We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor rooms and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #133 of 233 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor rooms and service”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I visited the hotel on 24th April 2012, my experience of the hotel was very bad. The rooms are damp, they don't even provide basic amenities like soap, shampoo etc. Food and service also was extremely bad

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank malinisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    24
    15
    23
See reviews for
17
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panchkula, India
Level Contributor
219 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Today is 24th April & i stayed in this hotel for a night. Though the hotel gives good view of Lake & mountains but the property is very poorly managed.

1. Intercom Telephone doesn't have instructions.
2. TV transmission quality very bad & remote doesn't work
3. Washroom curtain very very dirty
4. Bathing area doesn't have soap stand
5. Towels had holes
6. No hangers in room cupboard
7. Moreover sounds of barking dogs, cocks of the village gave me a sleepless night.
8. Food just OK

The only thing best they have is good WiFi facility.

I won't recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Forget this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Satish R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I hate to say it, but this is possibly the worst place I stayed in Sri Lanka.

The location wasn't too great. Although it was beside the lake (which is beautiful), it's at the opposite side to where anything else was!

There is no restaurant in the guest house, so we had to walk up the road to a neighbouring hotel for dinner. Very strange experience. The staff were very slow, and needed a lot of reminding to get our order. There was zero atmosphere in the restaurant, and the food was more expensive than anywhere else we had stayed.

We had a very early start on the day we left, so were given breakfast and lunch packets from the hotel - they were both exactly the same - lots of bread, 3 eggs in each and fresh pineapple, with a small bottle of water. Not the greatest when you are about to trek 22km across Horton Plains!

Unfortunately, my room was by the lounge and the staff quarters which resulted in a very noisy night with little sleep - a bit frustrating, but the rest of the group slept well on the other floors.

I don't like writing negative reviews, but I'm afraid I just wouldn't recommend this place. The only thing memorable about my stay has nothing to do with the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
378 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

More a guest house than a hotel with ok rooms with somewhat dodgy electric. Nice area but really it was too far out of the centre and I am sure there are better hotels. The food was fine but with little choice and the hotel was very friendly

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

It's always a challenge to right a negative feed back. We stayed in the hotel 1 rainy night in early January 2012. It's located on the outskirts of the city beyond the walking distance from the center. Our room was outdated about 20 years ago :-) I would stand that but it stinked like any public water closet in the vicinity. The lock on the window broke so that we could not close is. Sleep quality was poor (too cold), the only fun was the singing voice of our friend living with his family next door :-)

Though staff was friendly it could not coensate the vintage look of the furniture and overall experience was too bad.

Special thanks to Sri Lankian Delux Holidays and Ukrainian agency Elma tour who put us there. Both of the deserve claim for damages for putting two families with 3 children into the nightmare.

Room Tip: Chose any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valentyn_Kyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stay away from this terrible hotel - old, dirty,stinky, poor service and untasty food

Room Tip: The rooms were all terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kateryna1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed there one (windy) night. Hotel is ok with large rooms overviewing Nuwera's lake. Hotel staff is very friendly and food is very good. We appreciated the "mountain" style atmosphere (was a little bit chilly when we were there).

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next to dining room. Ask for the view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotels Jojos
Hotels Jojos
#21 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hill Cottage
Hill Cottage
#13 of 183 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliaya
Hotel Hill Paradise Nuwara Eliay...
#154 of 233 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Tea Fields
Villa Tea Fields
#3 of 183 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya

Property: Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya
Address: 165/11 Upper Lake Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leisure Village Nuwara Eliya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing