We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in midle of the Tea Hills”
Review of Amaya Langdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amaya Langdale
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a very hard unspoiled road, with plenty of rocks, with defect on the rented car tyre, during the evening, we finally reached the destination. Since the begining, the staff was really cooperative, with full emphatism and always tried to help us. A knowledge of english language of the staff is very good! :)
Rooms are comfortable, well equiped, with magnificent view to surrounding hills covered with tea plants.
Once again, big thanks to staff, which helped us to solve our damaged tyre with car rental (will never again use Europcar rental at the Colombo Airport!!!).
Food was above avarage but not the excelent one - varietty of the food selection was limited (Sri Lanka dishes missing) and little bit overpriced. We even used the spa and can recommend it.
Finally, I could fully recommend the hotel for those who are looking for quiet place, privacy and touch of luxury. The only way why I am giving only 4 stars is really difficult road and bad navigation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pietro006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Pietro006

Thank you for all your kind comments and this gracious review about our hotel staff and services! We realize that getting to the resort through the roads could be a bit difficult but we do think the ride is made worthwile, away from the hustles of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 430 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was lovely as expected..but don't expect much from the temprature controlled pool the water is not hot at all just luke warm. you need to inform the staff 4hrs before to turn the heater on. the food is way pricey by sri lankan standards even for a boutique hotel of this nature actually pricer than a 5 star in colombo. Other than this its a lovely ,cozy hotel with fabulous scenary

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duldil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Duldil,

Thank you very much for all your comments and this review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your rest and the views. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Don't be fooled by the uncompleted road leading to the hotel, because there's a little surprise at the end. The hotel is of an old English style hotel, it may have been a house in the past and now converted to a hotel. The hotel accommodates 30ish guests (i think !) you could easily mingle or meet people staying there. The hotel has a cozy lobby, with an electric fire place, feels like sitting at home. The dinning area is nicely setup, but you'll have a to order dinner 2-3 hours in advance in order to book a place and give the hotel kitchen enough time to prepare the meal. The hotel has a mini pool table, but no stick chalks.. There's a little lounge with a piano, a bar and sitting area good for playing Games. The darts board is only for decoration.

The rooms are very nice & clean, the best rooms are the ones on the second floor overseeing the mountains/valley! the hotel has a nice pool which we didn't get a chance to try due to heavy rain, and also a very reasonable priced spa, unfortunately, the spa can't accommodate couples together, but one in each room.

The hotel should invest in getting a variety of board games (other than monopoly) for the guests, the reason being that the hotel is situated at a high elevation from sea level, a little far from the main city, and when it rains, there's nothing much that can be done other than playing games.

The hotel experience is unique, and if I go back to Nuwara Eliya, I'd certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room with a view to the mountains. A second floor room. Rooms next to the lobby or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayoub W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Ayoub W,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms and service here. It sounds like you two had a lovely time. We’re happy to have been able to make that experience that much more wonderful. Hope to see you back soon!

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Buetiful boutique hotel with great service. WE stayed there 4 couples for 3 nights, and except for the very bad road from Nuwara Eliya (5 km in 30 minutes...), the place is perfect and offers great views, a spa and a nice pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ykurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear ykurtz,

So glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and thank you for your kind words about the our resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Took some time getting here, as the location is quite off the main town, guess all tea estate bungalows are. The roads are under development; should be smooth in a couple of months time. but once you reach the resort, its pure bliss. An old English bungalow redeveloped to a modern day resort. A fine blend of the old and the new...friendly staff and good local food. the location is fantastic....great pool and a spa..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuraliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear MuraliR,

We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and thank you for writing about your experience. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well well...strange experience I had during my stay. This boutique resort almost has military rules and if you dont pocket the right tips a very stiff upper lip.

Limited ala carte menu and off menu food along with timings has to be given much in advance. Dont be surprised if you get No's to quite a lot of your request and this would be strange because you may not find the same attitude elsewhere in the island.

Now for the property, I think the property is beautiful, very cosy and warm. The spa functional but respectable. A wonderful pool but please give atleast 6 to 8 hrs notice if you want to swim and them to start the heater and the water to get warm...

Beware of the shower in the bathroom, very impractical. You need to climb into a very odd shaped uneven device called a tub...(well I have tried this stunt before but never in a uneven shaped tub floor) and then shower. You need to pray to the rain gods so that you would have sufficient water presure). The tub i heard works just fine if you use in for the purpose it is made for.

And ofcourse the road to Langdale and Nuwara Eliya can be a lille tough on kids so do carry enough plastic bags.

All in all I loved the placed minus what I described above, so do take a try...

tipping is the key...service could be better for those with non-asian passports too...

Room Tip: Room away from the pool tabel is good if you want less noise, but yes these rooms have access into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manoj A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Manoj A M

Thank you kindly for your candid feedback of our hotel and happy that you enjoyed the coziness of the views our resort had to offer. I do regret that you had a disappointing overall experience with us. Your comments are very much appreciated and are being reviewed by the management.

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a very pretty hotel in a glorious setting . The service is great but the food is just OK. The rooms are very clean but somewhat basic . When you actually get to the hotel the scenery is fabulous but the road from Nuwara Eliya ,bad at the best of times is presently a nightmare as they are in the process of expanding it - completion 2015.
We also asked if the pool was heated and were told 'yes' . In reality the pool can be heated but is not so is way too cold to swim in - we asked for the heat to be put on but I don't think it ever was .

If you want to branch out from the tourist trail a little take some walks around the tea plantations on the opposite side of the valley. We walked for a whole day and it was magnificent - it was clear we were a novelty wherever we went and actually the whole school came out to say 'hello' - it was one of the best days on the island .

The manager is this hotels biggest asset and will do everything he can to make your stay a great one

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glynandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Amaya Langdale, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear glynandsiobhan,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed your hotel experience and the amenities that were offered. Apologies on the access roads, like you said it would be completed soon. I have relayed the issues on the pool temperature to the management. Hope to see you back soon and will surely convey your wonderful message to our resort manager!

Warm Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,637 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,589 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,075 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
322 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Langdale

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $161 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Langdale 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amaya Langdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing