We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another happy customer”
Review of King Fern Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Bungalow
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another happy customer”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We thought that this place was really great. Yes, it's a 200 rupee tuk tuk (ask to be shown the shortcut to go down to town - it's a 15 or so minute walk) from town, but this also makes it a little quieter and the view from the guesthouse is really nice. The owner is a real genuine man and a great host. And at 3000-3500 rupees a night, we thought it was excellent value. The rooms are clean and cosy. Yes, it can get cold at night but they will provide you with plenty of warm blankets. My only area that I could suggest for improvement was in the serving size of the food. Whilst it was all delicious, sometimes the portions were very small, although other times they were very large.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    15
    7
    17
See reviews for
33
99
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this guest house and it was amazing. We had a huge room in this english cottage. It is 10-minute walk from downtown. You can take a tuk tuk or taxi to get there, but there is also a little pedestrian path to get there who is fun to take.

The food was amazing. We took the special biryani and it was wonderful. But you have to take the sri lankan breakfast, which is amazing.

Wasantha, the owner, organised us a tour to Horton Plains with a taxi, and also a visit to a tea plantation. He can pick you up from Nanu Oya train station for free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gyohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in King Fern Bungalow and in Nuwara Eliya on the whole. Wasantha was a wonderful host and was super helpful with information on the area. Make sure to have the Sri Lankan breakfast and the Rice and Curry here because it's divine.
Clean with even cleaner and lovely sheets and cosy. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cezanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Before I stayed in this guesthouse, I didn't view the comments and I am quite surprised to see all the bad comments here. My friend and I like this place very much. Nicely decorated guesthouse with flowers and giving us a warm feeling esp, the fireplace.

The host was very nice and friendly, he has been very professional and shared with us details about how the tea factory works, which restaurants to go in town, etc. We were impressed by his passion and found him very nice.

Clean room and comfortable stay. Highly recommend.

Tourists from Hong Kong

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blythe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The owners of this place are lovely and were very helpful to us. However our room had smoke (cigarette and bonfire) billowing into it all night. Not good at all. I was actually glad to leave early at 5am for the Hortons Plain hike to get out of the room.

Also, the place is a long walk from the town center.

Room Tip: Avoid the Xanadu room! Definitely doesn't live up to its name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevillePettersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms here were homey and comfortable and the beds were among the most comfortable beds we slept in during our month-long stay in Sri Lanka. Shame we had to get out of bed at 5am to leave for Hortons plains. Wasantha had organized a packed brekky to take with us. He was warm and friendly but I was disappointed by the fact that he'd offered to pick us up at the train station for 1000 rupees but didn't show and then had to pay 2000 rupees for a van for the 7 of us. It's a long trip from Nanu Oya station because of the terrible roads. There are lovely views from the guesthouse and the walk to town is downhill, interesting and not too long. We caught a tuk tuk home for only 200 rupees. Sitting in the lounge area by the fire was lovely at night as it was cold outside. We ere in a triple room and our our friends, who wee a family of 4, stayed in the family apartment which had 2 separate bedrooms both with double beds. The place looked a bit old and shabby in places but overall, represents very good value for money. Would recommend to those on a budget.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TanG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We could only but praise King Fern bungalow with its warm beds, clean bathrooms, and roaring fires in the cold nights.We arrived atmidnight and the owner was still up to welcome us;we left at 5 am to go to Horton plains and once again he was up with a picnic breakfast on the ready. He is alovely host , full of suggestions and good tips.We would strongly recommend his guest house, not to be confused with King Fern Cottage which is very good as well so we heard, and run by a younger brother!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#8 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#20 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Bungalow

Property: King Fern Bungalow
Address: 18 Underbank (off St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned guesthouse based in Nuwara Eliya with panoramic views over the town from the side of the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka. The guest house has four spacious, comfortable and clean rooms all with their own balconies, bathrooms with hot water, and free wifi for all rooms and garden area. The traditional, home cooked Sri Lankan meals are raved about by our guests and available on request. With five en-suite well appointed rooms, guests can enjoy a comfortable stay in a cozy atmosphere. Delicious meals are offered for guests that will surely keep you satisfied while the common room is always inviting with a fire place. Internet access is also available in the entire property while room service facilities are also made available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Bungalow Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing