We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your best friend's home!”
Review of King Fern Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Bungalow
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Your best friend's home!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The best is the host.
He lives there with his 1 year old son and his wife.
He is sincere, humble and honest.
We had a great talk there.

We stay in the family room in which it is essentially 2 room apartment and with 2 toliets.
The room is nice and the host would give you the warm fire as well.
It gives you nice view of the city and just next to the garden.

Some may says that the location is not convenient.
But I am on self drive (without local driver) and I get to there GPS and google map!
The most important is your ability to drive and see the map, not the guesthouse problem.

Just remember to have half board option to try some of the Sri Lankan home made dishes!
Good pumpkin soup.
Overall, it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f6heymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    15
    7
    17
See reviews for
33
99
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Location: This house is at the top of a hill on the side of the town. This gives you great views over the town and also means you're not woken up by dogs barking every few hours during the night. It does mean you need to walk about 10 minutes into down through a shortcut that the owners can show you. Very easy, safe and nice to see the backs of some of the houses and gardens along the way. Not sure why people are complaining about the location - did you not check a map when you booked?
Guesthouse: This was the friendliest guesthouse we stayed at on a three week holiday. Greeted by Wasantha, his wife and baby with bananas, biscuits and tea. We stayed in Eagle Nest for a steal of a price (something like $25) and the room was clean and practical. We ate here every night, and one night ordered the breakfast curry and hoppers for dinner (couldn't do curry for breakfast). Wasantha organised for us and some other guests to visit World's end, and provided us with a packed breakfast. We shared our bathroom with the family, but it was never occupied when we required it, and the water was hot. The other rooms have their own bathroom, however, Eagle Nest is at the top of the house and has a private balcony and the best views.

Cannot recommend enough, Would definitely stay here again. We didn't know people this friendly and welcoming existed anywhere in the world! I wish every guesthouse was like this one!

Room Tip: Eagle nest - best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8cdinsdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

this place is good, but it is on the hill, and it is not convenient for us to visit other places in Nuwara Eliya.

and I want to point out that the hotel owner was not so honest. we booked a room for 40 dollars, and I also confirmed my booking according her request when i arrived Kandy. However, when we arrived that hotel the owner mentioned he didn't have that room for us, and he could provide us a family room with 50 dollors. Although that room was fine, I don't like the way that owner dealt with. And at the same time he tried to promote the day tour to us and it looked he was too aggressive to make money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhasa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

As walk-ins, we ended up staying in two different rooms, but both had balconies with great views. The common area with restaurant and fireside lounge was also very welcoming. Excellent service from very friendly staff. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jogden1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Nuwara Eliya during our trip through the beautiful country of Sri Lanka. King Fern Bungalow is situated just outside the town, a path leads to the centre. Owners are very friendly, good food is served. Owner arranged taxi to World's End and to train station (free pick-up from train station). We had room #1, which was quite spacious with views over the surroundings. Balcony available.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGC England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our mixed group of 5 (2 couples and a daughter) had a 3-venue stay in Sri Lanka in Jan/Feb 2013. We were particularly keen to stay in guest houses and smaller venues rather than impersonal highly-rated hotels. Our choice of King Fern Bungalow was somewhat random and based in part on the communications we had with the owner which were in stark contrast to a number of the guest houses and hotels we tried to contact.
The location is out of the way and the property is fairly basic (which suited our stated needs). When I arrived, the shower in our room was being installed and a third bed erected. It was chaotic to the point of farce - and none of that mattered.
We were treated by Wasantha and Chitra like part of the family. We almost adopted their gorgeous 6-month-old son during our stay. I was allowed to assist Chitra in the kitchen one evening as I learnt the secret of her Brinjal Curry.
Nothing was too much trouble - I quote "your happiness is my only interest". It was like being a house guest and the prices were completely fair. I could write lots and lots more to illustrate the hospitality - I suppose I can only recommend that you sample it for yourself.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that our triple room was meant to be a triple. Consider 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hidden location, cosy common areas, decent views, friendly staff, great food and comfy bed.
Annoyed we could only stay one of 3 nights although we confirmed the booking. Romantic room given away on valantines day... :( Staff were helpful in organising alternative accommodation. Relocated to nearby "Chez Allen" which was also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#8 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#20 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Bungalow

Property: King Fern Bungalow
Address: 18 Underbank (off St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned guesthouse based in Nuwara Eliya with panoramic views over the town from the side of the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka. The guest house has four spacious, comfortable and clean rooms all with their own balconies, bathrooms with hot water, and free wifi for all rooms and garden area. The traditional, home cooked Sri Lankan meals are raved about by our guests and available on request. With five en-suite well appointed rooms, guests can enjoy a comfortable stay in a cozy atmosphere. Delicious meals are offered for guests that will surely keep you satisfied while the common room is always inviting with a fire place. Internet access is also available in the entire property while room service facilities are also made available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Bungalow Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing