We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good food at the guesthouse that time forgot”
Review of The Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #17 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ah, Unique View Road. Where to start?

I really liked this place. It had a rather curious 1950s charm - a bit like a guesthouse in Brighton, or Blackpool. Its old, cold, and up a very steep hill, and also relatively pricey (though that just seems to be Nuwara Eliya - for some reason everywhere seems to cost more than elsewhere in the hills), but it did have something about it. Maybe it was just the wonderful views across the valley to the forest, along with the cool air after the fierce hear of the coast. The room itself was spacious and clean - no air con or fan (or indeed mosquito net) but to be honest you don't really need any of these in this part of the island.
The sole member of staff we saw was very courteous and happy to help us, and they put up our driver without any quibbles. Food was perfectly nice. We were the only guests in the place but there is a good-looking log fire that I think gets charged up when there are more people about. All things considered a good option when visiting this remote town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 179 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

Unfortunately I stayed here only one day, but this place is beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms ware very large and everything was very clean. The restaurant was a great surprise, all very good and plentiful. Only problem is that this place is a short distance from the center town. The staff was very kind.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corrado P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This pleasant place has all you need for a stay of a few nights. Friendly staff produce reasonable food in good quantities. The rooms are spacious, mostly with beds for three people. En suite shower rooms are a bit cramped, but it all worked OK. The most memorable thing was the decor, which really did remind me of guest houses I stayed at in Cornwall in the sixties, complete with 'The Laughing Cavalier' on the wall. One word of warning - it's a steep slope up Unique View Road to this place, so walking back from the excellent Victoria Park for example is a serious undertaking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Rock is located in Unique View road - close to town. The rooms are spacious - good enough for three people. However not very well ventilated and lighted. My parents' room had some issues with hot water - but my room had boiling hot water early morning.

The lunch was excellent - the vegetable soup, grilled chicken and noodles are highly recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sumedha_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

There are lots of B&B's in NuwaraEilya, arguably the best are clustered together here in Unique View Road. If you have the time visit a few to weigh up your options and make sure this one is on your shortlist. The Rock is run by the charismatic and very helpful manager/owner Shiran. The rooms, 6 in total I think, are well maintained, clean, spacious and comfortable but note the furniture is retro! There is a bar downstairs but it only opens when there are enough people staying in the hotel. Unfortunately no internet connection though but the manager said it was going to be installed soon. Overall, very friendly service, well located and for what you pay - good value for money. Oh, one other thing that I didn’t like – the stuffed Tigers head on the wall. Shiran agreed that it had to go and promised to donate it to a museum when we were there, fingers crossed it will be gone by the time you arrive?

Room Tip: Ask Shiran to organise transport for you from the centre of town if you arrive by bus. Go trekking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank simon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alberto5649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: 60 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $46 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find all of the finest amenities in each of the 10 rooms in this popular 3-star hotel. Each room includes in room safe, desk, television. This excellent hotel in Nuwara Eliya also has laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant, bicycle rental, car park. Facilities for recreation and leisure available include garden. The hotel blends expert service with state-of-the-art facilities to provide guests with a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing