We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King Fern Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Fern Bungalow
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great views, nice owners”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in Nuwara Eliya during our trip through the beautiful country of Sri Lanka. King Fern Bungalow is situated just outside the town, a path leads to the centre. Owners are very friendly, good food is served. Owner arranged taxi to World's End and to train station (free pick-up from train station). We had room #1, which was quite spacious with views over the surroundings. Balcony available.

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    45
    15
    7
    17
See reviews for
33
99
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LGC England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our mixed group of 5 (2 couples and a daughter) had a 3-venue stay in Sri Lanka in Jan/Feb 2013. We were particularly keen to stay in guest houses and smaller venues rather than impersonal highly-rated hotels. Our choice of King Fern Bungalow was somewhat random and based in part on the communications we had with the owner which were in stark contrast to a number of the guest houses and hotels we tried to contact.
The location is out of the way and the property is fairly basic (which suited our stated needs). When I arrived, the shower in our room was being installed and a third bed erected. It was chaotic to the point of farce - and none of that mattered.
We were treated by Wasantha and Chitra like part of the family. We almost adopted their gorgeous 6-month-old son during our stay. I was allowed to assist Chitra in the kitchen one evening as I learnt the secret of her Brinjal Curry.
Nothing was too much trouble - I quote "your happiness is my only interest". It was like being a house guest and the prices were completely fair. I could write lots and lots more to illustrate the hospitality - I suppose I can only recommend that you sample it for yourself.

Room Tip: I'm not sure that our triple room was meant to be a triple. Consider 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great hidden location, cosy common areas, decent views, friendly staff, great food and comfy bed.
Annoyed we could only stay one of 3 nights although we confirmed the booking. Romantic room given away on valantines day... :( Staff were helpful in organising alternative accommodation. Relocated to nearby "Chez Allen" which was also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

King Fern bungalow is home away from home. We were welcomed with a warm cup of tea and biscuits. Suiting for the english atmosphere of Nuwara Eliya. We spent three nights in the Xanadu room, a very spacious two-room suite with a large balcony overlooking Nuwara Eliya. Unfortunately the weather was not so great, so we only got to enjoy the balcony for an hour or so. Because of the cold we all huddled close to the fire place, a necessity in a country where heating doesn't excist. Washanta and his family took very good care of us. He arranged to meet us at the bus stop. The bungalow is about 10 minutes walking distance from town. The owners are always open to share their cooking skills with you. The food was good and they prepare whatever you like. Chandra, our driver to Horton Plains and to Ella, was excellent. He has a very good sense of humour, is knowledgeable and is a good driver. He can be arranged through the the bungalow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent two fantastic nights in the cosy 'Eagles Nest' room, the views of the town below were fantastic, and the big balcony was an unexpected perk.
We ended up eating several meals at the guesthouse, all were excellent, we enjoyed perhaps the best rice and curry we had had during our month in Sri Lanka.
The location of the guesthouse is perfect, just a ten minute walk to town but it feels like your right out in the country.
The owner and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, they will go out of their way to ensure you get the most out of your stay in Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stay for 3 nights, really bad weather, heavy rains.But Mr. Wansantha run the guesthouse very well.All rooms were clean and good views.The breakfast simple and good.They served toast,balck tea or coffee,fruits.And you can take your breakfast away if you wake up and leave early.The staffs very friendly,The boy,dumintha,really cute,always laught.
The location on the hill,you can go to downtown by a shotcut,it won't be too far.Mr. wasantha has a beautiful garden, and they put flowers in each rooms.We really like this place.Although we didn't discuss the price with Mr. wasantha,But he still give us a reasonable price.And let us four to stay in a double room, no any charges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
288 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staying at the King Fern was one of the highlights of our month-long trip around Sri Lanka. King Fern owner Wasantha and his entire staff are extremely cordial and go out of their way to make you feel at home. There is a nice sitting room, perfect for an afternoon tea. The view from our balcony over the town was gorgeous. We spent two nights in Xanadu, a very spacious two-room suite with one and a half bathrooms. The food was excellent. One night our curry rice dinner included chicken, squash, potato, pineapple, green beans, lentils, eggplant, and papadam.Another night we had whole kingfish plus an assortment of curries. The breakfast coconut roti is also very tasty.
One warning: The King Fern has one unnamed room they use when fully booked. It is very noisy because it is squeezed in between the kitchen and a staff room. It also has some serious plumbing problems which they are working on.
Lal De Silva is an excellent naturalist and birding guide and an excellent guide for Horton Plains and elsewhere. He can be booked through King Fern. Also of note is R. M. Chandrasena, an excellent driver and tour guide who also can be booked through King Fern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Bungalow

Property: King Fern Bungalow
Address: 18 Underbank (off St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned guesthouse based in Nuwara Eliya with panoramic views over the town from the side of the tallest mountain in Sri Lanka. The guest house has four spacious, comfortable and clean rooms all with their own balconies, bathrooms with hot water, and free wifi for all rooms and garden area. The traditional, home cooked Sri Lankan meals are raved about by our guests and available on request. With five en-suite well appointed rooms, guests can enjoy a comfortable stay in a cozy atmosphere. Delicious meals are offered for guests that will surely keep you satisfied while the common room is always inviting with a fire place. Internet access is also available in the entire property while room service facilities are also made available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King Fern Bungalow Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing