We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sydney is the best thing about this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park View Guest House
Ranked #69 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sydney is the best thing about this place!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Sydney, the manager is friendly and very accommodating and makes best efforts for his guests including providing great cups of tea on demand. .

Unfortunately he doesn't have a great deal to work with. The Park View is an overflow from the Trevene. There's no sign for the Park View, which is set back and not visible from the road, and the manager of the Trevene was unable to explain how to get there, even from the post office, which is 2 minutes walk away.

We had a rear facing, ground floor room which was cold and damp. The bathroom walls and window paint was moldy and there was certainly no view of Victoria Park. The guest house has has no facilities to provide breakfast. Our driver told us he could have found us somewhere much nicer for $30.

Besides Sydney, not recommended....

Room Tip: Demand an upstairs room with park veiw if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    23
    19
    9
See reviews for
10
47
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

if you are looking for something simple, quiet, clean and no frills, then this is the place to be staying. the property has seven rooms which has been converted from someone residence. It was easy to find and the manager, Herath was extremely helpful throughout. He met up on the road to help us get to the Guest House. The GH is close to the bus-stand (about 5 min walk) and the town center for restaurants, markets etc. The GH is perched on a hill - very private, cut off from the traffic and excellent views of the Victoria Park and hills. Rooms were clean and well furnished. It was a good break not to have a TV. The manager was helpful to get us tuk-tuk contact, places to visit do and even prepare morning tea for us. Does not serve breakfast but has a small kitchen if u want to prepare something. Great place for something simple.

Room Tip: take rooms facing the park - the ground floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am surprised at some of the more negative reviews of this place. We have been travelling in Sri Lanka and staying at similar priced, or more expensive hotels and this is the only one i have reviewed, but for the money and location it beats all of the others.
We have generally found thr hotels in Sri Lanka to be expensive but poor quality. This one could easily have a lot of money spent on it and it would improve it greatly, but then they could justify charging a much higher price.
In other hotels we were missing lots of little things that got on my nerves. Here is a list of what this hotel has that others had not. Bedside tables, many sockets to charge appliances, large double bed, sheets that are big enough for the bed, blankets, hot water, a shower that works and the shower head is fixed on the wall, fast wifi connection, communal balcony to enjoy the view, large sitting room, kettle and cups to make your own tea,large bathroom so that the whole floor is not wet for hours afterwards,etc, etc.
Also helpful owner/manager to answer questions about the arra.
One last thing, the hotel has no sign so is difficult to find!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The best value guesthouse I have stayed at in Sri Lanka!
2500Rs for ensuite and 2000Rs for shared bathroom.
Nicely furnished with basic items. Clean with very comfortable beds and a decent hot shower.
Adequately warm given the cooler climate. We were given extra bedding and towels when we asked.

The manager Herath was an excellent guide. He provided valuable information about where to eat, how to get around, and local travel tips. He was also able to arrange tours to worlds end at a much cheaper price than quoted by local touts.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We actually arrived at The Trevene which is the parent Hotel of The Parkview and just next door, by accident and were sat down to tea by the proprietor. I think they call this area Little England or something and the tea service reminded me of my grandmothers teas which was lovely. We were then taken over to the The Parkview and shown our room which was massive with a great view of the lovely park. That evening we sat and chatted to fellow travellers and a Sri Lankan guide.

The next day we were a few hours away in a taxi and I realised I had left my passport and £400 in my room. I can't describe the shock. Anyway my guide called Miss Nissansala from The Trevene and the manager of The Parkview had found my passport and money and given it to her for safe keeping. We got back to The Trevene and they were all their to meet me and give me my possessions back and sat us down to tea again before we made out fond farewells and thanks and left. Something I will never forget.

I will let these words speak for the quality of The Trevene, and The Parkview, where I stayed.

Finally I must thank my guide Gihan. He was literally worth his weight in gold. He facilitated the return of my money with phone calls, calmed me down when I was in a panic and was about as professional as I can imagine a guide to be as well as knowledgable and amusing.

His number is 072-4684923. Gihan Tours. He is based in Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walgmoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Guesthouse was hard to find because it is up on the hill but there's a steep shortcut and it takes just 5 mins to the bus station. However, when we booked the room via agoda and arrived, the place was undergoing renovation. They were still painting at 10.30pm and right to our doorstep. The place deemed of paint. Renovation the next day started at 7am. The wifi didn't work.

I think they should not have taken our reservation if the place was so not ready. When we wanted to move out the next morning, they turned nasty.

There's a guesthouse called Victoria Inn just 100m down the road. More convenient, cosy and cleaner. Very friendly staff. Just no wifi but the ambience is so good we did not need it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisMcDull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here in this no frills and very aptly named guest house, when I visited Nuwara Eliya during my last holiday to Sri Lanka in August of this year (2012).

I got down from the train from Colombo, at a station called ‘Nanu-Oya’ which is about 15-odd kms outside of Nuwara Eliya town. I was told that the Nuwara Eliya railway station is under renovation now.

Touts were swarming all over this station and I got cornered by one, who led me to the Park View Guest House. No complaints though !

I was given a spacious enough room with a bathroom almost as big as the room itself in the ground floor for SLR. 2,500/- per night. The room was neat and the bathroom clean. (See my pictures for reference). There was running hot water. Since the evening was rather nippy, I asked and was given an electric room heater – at extra cost.

The only problem that I felt was I did not get a fresh bath towel as Herath the caretaker told me that they’re all at the drycleaners ! Until my checking-out 2 days later, I did not get a good towel despite my constant asking. Herath did his best to keep me supplied with whatever he could lay his hands on. Well, at least he tried !

Park View Guest House is bang on the centre of the town, at an elevation, and within easy walking distance of almost all of Nuwara Eliya’s main thoroughfares. I walked all over this small town very easily and comfortably. There are enough eateries within 5 minutes of walking distance in the Nuwara Eliya main road / junction.

Standing on the small balcony in the 1st floor of the property, one can see the Victoria Park which is right in front, thus fully justifying the property’s name ! Just adjacent to the hotel across the narrow lane is the famous 27 acre Victoria Park, said to be named to commemorate the 60th Jubilee Coronation of Queen Victoria in the year 1897. The park is well maintained, but not quite worthy of a world famous hill station that is teeming with tourists !

This property also has a small kitchenette equipped with the basics like a microwave oven to reheat food brought from outside and facility for making your cuppa coffee in the mornings.
Thanks to the height in which the Park View Guest House is perched rather precariously, residents are spared the noises of vehicles plying right down below.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in, in the ground floor was good. Spacious and comfortable. I saw some on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 179 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milano Inn
Milano Inn
#34 of 179 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#8 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Tour Inn
New Tour Inn
#133 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Panorama Green View Hotel
#55 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Guest House

Property: Park View Guest House
Address: Park Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Park View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing