We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money. Best service in Nuwara Eliya”
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #18 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed with the family for three days during our latest visit to Sri Lanka. Nuwara Eliya is a must visit location if you are in SL and I would rate the Rock to be the best in terms of location, quality, and service at an fair and affordable price. I have visited Nuwara Eliya couple of times before and stayed at more expensive places but the experience was not even neat what I felt at the Rock this time. The staff is friendly and treat you well. My word they have a world class chef in house. Great food. Very close to all the attractions in the city with a breathtaking view of downtown and the surrounding mountains from my room. I would recommend this place to be a sure bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the best view. The staff is very friendly, they will give you the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This slightly out of the way little hotel is like going back to an Agatha Christie thriller, or perhaps to an Old Peoples Home on the south coast of England. Very old fashioned in décor and fittings, but everything worked and the rooms are adequate, if a little drab. The set menu dinner looked depressingly European so we ate in town, but the breakfast was OK. The manager was very helpful, as were the other staff, and there is a little bar in the lounge where one can round off the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our visit to Sri Lanka. We stayed in a few hotels (middle ranged) in the country. This one was a good choice. If you are looking for a simple, clean room at a reasonable price. Everything worked properly and the beds were comfortable.
Although Rock is not a luxury hotel, it is a good, simple place with friendly staff. It would be a 15 minute or less walk to city Center & Gregories Lake.
We would recommend this hotel to all our friends & family.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrick_Bullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff at the Rock are very freindly and courteous. I was speaking with the general manager and he randomly invited me over to eat dinner with him. This kind of hospitality I have not received elsewhere. The view is beautiful from the hotel balcony and it is nice to see the sun rise from there.

The rooms are a bit shabby and old-fashioned. They do have an old-world charm associated to it. For this sort of hotel, I did not expect a mini-bar but found a well stocked and reasonably priced bar.

Overall, this hotel is a no-frill kind of deal. The people are nice so they make up for what the hotel lacks in terms of opulence.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Overall, the hotel is not too bad if you set low expectations. The management appears more interested in superficial impression and tries to create a cottage like feel to the place. There are nice little touches like yellow paint, a decent dining area where guests can have meals in the day. At night, it became a bar for smokers and drinkers. However, the guest rooms are appalling! The mattressses must be very worn, there is no support and we both woke up with a nasty backache. The furniture is really old and unappealing. Ditto for the linen! So it seems more like a back packers place but at hotel pricing. The staff and serve were average, nothing to rave about. They just seems to be doing their work and getting by without much enthusiasm. My Sri Lankan driver tells me that the Fern is much better!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MooGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a very difficult time choosing a hotel in nuwara eliya. Finally we booked this hotel. On reaching the place was quite disappointed with the overall look and feel of the place. Since we were only spending a night here, we went ahead. The rooms were just about ok. Very old fashioned decor. The view was horrible- there was a building right outside the window of our room. The approach to the hotel also makes ur heart sink a bit. Fails to delight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August
the location is convenient, away from the buzz of the city , at same time close enough to walk in

the food was simple, tasty and of very good quality
the room was spacious and cleanliness was very satisfying

since the days we were there , were raining , hotel had its own friendly tuk tuk service which was handy in going around and the charges were nominal

they also had bikes to ride around, which will be ideal for sunny days

The most important attractive factor is the service quality and pleasing, friendliness of the staff
they are very caring, and understanding

we felt home, from the time we stepped into the hotel we never felt the staff are strangers
this is factor is lacking most in many hotels and The Rock has got it right

I would say it is great value for money and super service

we hope to stay back in this hotel once more in near future

Room Tip: The Suite Room is very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilzeenaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $46 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing