We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place, nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #161 of 271 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Room and bathroom were fine, bed comfortable and all of it clean. I loved being in the midst of the fields and tea plantation while not that far from town. Hindi songs wafting out of farmer's house and fresh air coming in from our large windows. The nicest touch was candle and flowers on the dinner table. And the service was thoughtful and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller32648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 92 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite clean and tidy and it is also reasonably cheap compared to other hotels around this region. The beds were comfy and the toilets were pretty good. I would rather go to this hotel than to the ceylon tourist board hotel or Ceybank rest. A really good value for money hotel with good parking and decent restaurant. This hotel is way better than most of the other hotels in the region. However if you really want a luxurious hotel go for GRAND HOTEL or GLENFALL hotel or ARALIYA. hotel Windsor and Grovenor are also good. I have few lands in Nuwaraeliya and quite familiar with this area. So folks you can bank on my opinion. Good luck

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Cooldemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here just for a night during our honeymoon.Please do not go by the description that it is lake facing.It does face the lake but from one of the shabbiest localities of the town.The access road to this hotel is very hard to find.
The rooms are ok however the staff had forgotten to close the windows to our room and we had to deal with some mosquitoes.
Certainly not value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not fall prey to the tagline "lake view "
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karansunthankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

i stayed 1 night with my family,this hotel is very nice hotel with lake view, tea and vegetable garden view, the staff very friendly, Very good breakfast and dinner. the room with satalite tv channels and hote water, Great value for money, i think best view hotel in nuwara eliya,

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShiramDesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This small hotel is very, very basic, maybe 2 star, more like 1.5! It was the worst hotel of our 10 day tour. It was really cold at night, and the blanket was more like a thick sheet, and not enough. So we were ransacking our luggage during the night for more clothes!
On the good side, the food was excellent. Good breakfast and dinner.
The neighborhood is very run down, making the first impression quite bad.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had two nights here. Our sheets and pillows were filthy , when we complained staff cheerfully put brand new sheets on the beds and replaced the pillows for clean ones. I was happy to see the mattress itself was clean. The staff try really hard to please and are cheerful and pleasant. At first I did not like the location of this hotel but on my second day we walked the 5 km into town and back. It was an enjoyable walk. Then in the afternoon we walked around the tea plantations around the hotel. It was a great walk and one I would not want to miss. We had Sri Lankan breakfast here and it was enjoyable as was our rice and curry for dinner. All food stayed where it was mean't to be with no sudden dashes to the loo. The TV does not work in the rooms and the rooms are cold. We had no trouble with the hot water though . If you stay here ask for a room facing the lake. I do think there are much better hotels for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the worst hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka. We paid 4000rs for a room which is poor quality.
We were told there was hot water which is really important in Nuwara Eliya because it's the coldest place in the whole country.

I felt so cold and tired after we arrived, hoping to take a hot shower and take a good rest.The tiny boiler didn't have enough hot water for even one minute, the freezing cold water came out just a minute after I started my shower.
I was sick for a week from a cold and fever.
The room was quite cold, the service was not good, and the only staff on duty couldn't speak English.
Overall, it's over priced for such a terrible experience!
Go to Grosvenor hotel instead which is cheaper and nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,630 reviews
4.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,684 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#26 of 271 in Nuwara Eliya
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya

Address: 165/11 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $98 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing