We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice and quiet village Hotel..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very comfortable with nice view village Hotel. Just like stay at home. The manager of the Hotel is very helpful and kindly. Every morning breakfast is very impressive! We absolute want to return back to visit .

Room Tip: view room downstair 105
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Jane Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. Also will helpful for future travelers. As we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Room:
VERY BASIC for a "Deluxe Room"; Shower next to toilet, doors didn't shut very well and were extemely noisy when attempting to close, no air conditioning but fan was suitable, cold shower as water did not heat up for ages! Flat Screen TV and Bottled Water in Room.
View from Balcony very beautiful!
Room was imacculately clean.

Facilities:
Basic Facilities provided such as a Laundry Service and the option to have Lunch or Dinner (though we did not eat hear as the breakfast was very boring and we were told not to by other guests staying at the Guesthouse.

Staff/Family:
Greeted with a nice cup of tea.
The family were all very friendly.

Breakfast:
Packed Breakfast - Bread, butter and jam sandwich, a banana and bottle of water - Very Disappointing for what we paid!
Sri Lankan Cooked Breakfast - String Hoppers and a variety of curries - very tasty!

Other:
Distance of guesthouse from town was very far by foot so we needed to get a cab.
Very hard to find guesthouse on the first day - not sign posted.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebekah1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Abira
Being a born Srilankan we appreciate your comment made in trip advisor for the purpose of our improvements. But we are little confused over the comment about breakfast which you have appreciated very much on the second day. The first breakfast was a packed one you took away on your trip to Horton plains, this definitely can’t be a very good one as you took it at 05.30 after preparing at 05.00 and consumed after two hours in such a cold weather. Location of the hotel is 1.5 km away from busy and sound polluted city is very much appreciated by most guest and view you get at the middle of mountain. Walking down 1.5 km for a healthy guest is peanuts. As a hole the hotels you stayed are different categories in different cities across the island .Therefore one cannot expect a 5 star hotel and a guest house to be in par, for the matter you and your travel agent (airwing) to be blamed for giving various categories of hotels instead of equal category. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a small guesthouse with lovely views over the valley from our little balcony. The room had fresh flowers but the bed only had a thin foam mattress and was uncomfortable and the bathroom floor was very slippery when wet due to the central positioning of the uncurtained shower. The breakfasts were fine and the staff made us a special lunch when asked. Tour vans to Horton Plains were organised for us although, if given the choice, we would have been happier to share a van and the cost, rather than have 3 vans for 3 couples. A pleasant stay but at USD 80 a night we found better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nesta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Nesta L
We thank you for taking time to write a review about the hotel, which will help to improve ourselves. Bath room become slippery if provided curtain is not used. Arranging van hires to various places on share basis is a problem as most guests do not like to share. At the time second set of guests booking the same hire, the first set of guest are not in the hotel to get the consent for sharing with the others, as a result we are compelled to book another vehicle. At times guests need diversion of routes where others do not agree. Please note that $ 80 pricing includes online agent commission and tax (Agoda).Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent two nights here recently and had a very enjoyable stay. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The shower was a bit finicky though, but I wasn't too bothered. Lawrence was very attentive and helpful. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Claire Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is one of those small, friendly places that just "feel good"
Rooms are spotless, the views pleasant & good hot water, even if you do have to wait a bit between showers.
We had a curry dinner which was excellent, as was the coffee.
Breakfast was also very good so we would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is not just clean...it is spotless! We abandoned our planned accommodation as it was horrible and found this little gem. $55 for one night with breakfast. comfortable room, shower and hot water worked fine. Nice view from the balcony. The chanting did wake me up at 5am but ear plugs solve that if you don't like it.

Located on the outskirts of town, 15 minute walk in, bit longer on way back as uphill. 200 rupees for a tuk tuk. Breakfast was fine, we didn't have dinner

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed there for four days in early February in 2013. I selected this place based on tripadvisor comments and found these comments are very accurate. Special thank should go to Shiromi and her staff for the excellent service provided. As my wife was not well during the trip, we needed a healthy diet throughout our stay and Shiromi and the staff provided us healthy, yet delicious meals.
Cleanliness and service are the best things in this sweet little place and they earn five stars without any doubts. I'm planing to stay there during my next Nuwaraeliya trip as well.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a balcony with best view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Mount View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Mount View Hotel

Address: St Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Mount View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Formerly 'Mount view Cottage nuwara eliya. Warmly welcome to Tanzanite mount view Hotel. We are proud to say our hotel is located in the border of highest mountain in Sri Lanka. Nuwara-Eliya is more about cooler climate relaxing getaway from the busy hectic hotter Colombo life or any other busy life Sri Lanka cities. Specially things to see: beautiful greenery hills, fresh vegetable farms, dairy farms, delicious fruits and beautiful flowers, most of tea plantations. You can choose best of the hotel accommodations and cuisines, and many detours to find some history. Enjoy and relax panoramic view of hill country valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tanzanite Mount View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing