We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Allen
Ranked #19 of 217 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good stay. Very friendly and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Allen was very helpful in arranging a trip to Worlds End and his wife is a very gracious and kind hostess. We ate bfast and dinner in the guest house and they were good, especially the vegetarian curries with rice. The rooms are very basic, as you would expect in a guest house, but clean.

Be aware that the Buddhist temple in Newara Eliya broadcasts it's 05:00 chats over loud speakers every morning. It can be heard all over NE. Also, Chez Allen is undergoing an expansion project. While we were here, construction started on the floor above the current rooms at 08:00 every morning. Construction was done by about 16:00.

Lastly, it gets cool here at nite, so bring warm clothes. There is no heating.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
22
75
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ella, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The place was great, untill i found out that money from my bag was missing! An other clouple that stayed there found out that also with them, money was missing. Even though you can lock your door, it is possible to enter through the window, or balcony, which probably happend to us while we were having dinner..... So keep your valuable belongs with you at all times there!!!!!!
It's a sour taste after a nice stay...

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Maaike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Chez Allen is a very pleasant guesthouse with homestay-feeling. From the bus-station or the center of Nuwara Eliya it is a 20 minutes-walk to the guesthouse. If you have heavy luggage, it is better to take a tuk-tuk to get there. From the perfect terrace of the guest-house and the frontfacing rooms you have a superb view over the city and the surrounding hills.
Rooms are in a two-storey, very beautiful house and are simple, but spacious with hot water and they are very clean at absolute reasonable prices (about LKR 3000 for a double room).

The owners Allen and Malika were very friendly, and we had a lot of fun with Allen and his friends. We absolutely can recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: The "family-room" with two double-beds has no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Balloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there 3 nights. Staff is very kind,smilling all the time. Food is ok,the breakfast omelette delicious(for a european taste). They helped us find and organize the daily trips. Older son is very entrepreneurial,keen and up to his job. The only less exciting thing is the room (standard double). There is no view and humidity gets to your bones,so you can easily catch a cold. However,to sum up, very good service and atmosphere. International but not too much.

M&M from Slovenia


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mitjaprelovsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

After I arrived Nuwara Eliya, a van drive recommended this guesthouse to me. I checked review comments, sounds not bad. Then I followed the driver to this guesthouse. The room and the owner are quite good. The room with view is quite warm. No heater needed.

The owner always prepared welcome tea for me. They even prepared high tea to us for Christmas day.

The only inconvenience part is the location. It is a bit far from city. You need take TukTuk to here for 100-150Rs.

But I really like this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shysloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked up with Allen due to the nice reviews i read in tripadvisor. This is indeed a nice place to stay with a good house on the side of a steep mountain with a fantastic view. The rooms are nice and clean with hot water which is really necessary in the cold. Allen and his family live downstairs and the guest rooms are upstairs. There are two rooms with a good view and try to make sure that you get these rooms. Allen was nice and even dropped us to the city a couple of times because his wife was not there to cook for us.

However the drawbacks to this place is the dealings which they do with transport and sightseeing. The people they are associated with are not very nice and even will act nasty when you are not interested in their exorbitant rates. This happened twice with us and was not a co incidence. Luckily since we were very clear with our dealings we did not get taken for a ride.

Preferably book up all your transfers and taxis from the main city center to make sure that you get a good rate and do not get exorbitant rates through the hotel.

Food was very nice but i found it very expensive when compared to other home stays as well as when compared to the food you get in the city.

All in all a nice house and Allen is a good guy ... but the dealings and negotiations that you have to do in order not to get cheated rather spoil the mood of your stay.

Room Tip: Only two rooms on the upstairs floor have a beautiful view!!! Make sure that you get these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

In august we stayed one night in Nuwara Eliya, at Chez Allen. The place is a little outside Nuwara, a little up the hill, with a very steep last few metres. But tuktuk drivers all know it. From the top of their roof you have a great view over the area (if it isn’t too cloudy).
Allen and his wife (and family) have some very nice, clean rooms to stay. During night time it can get very cold but there are extra blankets present (keep your socks on also helps). In case you like to have some lunch or dinner, Allen’s wife can prepare a delicious meal for you.
In the morning we wanted to visit Horton Plains for a 9 km walk so Allen arranged a driver for us to take us there; we shared with a nice Indian couplet hat we met there. Very early in the morning (5:30 AM) we left with a great lunch package in foam boxes to keep it warm.

Tip: take warm clothing with you or buy it cheap in Nuwara Eliya at the small market where they have a lot of jackets etc.

Allen & wife: thanks for your warm, hearthly welcome and stay at your place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 217 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Wing Inn
Blue Wing Inn
#10 of 217 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#5 of 217 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Allen

Property: Chez Allen
Address: 45B Underbank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chez Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing