We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Sampath Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampath Hotel
Ranked #34 of 264 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2013

i spent 1 night here, very friendly staff, comfortable beds, lots of hot water, had a great curry here plenty of food. Quite location that is Walking distance to the centre of town. I recomend this GH, I Would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Room: clean, spacious enough. Friendly staff, very good food, convenient location.
I can confidently recommend this GH.
When you're sitting in the dining room, you see very clean kitchen through the door. It always says something :)
Confidently recommend this GH for any class of travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

a driver took us to this guest house and we stayed here for 1 night.
the rooms were damp and both towels and sheets were used ones.They have not changed any of it from the previous night.We saw hair on the pillows and sheets.We had to stay the night here as it was really late and cold.
the room was smelly and very dark.
definitely not a place to stay if you want clean rooms.
the price was ok and affordable but we have stayed in guesthouses which offers you better service for cheaper rates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brown_sam606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Our driver bought us here after an issue with another guest house. My friend and i were really impressed with value for money. We stayed one night, ate both dinner and breakfast in-house both of which were delicious. Beds were comfy, tv had good reception and shower had hot water. Definitely recommend to the budget traveller! Oh and they accept visa and mastercard - a rarity for guest houses.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WonderingWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here much longer than expected since I arrived to Nuwara Eliya with a fever and then spent 3 days recovering. I was very happy to have such comfortable and friendly place to spend all this time in and for my last night I had to move to another place next door, because Sampath Rest was full and I felt the difference. Sampath was actually a blessing. I paid 30 USD for a single room in high season (over Xmas) and felt it was ok deal; similar price to other places my agent organized but actually this one was on a nicer side.
I liked that the room was spacious and there were very good thick blankets. Everything was clean. The location was convenient, not far from town center, easy to walk everywhere. I also loved the food there. Since I was confined to the hotel at least for 2 first days I ate some small dishes and they were really delicious... actually better than I had in the "best" restaurants in town later on. Everything was freshly prepared... the soups absolutely the best. The breakfast was also very good, hearty and big.
Above all I appreciated the kindness and attention of the staff. I was really greatful for all their help and concern. Almost overwhelmed :).
Anyways, would definitely stay there again if I pass by and also recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anchi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

All measured by comparison - This is one of the best places we got in SL on this price. The rooms is really not equipped with quality and style, but the room was clean, the bed sheets were clean also. There was a Satelite TV and No AC(it is not really needed in Nuwara Elie, I guess).
The location is good - 5 minutes by foot to the town centre (there is nothing to do there, be aware:)), the same 5 minutes by foot to the Local botanical garden.

The stuff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was really great and tasty - all from the fresh local ingredients!!

Room Tip: NO tips for room. Go to De Silva food centre to eat, 5 minutes by foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The rooms are old and carpeted, cold water in the shower, smelly towels. Walls are very thin. The price was 55 USD for a room (3 beds, 2 people / separate room for driver), including breakfast.
Apparently we were the only guests, though our driver complained about a rather loud other fellow arriving in the night.
We got packed breakfast (sandwiches & banana), as we started early the next day to Horton Plains (negotiated by our driver).
Host didn't seem interested in having guests. One single travelling woman was turned away. Seemingly we just got a room because of our driver. Maybe they don't like negotiating in English.
It takes 10 mins by foot or 2 mins by Tuktuk to the town center. I recommend eating at one of the cafés there. Good food for about 200 Rupees.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#3 of 218 in Nuwara Eliya
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#11 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#24 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#10 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#3 of 264 in Nuwara Eliya
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampath Hotel

Address: 8 A, Wedderburn Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka (Formerly Sampath Rest Guesthouse)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $42 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the cool climes of Nuwara Eliya. Sampath Hotel situated within the town limits, is a homely hotel located close to the beautiful Victoria Park. It is a charming five bedroom hotel that also includes a separate, all inclusive five roomed bungalow that can accommodate a group of 15 persons. The hotel boasts of a fully carpeted interior, free WiFi, Cable TV, IDD, Internet & foreign currency encashment facilities, laundry service and more. It also has a beautiful landscaped garden from where guests can enjoy a picturesque view of Pidurutalagala – the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka and Single Tree Mountain – a vantage point to observe the natural splendor of Nuwara Eliya. What’s special about Sampath Hotel is that it affords visitors the opportunity to experience warm, homely hospitality, clean and comfortable accommodation, all basic amenities and comforts, delicious meals and most importantly a convenient location to travel around the famous sights of Nuwara Eliya. Be enthralled by the delicious meals which include Eastern, Western and Sri Lankan cuisine prepared by the hotel’s specialized Chef. The hotel also offers to arrange guided tours to the various places of interest in and around Nuwara Eliya. Feel at home, relax and rejuvenate with a warm cup of coffee in this serene environment, let the courteous and well trained staff look after all your needs. Sampath Hotel is a perfect haven of tranquility for those seeking solace with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sampath Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing