We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with great service”
Review of Langdale by Amaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langdale by Amaya
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place with great service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Buetiful boutique hotel with great service. WE stayed there 4 couples for 3 nights, and except for the very bad road from Nuwara Eliya (5 km in 30 minutes...), the place is perfect and offers great views, a spa and a nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ykurtz,

So glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay and thank you for your kind words about the our resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    114
    66
    32
    23
See reviews for
123
175
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Took some time getting here, as the location is quite off the main town, guess all tea estate bungalows are. The roads are under development; should be smooth in a couple of months time. but once you reach the resort, its pure bliss. An old English bungalow redeveloped to a modern day resort. A fine blend of the old and the new...friendly staff and good local food. the location is fantastic....great pool and a spa..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuraliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear MuraliR,

We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and thank you for writing about your experience. Hope to see you back with us soon.

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Well well...strange experience I had during my stay. This boutique resort almost has military rules and if you dont pocket the right tips a very stiff upper lip.

Limited ala carte menu and off menu food along with timings has to be given much in advance. Dont be surprised if you get No's to quite a lot of your request and this would be strange because you may not find the same attitude elsewhere in the island.

Now for the property, I think the property is beautiful, very cosy and warm. The spa functional but respectable. A wonderful pool but please give atleast 6 to 8 hrs notice if you want to swim and them to start the heater and the water to get warm...

Beware of the shower in the bathroom, very impractical. You need to climb into a very odd shaped uneven device called a tub...(well I have tried this stunt before but never in a uneven shaped tub floor) and then shower. You need to pray to the rain gods so that you would have sufficient water presure). The tub i heard works just fine if you use in for the purpose it is made for.

And ofcourse the road to Langdale and Nuwara Eliya can be a lille tough on kids so do carry enough plastic bags.

All in all I loved the placed minus what I described above, so do take a try...

tipping is the key...service could be better for those with non-asian passports too...

Room Tip: Room away from the pool tabel is good if you want less noise, but yes these rooms have access into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Manoj A M

Thank you kindly for your candid feedback of our hotel and happy that you enjoyed the coziness of the views our resort had to offer. I do regret that you had a disappointing overall experience with us. Your comments are very much appreciated and are being reviewed by the management.

Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a very pretty hotel in a glorious setting . The service is great but the food is just OK. The rooms are very clean but somewhat basic . When you actually get to the hotel the scenery is fabulous but the road from Nuwara Eliya ,bad at the best of times is presently a nightmare as they are in the process of expanding it - completion 2015.
We also asked if the pool was heated and were told 'yes' . In reality the pool can be heated but is not so is way too cold to swim in - we asked for the heat to be put on but I don't think it ever was .

If you want to branch out from the tourist trail a little take some walks around the tea plantations on the opposite side of the valley. We walked for a whole day and it was magnificent - it was clear we were a novelty wherever we went and actually the whole school came out to say 'hello' - it was one of the best days on the island .

The manager is this hotels biggest asset and will do everything he can to make your stay a great one

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glynandsiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear glynandsiobhan,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed your hotel experience and the amenities that were offered. Apologies on the access roads, like you said it would be completed soon. I have relayed the issues on the pool temperature to the management. Hope to see you back soon and will surely convey your wonderful message to our resort manager!

Warm Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and though the rooms were clean and comfortable the furniture was dated and the place had a shabby feel to it. With a few improvements this could be a really lovely place as the views are incredible, the exterior is really nice and the staff are friendly (there's even a small swimming pool – apparently it's the only hotel in the area that has one). In the restaurant the Western food was pretty average so it's worth asking to eat Sri Lankan food which was very good. Overall this place is fine for a couple of nights but it's a bit pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Try and make sure you don't get a room on the ground floor – it was pretty noisy and the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear J0ey3,

Thank you kindly for your candid feedback of our resort and the staff service. I do regret that the food did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very much appreciated.
Look forward to have you back soon!

Warm Regards
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days during August 2012, we had two rooms both with fantastic facilities and great views of the suroundin tea planttaions and hills.

From arrival we were treated like royalty, tea on arrival, personal attention to menu needs and of course high tea provided during the afternoons.

The hotel and staff were truly magnificent, would we recommend this relaxing hotel and its entire staff, the answer is yes and if we are ever in the region again, we will book to go back.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms look out over the hils and stunning surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Neil H,

Wow! Thank you for your positive comments about our guest rooms and the service provided by our staff. It is always nice to hear such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Warm Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in the Langdale by Amaya hotel in July 2012. The hotel was recommended by Red Dot Tours. There were 5 of us in two rooms.

We were made to feel most welcome. The rooms were lovely and clean, the pool was beautiful and a lovely temperature and the surrounding area is very peaceful - surrounded by tea plantations.

The road to the hotel from Colombo is temporarily very bad because of the work on the dam locally - so be prepared for a long, slow journey there. Once you are there, however, the hotel feels like an oasis.

The food was excellent but our only disappointment was that it was British rather than Sri Lankan. However we realised that if we wanted Sri Lankan food we could order it for future evenings - a note for our future stays at the hotel.

We did not have time to use the fitness centre or the spa - to be honest we did not know the hotel had either of those.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyfromStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdale_Amaya, PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya at Langdale by Amaya, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear JeremyfromStAlbans,

Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the guest room amenities and views. Hope to welcome you back again for a longer stay so you would also be able to try out our spa treatments.

Warm Regards,
PR Team @ Langdale by Amaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,968 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
271 reviews
12.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale by Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale by Amaya

Property: Langdale by Amaya
Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale by Amaya 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale by Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing