We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe and clean,kindly staff!”
Review of Chez Allen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Allen
Ranked #26 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2012

they are so kind for me.he pick me up from the station,and then he took around the city.i stayed here just for one night,but it was the best b&b in sri lanka!
and food is also excellent! i really recomend you to stay chez allen!

Room Tip: corner room is good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank akane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Chez Allen guesthouse consists of 2 rooms in Allen's family home, situated in the outskirts of nuara elia. Allen and his family are excellent hosts and his wife Malika cooks excellent local meals. This place is great for those seeking a more 'local' experience. Bathrooms are very new, hot water plentiful, beds very comfortable and the splace spotlessly clean.

I would recommend booking in advance, as if you are arriving by bus, Allen will come and collect you from the station. Otherwise you will have to take a tuk tuk and as its in a residential street in the hilly outskirts of the town, it may be tricky to find. THe food is excellent and Malika kindly prepared me a delicious Sri Lankan breakfast, eventhough the breakfast menu had western only food. Thanks to Allen and his family for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Try the Sri Lankan breakfast, even if its not on the menu, as Allen's wife Malika makes excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at Chez Allen for 2 nights.

Location - on the hilltop, therefore can have a good view on Nuwara Eliya town from a distance. It takes around 15 mins on foot from centre and requires uphill walking for sure. On the way will pass thru the famous St. Andrew's Hotel.

Owner - Allen's family is friendly and helpful. Though their English is not perfect, not a big problem for basic communications.

Room - all rooms are without AC, and indeed no such need in Nuwara Eliya. However, there is also NO mosquito net in the room. Even you have your own, you cannot use it because there is no hanger at ceiling. That means you may need sometime to kill the mosquitos before you go to bed. Hot water is good and sufficient. The common area is cozy and spacious. Good for relaxing, watching TV and chatting with fellow travelers.

Food - the dinner is a typical home made Sri Lankan curry dishes. Delicious.

Indeed, I found that there are numerous good guesthouses around the west side of race course area (i.e. the southern part on a typical Nuwara Eliya map). Therefore, it may be worthwhile to walk around and pick the one that you like if you are not on a hurry.

Room Tip: 5 rooms in total. 2 rooms are on the basement floor sharing the same bathroom (i.e. ideal for 4 peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

i was traveling with a friend of mine down in the hill country of sri lanka and we decided to stop in nuwara eliya for a few days, at the start the place looked good and in a nice position, but unfortunately place condition were really very bad.
Family staff they never smile or talk to us, it really felt like all they were interested in was just our money... the neighbors told us(Rising lion guest house) many bad stories happened in the past in that guest house and so we got worried about staying there and we decided to leave as soon as possible.
I'm not recommending this place to stay in nuwara eliya

Room Tip: beware with small ant and mosquitoes,too for from city,poor communication,just mix up meals,Special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xviii m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our too short stay at Chez Allen. Malika is a wonderful hostess, although her English is quite limited, and our room with views over Nuwara Eliya was spotless and simply furnished with a comfortable warm bed. The bathroom was modern with a very good shower – the water pressure was good, and the water stayed nice and hot over a long period! There was a short power cutout at some stage; I think this happens in Nuwara Eliya sometimes.

There is an internet computer available for 100 rupees an hour – the internet connection was fast. Malika also offers breakfast and dinner. We didn’t have dinner there (regret it now), but she made a lovely breakfast of onion and tomato omelette and a pile of crispy toast with butter, jam and tea.

Overall a lovely guesthouse experience and a bargain for only 2500 rupees a night, not including meals or wifi. The email address is chezallen15@yahoo.com
We didn’t book over email (Wasantha from King Fern Bungalow helped us with the booking) so I don’t know how often the email gets checked.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinuvielSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is very nice, friendly family place. Breakfast is good value for money. Unfortunately they didnt speak much English therefore didnt give us much guidelines. It is bit off the town hike is around 25 minutes as you are there for walking it is no problem. Rooms are spacious however without balcony

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karelcermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

we have had a really nice stay here! the family is very nice. the middle brother, Lakshitha proved to be a very nice tour guide. If you want to see the jungle he is your man! at only 16 years of age he is a very good guide already. the food is also very good. they serve the village delights of the day, always with a smile! very nice hospitality! very much recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.9 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#11 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#13 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#6 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
500 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carnation Rest
Carnation Rest
#25 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
73 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#4 of 211 in Nuwara Eliya
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Allen

Address: 45B Underbank, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $20 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chez Allen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing