We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped me off.”
Review of Collingwood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Collingwood Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What a rip off. Manager was trying to hurry me through the paperwork so I wouldn't see the 10% service charge or the 10am checkout time, both of which are rare in my experience in Sri Lanka. So I checked out late, and with the 10%, my 2000rupee room became 3300rupees. And there were birds living in between the ceiling and roof, that and the wind getting in made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nafeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

Worst hotel ever. There was one decent member of staff (hopefully he has moved on somewhere more suited to his excellent customer service) but his attempts at polishing this huge turd were constantly thwarted by the other staff and the shocking excuse for a manager. The only other bonus was that they were so stupid and their maths was so bad that we didn't pay as much as we should have. Still paid far more than this turkey was worth though. Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrst_eve1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

horrible hotel.....never ask ur driver to show good hotel.....here the drivers get the preference....... hotel is good from outside.....but nightmare inside......insects, tv not working, cot broken, costly restaurant compared to backside grand indian restaurant, no heaters, wifi not working.......then also the managers says dont mess with us......pls avoid this hotel

Room Tip: food is good but highly costly....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank KDS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I was probably given their worst room, a tiny space hardly bigger than the bed in the middle of the floor. The room didn't have a clothes cupboard, so I had to keep my open suitcase on the floor all the time, leaving hardly any floor space to walk around the bed and the suitcase.
The bed was cold and damp since no heating was available, The room had a balcony, but the key to open the balcony door was never provided. The only OK things about the room were bright coloring and a spacious bathroom with walls and floor covered with bright blue tiles.

I was the only guest most ot the time (two nights). Breakfast on both mornings had to be ordered twice, first from the totally clueless young trainee, then again from the manager who had some idea of what's available. The vegetable curry served at dinner was cold and made of potatoes and onions only.

The glass-roofed restaurant looks nice, just like the hotel as a whole, so the premises would have a lot more potential if managed better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A few point to note about this hotel:
1) stayed here as there is no other hotel nearby
2) Smelly carpet
3) So so bathroom
4) Torn bed sheet, blanket and towels, dont think even they wash the sheets
5) Damp feeling in the room, smell musty
6) Unfriendly staffs
7) Expensive room service
8) Were not even given a cup of coffee but our driver was given full meals
9) Tv and most lights didnt work, rooms were dark and depressing

Basic room and bath, not recommended.

Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Christel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: если придется здесь остановится то лучше брать номер не на дорогу, чтоб спать более спокойно
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LUDMILA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araliya Green City
Araliya Green City
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#24 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingwood Hotel

Address: No. 112 Badulla Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing