We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Ashley Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashley Resorts
Ranked #100 of 243 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is not a resort maybe a long time ago it was. Use your money elsewhere. Booked a room for 4 persons but became a room for 2. One extra bed was arranged in the room. The hotel is poor and the staff is not friendly. Had to pay for 2 breakfast though it was payed for it in the booking. The best thing to say about the hotel was the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Per F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konbers k, Director of Sales at Ashley Resorts, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We understand the the comment that u have made on the 11/4/2013 due to a reestablishment t the hotel was not in order, and the bookings was reviewed properly by a staff member. my Curtis apologies on the incident.I personally have taken measure and now we have ironed out the situation we apologist behalf of the Hotel.

Many thnks
jehan Majeed -Director Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
27
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice decent and cozy place, especially for the price. Accomadating staff. Clean rooms. Food was ok. Bit of a climb though if you are walking up after sight seeing walk to the town. Recommend to take a three wheeler back.

Excellent view

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgunendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is like any mediocre Hotel in the Hills, the Carpets smelled, but we were lucky to have very good Indian food, that too by a very Good Hindi Speaking guy. Though I was Staying at Hotel Glendover but went to see my friends there for a Drink and Dinner as our Chef cud not offer us good Indian Khana, specially the Roti Part, Hence the acceptance of this invite by our other Indian friends who were staying at Ashley. The Steppe Garden was really Cool, for all our gang to sit outside and enjoy the Cool air, but it rained and we had to run inside. Overall because of Hindustani Khana loved the Place. But Otherwise it is quite far away from the city , good for Loners.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor which has Garden around it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raajkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After a gorgeous train ride from Dambulla/Anuradapura to Nuwara Eliya, we arrived at Ashley Resorts. It was 55 USD per night, which for our travels was on the high side, but we needed a break.
First of all, the room was the most spacious we had on our entire trip. The carpets were brand new, everything was new in fact, so I think they had just remodelled. The bathroom was huge and has the best hot water and water pressure of our trip as well.

The only downside to the room was the dogs outside barked constantly throughout the night and it's hard to sleep through.

In terms of service, the owner and manager seemed fairly indifferent and aloof, but Gamini was awesome! Very customer oriented service and just all around lovely.

A few notes: Tuktuks that they recommended were over priced compared to other options. We just got the number of a guy we met and liked in town and used him.

Because it is a ways up the hill meant we ate at the hotel a lot
Food was decent - not fabulous, not terrible.

We shared a van organized by Single Tree to go to Horton Plains one morning - very worth it!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taraandspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room price is 5500 and the room s are very clean, comfortable and spacious. The views from the room are excellent. It's at a top of a hill but close to town... You can walk from the town. The carpets and curtains are new. The room gets lot of lighting and it's not gloomy inside the room as most of the rooms in Nuwara Eliya

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We walked into Ashley Resorts on a rainy cold evening and thankfully there were vacant rooms for the night. There were three beds in the room we were offered. It was a very spacious cosy room with a very clean bathroom too. We were so enamored with Nuwara Eliya that we decided to extend our stay. For the second night, we were shifted to the adjacent room which was smaller but still pretty clean.

I would stay here just for the views- what amazing views of the valley below and the lovely Gregory lake indeed! There is also a small waterfall right outside the hotel. The outside seating is very pretty too. This is the kind of place where you would come for a holiday.

Though breakfast was included in our room rate, the first day, we requested the chef to let us make some instant noodles and he gladly obliged. The second day we requested only milk in lieu of breakfast but surprisingly we were charged. Other than that one low point, we had a really pleasant stay. Renovations are being done in preparation for the season. Would recommend this place definitely.

Room Tip: Currently renovation is going on. Choose rooms farthest from these areas to shut out the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2pence_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at Ashley for one night, room was big but a bit murky with the carpeted floor. We had vegetarian rice and curry for dinner which was fantastic, vegetables were said to come from the gardens just in front of the hotel.

Waking up in the morning, the view of Nuwara Eliya from the balcony was amazing! To bad the dogs in the pen had kept us up most of the night barking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pontus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#20 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
149 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camellia Lake Resort
Camellia Lake Resort
#67 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oakray Summerhill Breeze
Oakray Summerhill Breeze
#85 of 194 in Nuwara Eliya
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#11 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#16 of 243 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashley Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashley Resorts

Property: Ashley Resorts
Address: No 88/2 88/3, Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashley Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashley Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing