We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even though they are not responsible for the weather, proper heating would help”
Review of Avian Breeze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avian Breeze
Ranked #15 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The trip up here from Kandy is certainly a great journey, and even in the foul weather experienced was quite beautiful. The hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, and unless you have a car there is no way to get to town walking. Of course with the rain pouring down, and the temperature at about 10C the Internet and the Television are on constant strike, relying on interrupted Satellite signals. When the room, quite draughty (one of the outside rooms) would not heat up with the tiny fan heater provided, and even under the covers with the extra blanket provided (the holes in it did not help), when an extra heater was requested, it was impossible to provide it, as according to the reception each room had only on 15 ampere power point, so no use. So the two nights turned into one nights freezing experience and an early departure the next morning. So obviously here at the wrong time of year, staff tried but failed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a bit far from the town center but as there is not much to see in town it's perfectly fine. The rooms are very nice, heritage style with very modern equipments. Great service. Felt like home. Best place in Sri Lanka.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Objectif100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights. There are five rooms, the annex two rooms are with separate front doors with a under roof pathway to the main building. Here you can sit and enjoy the lovely quaint garden and its fountain with fish. Service was absolutely great, and so was the food. The room in the annex was perhaps a lite worn but clean and functional.

We would recommend this place to anyone, especially couples and anyone looking for a quiet and homely place. For the party goers, it's ten minutes by tuk tuk to the main street in N'Eliya.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77ErikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a little jewel of a hotel. A tuk-tuk ride up the steep hillside from the train station at Nura Oya. The building was actually the home of Sri Lanka's first minister, as depicted on two interesting works of art on the outside walls, but has been lovingly transformed into a small five bedroom heritage hotel. The bedroom was quiet and comfortable and I can forgive the bathroom being a little old-fashioned because it had character. The small staff are delightful. Dinner in the evening was either chicken or pork chop as main course, but it was served with care and panache, by the same lads who carried our bags, now dressed in formal attire with white gloves. We had a bottle of wine(French, not cheap) as the temperature is so much cooler in the mountains, and the wine had been looked afterwell.. It was altogether a memorable meal and it was followed by an excellent breakfast in the morning. One other thing, do take time to look around one of the loveliest English gardens imaginable. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there only for a day, but the experience was worth it. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were cosy. The TV in our room(sunshine room, i think that was the name ) was not working and they tried to fix it but in vain. Also the bathroom was so tiny that it was difficult to move around freely without hitting either the basin or the curtain.
Food was excellent, we enjoyed every morsel.
If you are looking for a quiet and a homely experience this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thanks a lot for your warm welcome, very nice staff.
We enjoyed staying here in this cosy place just like home (except for the temperature!)
Nice and quiet garden.
Why do we need two hundred characters?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoiseD605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i found this hotel very good, my stay here was very comfortable. hotel location is about 5 km from main town , bus service is available to come here, Took took takes around 3oo-400 SLR
rooms are nice with heating arrangement, T.V, WiFi service.
problem only is that no telephone signal coming in room ,signal is available in common lobby.
food is good ,i got vegetarian food . staff was very co-operative.
good value for your money,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.7 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,614 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#23 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avian Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avian Breeze

Address: Badulla Road | Katumana, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avian Breeze 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take on the world and embrace the charm and inspiration afforded to you at the Avian Breeze. The ideal holiday destination for generations of Sri Lankans. Follow their footsteps as you take in the beauty that Nuwara Eliya has to offer, and seek the solace and solitude that is endowed within the walls of Avian Breeze.Situated in the tranquil and lush surroundings of our evergreen Hillsides, the Garden of Eden has a new name – Avian Breeze! Relax, revive and rejuvenate. Everyone needs a break, so why don’t you take yours in premier style? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Avian Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing