We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Milano Restaurant

Milano Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 48 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This eatery is at the top of lonely planets list. It serves good halal indian and chinese food. It is so popular that that it's two floors are mostly full.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not impressed”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was probably the only disappointing eating experience we had during our 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. The place has a run-down feel, the toilets were dirty and we waited almost an hour for our food to arrive. Most of the meals then arrived cold and weren't very nice - the 'chicken special' in particular was tough, cold and largely burnt. We eventually decided to contest paying the 10% standard service charge (as the service was so bad) but were eventually forced to pay it. There doesn't appear to be much choice in the centre of NE, but I'd recommend avoiding this place if you can.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    165
    179
    76
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very bad customer service.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The place was crowded, with little space to move and not clean. We had to wait for a long time, more than 45 minutes for food and it never arrived. The customer service was poor and when we complained about the delay the guy started arguing us saying we are not the only one waiting, instead of apologizing for the delay. We decided to leave immediately without having food due to lack of customer service and long waiting time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Dinning Experience !”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

the garlic chicken combo was awesome n a big potion. The chicken was the best we had so far in the city, the waiter called praba was unforgettable kind to us. Thank u !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sachini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Orsom restaurant”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Superb food superb sevice hospitality is high prices are very reasonable value for our money really enjoyed the meal it was orsom try out the hot butter cuttle fish

Helpful?
1 Thank rajivsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“dont eat here”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were told to visit this restaurant as it had a good reputation. But what we experienced was something else.

We were there on the 26th of Dec and our waiter was with a long face and looked quite upset when he was going around. i asked another waiter if everything was okay he said that they are short of staff. almost everything we wanted was not available then we asked them what they had for us. after letting the waiters decide what we should have (we didnt have a choice of going out as other restaurants seemed closed); we got our food a good 1.5 hours later and during this time we noticed how unhygienic the place was.

with the amount of foreign tourists who came it and from the discussions we had with others we realized that there was almost no other place to eat in the vicinity (which was in the middle of the city mind u).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milano Restaurant also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Milano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing