We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful spot to relax and recharge”
Review of Amaya Langdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amaya Langdale
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I spent two days in the Langdale by Amaya in September 2011. We were the only guests which was bit surprising given the fact that other hotels in Nuwara Eliya were full. The property looks well, but is missing some of the final touches to justify the price. It's main draw is the swimming pool that has spectacular views. The rooms are fine, but again for the price the bathrooms could be more elaborate and the room decoration less cheesy - artificial fireplace like heaters.

This goes also for other equipment - wanted to rent bikes. They asked for 15 USD per day per bike, however the bikes provided were cheep and heavy Chines bikes. One could not change the gears and one bike's breaks were not properly working. When we complaint they apologized and we decided to go for a walk instead.

While checking out the front desk staff did not know how to operate the card terminal. So it was me who did the entire transaction. In addition we were given contradictory information on drink prices.

The food was great, especially the starters. Mains seem to be rather overpriced.

Conclusion: the hotel management should invest into staff training and the hotel equipment to justify the high price. It is a stunning place, but for this price one would expect little bit more.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony facing the valley. All rooms look quite similar despite different bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 436 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

I went there with my wife on 14 th of sept, and i stayed there the staff was great and friendly, plus they got an excellent chef he did the extra mile, all in all you should go there if you are honey mooners.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Amays Langdale is an amazing place to stay and relax. They offer good food and service too. During my stay here, one of their managers Mr. Yohan was particularly helpful in accommodating my needs. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sam90201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

It was an excellent stay of three days at Langdale Resort & Spa ..... very gorgeous food I loved it . The chef was an excellent person .... He cared us a lot. The food was in gourmet food quality and in a nice presentations. There was a nice location with a fantastic service . Thank you Amaya. We will defeneatly come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jagath187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This place has a lovely feel and the staff are very well meaning and keen. After a week of tourist buffet meals, the chef here prepared us a delicious Sri Lankan curry. The rooms are fresh and clean as you would expect with such a new hotel but the electrics leave something to be desired. I unplugged the TV to plug in the (useless) hairdryer and had to call someone to plug it back in as it would appear the plug was built into the socket.
There were frequent power cuts and we put this down to the remote location but the electrical crackling that came from the wall lights was a worry.
They have a very admirable policy of employing locals which whilst good for the local community does impact on service. Language skills and idea of service mean that you get what you want when you want it only about 50% of the time. We asked if we could have a drink in the bar and they smiled politely and nodded, but failed to follow us into the bar to serve us. when it was clear no one was coming we looked to get ourselves a drink, assuming it was and "honesty bar" only to find nothing but Fanta and Sprite behind the bar.
Also very odd idea of appropriate use of music: my husband had to ask at 6.30 am and 11.30pm for the piped music (Kenny G) to be turned of as it travelled upstairs as we slept.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 798Catherine_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The food was soo good and the service was in a very good standed. Its one of the best trips we enjoy"d.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Very nice Hotel. It was a nice holiday, especially the Food was great. I never had such different meals and the taste was fabulous. I hope i can come again one day...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,711 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,176 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
368 reviews
4.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
952 reviews
5 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaya Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaya Langdale

Address: Radella | Nanu Oya, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $209 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaya Langdale 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The winding brook dances off the crystal veil of the Devon Falls and prances through perfectly manicured Tea gardens that date back to the 18th-century caressing them from above are the azure heavens that date back to the beginning of time itself… The Langdale sits proud amidst this theatre of pure indulgence. An exclusive luxury boutique space designed to inspire the senses, tickle the imagination, rejuvenate mind, body and soul. The pursuit of happiness must surely end here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amaya Langdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale By Amaya Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing