranked #17 of 222 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best place to stay in Nuwara Eliya!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with our family for 2 nights and we had a wonderfull time! The staff is very kind and helpfull. The rooms were nice and clean. The hotel is very cosy and really felt like home. We left one morning at 5 am o'clock to go to World's End and the staff was already up for us to prepare breakfast packages for on the way. I would recommend everybody who's going to Nuware Eliya to stay at Avian Breeze!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claartjeengelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    68
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
61
104
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

a nice quiet place in the mountains. i stand here two days with my wife and it was wonderful.
nice rooms, very clean and a very kind staff. nice eating too. i recommend this hotel for everyone travelling in sri lanka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathieu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed for one night at Avian Breeze but we found it very clean and comfortable. The staff were particularly good and while we only had breakfast the following morning the chef had offered to cook anything we requested so we had a variety of breakfasts between the 4 of us which were all excellent. We had decided to go into town the previous night for dinner but after breakfast we regretted that we didn't stay in house instead.

I think because it has only a limited amount of rooms you benefit from an excellent level of service. I have no hesitation recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWL888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for two nights as part of a honeymoon tour of Sri Lanka. The service levels were fantastic where the staff went the extra mile to add the extra little bits which made the stay extra special.

The food was lovely where we had the choice of local Sri Lankan food or Western.

Location was very good also.

We would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavindeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this lovely place for 2 nights and had a wonderful moment here. The place was former Sri Lanka's president house, so very cosy yet european / exotic there. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The manager is so kind that she offered us a free cake after the trip to World's End where my boyfriend proposed there. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthaphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my wife went to Avian Breeze for 1 night stay en route from Kandy to Yala NP. We do agree 100 % with positive reviews about the top service which we have experienced here. Especially the dinner. Great food, cozy atmosphere and very professional staff – thank you, indeed!
As we had a transportation, so there were no problem to reach the city.
The very best compliments!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remigijus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A pleasant stay in a lovely place with a bit of green, great views and a homey feel. Friendly staff, brilliant service and a cosy atmosphere. The food is fabulous.The hotel is a little out of town and requires a car to get to and from the city center, but a lovely place to come 'home' to. Recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aruwa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.5 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
152 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#12 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
339 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#12 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotels Jojos
Hotels Jojos
#19 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Camellia Hotel
Grand Camellia Hotel
#40 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Tea Fields
Villa Tea Fields
#3 of 178 in Nuwara Eliya
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avian Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avian Breeze

Property: Avian Breeze
Address: Badulla Road | Katumana, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avian Breeze 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take on the world and embrace the charm and inspiration afforded to you at the Avian Breeze. The ideal holiday destination for generations of Sri Lankans. Follow their footsteps as you take in the beauty that Nuwara Eliya has to offer, and seek the solace and solitude that is endowed within the walls of Avian Breeze.Situated in the tranquil and lush surroundings of our evergreen Hillsides, the Garden of Eden has a new name – Avian Breeze! Relax, revive and rejuvenate. Everyone needs a break, so why don’t you take yours in premier style? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Avian Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing