We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone!”
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #16 of 252 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked the hotel last moment, on a Friday night at 9.00pm and left home at 10.00pm. So it was an unexpected visit for them and am sure they did not have much time to turn around the hotel for guests. Therfore, me and my husband was not expecting a warm welcome and much facilities as per the hotel rates. We reached there at around 2am and amazingly upul has kept awake to welcome us.

It was in a convinient location very near to the town but on top of a hill to keep the gueasts relaxed with a great view and awesome weather for the travellers who prefer around average 15-18C.

I have no complains about the satff and rooms. Rooms were sufficiently spacious and enough and more linen to keep ourselves warm, spacious and clean toilets too. Upul was one of the best hosts I have ever met and he kept us very compfortable. We went for two days on BB basis and the breakfast too was over our expectations comparing with the rate.

Definitely its not a fivestar hotel, but we felt homely and welcomed when we were there. The hotel was clean and good food, whcih are some of the things that the BIG Hotels lack!

I would definitely visit this place and recommend anyone to go there!

Room Tip: There are large rooms and small rooms, we did not know that until we go there. Large rooms have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nutsybuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    36
    23
    9
See reviews for
40
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved staying at the Rock, the staff where so sweet, attentive and went of of their way to make us comfortable. As it gets quite cold up there at night, we enjoyed the open fire and comfy seats very much so we could warm up and relax with our friends.
The place could use a lick of paint but it is still very clean!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scarlett v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

When we got to the hotel we got a very nice welcome. The staff here are very friendly and accommodating and this is the real only positive.

Getting to the Rock is not easy as it is way up a bank close to a number of much nicer hotels. The room left us feeling depressed and we got out to go into town as soon as we could, we also sat in the bar for a while next to a lovely open fire to delay going to the room to sleep.

Maintenance is really dreadful here, the room wasn't very clean, the fixtures and fittings were mostly broken and the dirty walls left us first in shock and then a bit depressed.

I woudn't stay here again, no way. Better to find another hotel if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I had the privilege of spending 2 nights commencing 30 June 2012 at the Rock with a party of 8 when I visited Sri Lanka on a short holiday. Our Group found the Rock to be comfortable, homely, and the personalised customer service given by "Upul" was fantastic. We had no problems from check-in to check out. Food was clean & tasty. Rooms were reasonably clean & toilets recently upgraded. Overall our stay was enjoyable and we shall visit again!

Lal De Silva, Melbourne

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We travelled for 1 month with a family of 4 through Sri Lanka - staying in as well cheaper guest houses as more expensive hotels - The Rock was the only place that disappointed us. The staff was great, absolutely! And the rooms are clean. But the rooms, the restaurant,... are such ugly places - almost depressing. And what didn't help was that we had not wait 2 hours for our dinner to be served. Sure, there are better places in Nuwara Eliyah.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kurtpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was raining by the time we reached Nuwara Eliya. We were apprehensive of the place, since there were not many reviews of the hotel. We checked in and were shown our room(standard). However we didn't find it very clean. We asked Sachin(Manager) for another room, and he straight way upgraded us to a Deluxe room. That's customer service and delight..!! Though there aren't any great views from the room or hotel, we really appreciated the service. Must have on a chilly evening are their Veg Samosa and Tea...lovely..!! The food was 2nd best for our whole of SL trip. In the night it was very cold and we asked for a room heater. Though they installed it, but it was not working fine. They mentioned we could use it, but they would not charge for it. Highly recommended for price conscious traveler(you get amazing food and service.)

Booked via Kanota Tours

Room Tip: Well, its better to get the deluxe rooms, they are carpeted and provide better heat insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rahul_Birla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Although categorized as a budget hotel, the rooms are large; bathroom is simple but clean and functional. Food was also good...nothing to complain about given the advantageous rate of the hotel. Due the situation in the mountains it can be cold and some nights a heating would be welcome but it has to be requested the day before.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevensGentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Property: The Rock Hotel
Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing