We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Langdale by Amaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale by Amaya
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you are going to Sri Lanka make a point of booking here for at least two nights. A magical place, peaceful, rural beautiful, just fantastic. There was nothing to complain about when we stayed only that we were only staying for one night and not a fortnight! Food was fantastic too, view from room amazing, watching the train chug through the valley was brilliant.
Can't rate it high enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

It’s an exceptional location on mountains with natural attributes which distant from the busy city. We enjoyed the blue Mountain View with calm environment, light breeze and fresh oxygen to inhale. The hotel is rich with its unique style and contemporary boutique hotel has great natural beauty, thoughtfully designed to provide comfort and relaxation in elegant surroundings. We experienced excellent hospitality with highest standards of luxury living. We were offered unique retreat which has been personalized and intimate, pledging to create an unforgettable luxury experience. The team being very friendly & kind, commits to provide an attentive consistent service blending international standards. It’s a memorable experience and truly a value for money holiday for me and mother. I would recommend Langdale for its marvelous location, individuality, stylish, contemporary, charm and comfortable, which provide high quality service standards, gracious hospitality, friendly staff and focus on guests comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zareefa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The view, the location, the place was just amazing. Good things come in small package. For a small place like it is just perfect holiday place. The staff are amazing. The food is awesome. The chef cooks the best there during the day and evening. One relaxing place!! For me and my other half, this place was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbnoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This property is a bit like being back in good old blighty! Yes it is a bit of a nightmare getting to and from the hotel as the road is awful and you do feel a bit like Elvis by the time you arrive, as in all shook up! But it is worth it as the setting is so very pretty, very chocolate box indeed. The climate is far cooler here so no air con required. Our room even had a fake fire with flame which was nice touch, and it was an electric heater for the colder nights. The views were fab, there is a little swimming pool and a bar to have a pre dinner drink in. Afternoon tea is included which we really enjoyed. The food was very nice, service a bit quick of the mark as just finished the soup and main course on the table already. Our room was very cozy, just the bathroom for us let the room down, as the shower wasn't great with a hideous curtain, which no matter how hard you try to avoid it they always seem to stick to you when showering! The service in the main was good, did find it hard getting someone to serve us a drink in the bar one night so ended up watching a very good Bollywood style movie in the bar while we waited!

I would say if you like the quite life this is for you, and the setting is truly beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Moondog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at Nuwara Eliya for 2 nights. This excellent hotel is situated in an amazing location, right in the middle of the tea plantations. Superb location, very very quite,romantic and out of this world.

Excellent Food,rooms and very very personalised service.

The rooms on the ground floor were a bit noisy and we were immediatley given a better room on request. What a service!!!

Would reccommend to anyone.

Bhavik Shah,Kenya

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BhavikS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this beautiful hotel on Valentine's day as part of our journey. It is located right next to the Somerset tea plantation, which is far off the main Nuwara Eliya but this was a special experience we would recommend.

The room we had was on the 1st floor. It was nicely furnished and cozy. The view from the windows were amazing as we looked through all these lovely tea plantation.

The hotel offered free afternoon tea and snacks to the guests. It was a nice treat. There are only few rooms in the hotel, so you always feel more like a private resort here.

The spa is located in a separate house next to the main building. We booked massage as a special treat for relaxation. There was only one local masseur / therapist who ran the whole place. Therefore, we had our massage one by one. The quality was really good and it was definitely worth trying!

There is only one restaurant in the hotel but the food was really good for us. We had their special Valentine's day menu for dinner. We had some delicious duck breast and soup as starter, baked crab as the middle course and Australian lamb rack and Salmon as the main course. All were cooked very well and nicely presented.

The rate is more expensive than other choices in town but it is definitely good for couples to have an romantic night here.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGeekz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looked amazing on the photos and it didn't disappoint. On arrival we were treated to complimentary afternoon tea which was lovely. The rooms were spacious, ours was a luxury so we had a small balcony with views overlooking the tea plantations and mountains. The views were truly breathtaking, never been anywhere like it!

We ate in the restaurant on the first night, service was good and food great but it is pricey compared to the rest of SL more like English restaurant prices. Breakfast is amazing, you can chose to eat outside with the views i recommend this. The spread is massive and very filling. The hotel is great for a couple but we has friends with us also and there is little to do in the evening. Most people head to bedrooms after dinner and the staff shut up, we were allowed to stay playing cards in bar until around 11pm.

The one downside is the hotel is very isolated. You cannot walk to anywhere from it. It us approximately 17km from Nuwara Eliya centre which in a tuk tuk on the winding roads takes around an hour and costs more than other trips throughout Sri Lanka - cost based on time rather than mileage. If you arrive by train it is also around 15 mins in a tuk tuk we paid 1000rupees for two tuk tuks for this journey. The swimming pool is lush but the heating wasnt working so it was freezing, like unbearably cold. There is mini pitch and put for a small fee and spa treatments for a large fee. The hotel can organise trips.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokie_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,615 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,055 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale by Amaya

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $156 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale by Amaya 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Langdale by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing