We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gregory Lake”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gregory Lake

Gregory Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.75*
and up
Private Day Trip: Nuwara Eliya from Kandy by Train
Attraction details
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gregory Lake”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lovely lake in the middle of Nuwara Eliya. Like a lot of Sri Lanka the idea of picking up their own rubbish seems to be lost on their society in general. Pity there is so much junk floating in the lake.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    367
    202
    66
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nothing special-poor scenery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

There is nothing special about Gregory Lake.
If you want to kill time, there is a nice hindu temple -"Seetha Kovil" and a few plantations on the road to the lake.
Except for a walk around the lake there is nothing to see there.
It made no sense to rent a boat or a bicycle.
You can sit on the benches around the lake and enjoy a bit of fresh air, but that's all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favorite Place to Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gregory Lake is a must see. A natural lake in the middle of the city. When we stopped there we had no idea that it would be such a beautiful spot. We ended up heading out for a walk around the lake. It was one of the best days of our trip.

The lake is not much crowded and offers beautiful scenery and boating. The whole experience there was truly enjoyed. We would like to visit again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fawmy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
“nothing much to do..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

love the new arrangements..but nothing much to do..we had a cart ride but very expensive.. nice wind and love the view..overall every ride is very expensive there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wicknesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect way to spend the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a really beautiful lake and would make a perfect weekend spot. I walked almost one mile from my hotel to this place and the fist thing I feel when I see this lake, it's very huge and very well maintained. You have an entrance fee to enter this lake and if you are a foreigner you need to pay more. The boat ride in this lake are quiet expensive. Instead you could go cycling around the lake.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sai Karthik Red... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gregory Lake also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Gregory Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing