We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's a lovely guesthouse near the golf ground with reasonable walk distance to the center market and main attraction. They have helpful english speaking staff who can answer all my question about hill country. The room is large and clean. I arrived the hotel early in the morning when the room was not ready. When I am back in the late afternoon, my luggage was in my room. Although it just a small thing they did, it made me feel warm as staying at home. The breakfast is very good with srilankan home made. It's a average guesthouse but with 3 stars service. I would like to recommended this hotel to all the others, no matter you are traveling along or as a couple or with family or friends.

Room Tip: My room was 105 its really warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lusi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked it via Agoda and it meant no accomodation for driver.
Room was clean and well furnished but small and humid (We have booked inicially deluxe room but due change of date we got only standard). Owners are helpful and friendly but it is not enough to get higher rating from us. Breakfast was rather poor.

Guesthouse is not so easy to find. Our driver called them 2 times in order to find it.
Quite pricey.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay.Your reservation done with agoda.Your arrival date on agoda voucher on future date.But you came early and asked if you have space today .please give us room ? can you remember .I said as a help i can give stranded room for you.I think you are lucky that day .if not you have to booked another hotel and you have to pay extra money .I save your money and time .Thank you vary much, Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We're a bit undecided about this one. We stayed one night in a deluxe room but our request for twin beds meant a small room with no balcony and not much view. It was clean and well-furnished but the bathroom floor was soaked after one shower. The staff were friendly and helpful with train information. Great to be able to get extra blankets. Good wifi available, even in our room. Be prepared for the 5am call to prayer. Technically not far from town but the long steep hill makes it feel it- seemed easy enough to get a tuktuk for max rps200 though. Our biggest gripe with the guesthouse was the room rate, which seemed grossly overpriced. We voiced our opinion and did appreciate the consideration and subsequent discount given.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarai2879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are offer mid range room rate for all of clients.Its depend on your budget.Our deluxe room on upper level but not too small ,its 18 X 18 When you taking shower ,any one can you shower curtern in washroom.Thank you vary mush your feedback for us. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Mount View was a stopping point for us after climbing Adam's Peak and a chance to rest up before continuing our tour of Sri Lanka. Although we felt the price was high, we had a clean and comfortable room, which was furnished really nicely, and we slept well. The bathroom was clean, and the hot shower worked well. The people running Mount View were so lovely, and they make the guest house somewhere really nice to stay - a particular mention to the man who served us in the restaurant, unfortunately I did not get a name! We ate at the guest house, both breakfast and dinner and both meals were done with our preferences taken into account and were of good quality.
Mount View is out of town slightly, up a hill, which concerned us when we were driving there - but once we were there we soon realised it was the best place to be situated as it was quiet and peaceful. We walked into town easily in 10 minutes and it was a pleasant walk.

Recommended for a stop in Nuwara Eliya

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel was booked by the tour agency. When we approached the area I initially thought that the driver had forgotten the route but realized that we were entering the hotel. Ordinary looking place. But once we entered the building, i knew that it’s going to be a good experience and I was not wrong. Excellent place .The rooms are good and cozy, neat and clean bathrooms. The hotel staff is cordial and takes efforts to make you feel at home. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Wifi Available and great place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 nights in this clean and comfortable hotel. The bed was massive and firm and everything spotless. The breakfast was good but best was the one night we had dinner there. They dished up a delicious curry meal - hard to beat! The best thing about this place is the very friendly staff, always smiling and helpful, ready to assist any request. They organised transport for us, printed out our train tickets, took plenty of time to answer all of our questions. Staying at the MountView Cottage is an opportunity to have contact with very welcoming and friendly Sri Lankans in a quiet and clean location. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: we were given the room next to reception which received most of the noise from the front of the cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellbell605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is located in a good place but reaching there is difficult(no sign boards) room is clean but bathroom smells bad.. Restaurant is basic. When we checked in hotel people said there are no rooms reserved but after showing details they said computer crashed recently and erased all our bookings.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mithunraohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountviewsrilanka, Owner at Tanzanite Mount View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us, as we try hard to ensure every house guest has a memorable stay. and hope to welcome you back to MountView in the future. Please follow up Google map for hotel directions.As you mention bad smell from wash ,we are apologies .We guaranteed in the future there will be no complains.sorry again our computer problem with reservation
Kind regards,Kasun & Shiromi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanzanite Mount View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanzanite Mount View Hotel

Address: St Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $19 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanzanite Mount View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Formerly 'Mount view Cottage nuwara eliya. Warmly welcome to Tanzanite mount view Hotel. We are proud to say our hotel is located in the border of highest mountain in Sri Lanka. Nuwara-Eliya is more about cooler climate relaxing getaway from the busy hectic hotter Colombo life or any other busy life Sri Lanka cities. Specially things to see: beautiful greenery hills, fresh vegetable farms, dairy farms, delicious fruits and beautiful flowers, most of tea plantations. You can choose best of the hotel accommodations and cuisines, and many detours to find some history. Enjoy and relax panoramic view of hill country valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tanzanite Mount View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing