We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little of old England at the end of a brutal road”
Review of Langdale by Amaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale by Amaya
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Who would imagine that in the middle of Sri Lanka one would find a slice of old England – packaged with the typical English weather – cold wet and miserable. My guide told me to bring warm clothes and I thought he was kidding. The guest house is a typical colonial styled accommodation and the rooms are what one would expect from a top line guest house. The staff and services were excellent. I scored breakfast and dinner 7 to 8 and were certainly adequate. My main complaint was the horrific road condition; it took 45 minutes to travel about 10km. In defence the scenery was great and travelling at jogging pace meant that one could absorb it that much better. They are upgrading the road and I would expect it will be much better in about a year from now. I would recommend staying elsewhere until the road is upgraded – especially if you have a bad back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 425 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

It made us so tired with the terrible road from the city to the hotel. But once we arrived to the hotel it was really amazing with a superb view of Tea Mountains. Had a friendly welcome and was a bit lucky to have a one of the only two balcony rooms in whole hotel.
The staff was really helpful especially Milan and Ranjan who took time to explain everything about the hotel.
We had no ample time to experience all the activities. But the service and the food which was a bit delayed but tasty were really excellent. Hopefully we might be back somewhere in next year specially when it doesn't rain.

Over all, the hotel was a bit expensive, but could be satisfied with what we paid for.

Room Tip: "Try to go for a Luxury room with a balcony"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhammika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a great time at the hotel. The place is quiet small, but the service is exemplary. One might find the road leading to the place as going through hell as the entire highway is going through an expansion, but once you get there, you never want to leave.

A real surprise was the evening tea!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satlakhapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We paid 405US$ and we were more than disappointed!!! The rooms (even after an upgrade) where smelly, small and dark. To sleep, one of us had to cover with a towel as the additional blanked we ordered was smelly as well. The food was not bad but highly overpriced!! Additionally, this hotel is in the middle of nowhere and does not have drivers accommodation, so our driver had to go all the way back by night to find something for himself.
The manager insisted that this is a luxury hotel and that all the other guests are happy. So I talked to the other guests and in fact nobody was happy and everybody left after one night. The only good thing was that, despite poya day, we got alcohol... Over all its not a bad hotel but it does not worth the price at all!!!
Think twice before booking this hotel!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
7  Thank Sabri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This not a budget experience but if you are looking for a tranquil,sumptuous,scenic treat,look no further.
The hotel is a 20 min ride from the station and because the poor condition of the road to Nuwara Eliya took about 1 hour.
The hotel staff and accomodation can not be faulted and the breakfast was excellent quality.
Because of the remote location obviously there is no possibility of eating elsewhere and prices were on the high side however what was produced was very good.
There is a spa and my friend and I tried a foot and facial massage which we both found to be very relaxing.
We would return to this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed two nights with Australian friends living and working in Sri Lanka. A treasure of an hotel - more like a guest house. The staff were able to take time and converse, which is always a bonus. Beautiful views out over tea plantations.
Thanks also to the massage therapist who also took time to explain the principles behind Ayuvedic massage therapy.
David

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first stop when we landed in Sri Lanka, this hotel was one of the most pleasurable experiences we have ever had. The property is a piece of paradise and the hotel staff are impeccably gracious. At the risk of sounding like a sock puppet, I will now gush about each detail in turn:

1. The hotel is located at one of the most picturesque valleys I have seen, with tea gardens all around, a little train rumbling a few times a day in the distance and clouds weaving in and out. It is a converted tea manager's residence, so dont expect cookie cutter room layout. However the place is fabulously maintained.
2. When you arrive, they give you delicious green tea with a lump of jaggery you keep in the mouth while drinking it.
3. We got a great deal from agoda on the standard room (The luxury room was twice the amount), which left me suspicious of add on charges, since we were traveling with 2 small children. The standard room is, well, standard sized with a queen bed. However they allowed us to upgrade to the huge luxury room for just $30 more per day. This room had larger toilets and windows on three sides with a fabulous view of the valley. Far from being charged extras, when we settled the bill, we noticed not being charged for many services/snacks, esp those of the children.
4. The breakfast is out in their breathtaking lawn facing the valley. Service was perfectly patient with the demands of our children.
5. The dinner choice is a bit limited, but each item was superb. The bacon wrapped pork was excellent and the lamb was great. The food is probably better than anything you can get in town.
6. There are many items off the menu, including an elaborate sri lankan curry rice, which is actually 6 - 10 items (mostly veg) with rice. Must try, but ask them to go easy on the spice. The vegetables are sourced fresh from their own plantation. There is also some off-menu Indian available.
7. The bad road to the place probably explains its un-manicured beauty. There are signs that a better road is being put in place, but I fear with it, the area will "develop". The hotel is 12km from NE town.
8. We spent one day in Nuwara Eliya town, which is plenty, and then decided to enjoy the hotel and its surroundings.
9. Ask for a valley facing room.
10. They arranged pickup from Colombo Airport for LKR16,000, that included a 2 hour stopover at the elephant orphanage en route. They dropped us to Kandy for LKR8,000. The driver was as charming as the rest of them, but his car broke down! Ask for the new van, fully loaded - as he put it, he was excitedly rushing to receive the day after we left! This man gifted my 3 year old daughter with a ball on noticing her crying because she had lost one.

Room Tip: Valley facing, in front building and on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank devenverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,612 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,055 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale by Amaya

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $155 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale by Amaya 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langdale by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing