We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Ranked #33 of 222 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spend there one night.The room and the Bathroom was good.And also the room was comfortable.The view was nice.At the night view was perfect.The room had two balcony it own.The staff also were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoshi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    19
    15
    10
See reviews for
34
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed here one night.The room was good.The bathroom also good.We had a Tv,sofa,Extra single bed.But there wasn't washing item such as soap.They told they have wifi facility.They connected it.But It didn't worked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoshi-I1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent a night there with my family and fortunately it was just one night! The room was a little musty and we asked for a air freshener. After asking for so many times they finally gave us cleaning spray, not a air freshener! We had to spray it by ourselves. There was no water bottles in the room and just one small piece of soap. It seemed that the staff is actually not caring about their customers and no one came though we phoned for several times.

The curtains were dusty and the balcony of the room was very dirty with bird poo everywhere. It seemed like they haven't cleaned it for years!

I wouldn't recommend staying there if you expect for better customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruwan D, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! Feed back helpss improve our service standards and help serve our next customers better.

Regarding your feedback, please note that the hotel is under new ownership and new management since August 2014. The hotel is renamed and re-branded as Royal Hills. Therefore we can not accept your above comments. We are pleased to inform you that the property has been fully refurbished under our management and the below additions and changes have been completed:

+ Full Refurbishment of the exterior and interior of the building
+ New Furniture
+ New luxury Celsius bedding
+ Complementary toiletries in each room
+ New Fire Place
+ New Elevator
+ New Sitting Area on Guest Room Balcony
+ New Outside Sitting Area
+ On request Steam iron with ironing board
+ On Request Heater
+ On Request Hair Dryer
+ Doctor on Call Facility
+ Seminar or conference facilities
+ New Car Park
+ 24/7 Room Service

Some of the new staff under new management includes:
+ New Front Office Staff
+ New Kitchen staff including well experienced Chef de Cuisine and Sous-Chef de Cuisine
+ New F& B Manager
+ New Resident Manager
+ New Sales & Marketing Team

We would like to invite you to stay with us now and see and experience the difference yourself!

Thank You!
Management Team - Royal Hills, Nuwara Eliya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was very unpleasant as we arrived late at night and after dropping the luggage in the room went out for dinner with my friends to return to the place totally shutdown and all staff tucked in for the night. Had to sleep at my friends room in a nearby hotel.
The staff were totally unconcerned and didn't bother about the experience the guests have at their hotel.
They were very keen to see me and my wife out of the place few hours before the actual check out time.
The staff had no information regarding any tours or any good locations for sightseeing even.
I'd suggest anyone who wants a minimal experience of hospitality to look elsewhere or at least book the hotel which is a few mins away from here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank n4xmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruwan D, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! Feed back helps us improve service standards and help serve our next customer better.

Regarding your feedback, please note that the hotel is under new ownership and new management since August 2014. The hotel is renamed and re-branded as Royal Hills. Therefore we can not accept your above comments. We are pleased to inform you that the property has been fully refurbished under our management and the below additions and changes have been completed:

+ Full Refurbishment of the exterior and interior of the building
+ New Furniture
+ New luxury Celsius bedding
+ Complementary toiletries in each room
+ New Fire Place
+ New Elevator
+ New Sitting Area on Guest Room Balcony
+ New Outside Sitting Area
+ On request Steam iron with ironing board
+ On Request Heater
+ On Request Hair Dryer
+ Doctor on Call Facility
+ Seminar or conference facilities
+ New Car Park
+ 24/7 Room Service

Some of the new staff under new management includes:
+ New Front Office Staff
+ New Kitchen staff including well experienced Chef de Cuisine and Sous-Chef de Cuisine
+ New F& B Manager
+ New Resident Manager
+ New Sales & Marketing Team

We would like to invite you to stay with us now and see and experience the difference!

Thank You!
Management Team - Royal Hills, Nuwara Eliya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel is miles from town and situated near the lake and opposite farms that have dogs that bark and disturb your sleep.Dinner , They were going to charge me 1200 RP to for a Indian Buffet they were putting on for a bus load of Indians, so i walked up the road a k up the and got some snack food.
Wifi worked OK on first floor , plenty of hot water for shower. Bfast was just toast and coffee, They do not sell beer . Rooms have thin walls.

Room Tip: Book something closer to action..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apeman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruwan D, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, June 30, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback! Feed back helps us improve service standards and help serve our next customer better.

Regarding your feedback, please note that we canot accept your comments because the hotel is located in one of the most scenic locations in Nuwara Eliya. Our hotel is located near the Gregory Lake on one side and tea plantation on the other. Still we are located just within 2km of the city center. We are sure, considering the intention of our customers to have the most peaceful stay while their stay in Nuwara Eliya, would not opt for a hotel located within the hustle and bustle of a busy city. Therefore, when you stay at Royal Hills you will notice that we are located in one of the best locations in Nuwara Eliya, enabling the guest have a peaceful stay and enjoy the cool climate. We are certain that if you are looking for a peaceful stay and relaxing atmosphere, then Royal Hills the best place in Nuwara Eliya.

Thank You!
Management Team - Royal Hills, Nuwara Eliya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I, along with our 5 year old son stayed at Hotel Anish Park for one night in a standard room. The room was small but clean with a large, comfortable bed. The attached toilet was also clean, modern and with real hot water. There was a lovely bathtub as well and was quite unexpected for the price we paid.

The manager Rajan was very courteous and helpful.

The only thing we found objectionable was that when we returned late to the hotel, there were several members, most probably staff, sleeping on the floor of the reception area. They were sleeping on mattresses but I am sure the management can do better for these guys.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoshJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed one night with my family of 3 at this place. We took 2 adjoining double rooms. The rooms were small and rather cramped with queen-size beds and a small bathroom which was modern but had minimum fittings and the latch was not working in one of them.The sound-proofing of walls was poor and we could hear each other thro' the walls. Also the place had a deserted feel about it and did not feel safe at night. All the rooms were on the upper floors and the reception was on the ground floor .

The food also was a big let down. Our b'fast came with the room. We were offered American b'fast with eggs and toast and fruit. When we asked for a Sri Lankan or Indian b'fast option for some of us we were told that we would all have to have the same thing be it American or Indian b'fast. So we settled for the AB which was just average with cold toast and not the best tasting omlettes served. We were given 2 small bottles of mineral water along with our meal and had to pay for more bottles when we asked for the same. We were charged Rs 100/- for a bottle bottle with the marked price of Rs 35/- !

Dinner was also average . We asked for a vegetarian Sri Lankan meal but tho' we tried to find out what options were available, the manager could not communicate with us on the same.The food when it arrived was very average in taste and quite spicy too.Oh, and to add to it all, there were flies in the restaurant too!

The road leading to the hotel was a mud road which became quite slushy when it rained.

All in all, not a great experience and I will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shraddha2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruwan D, Manager at Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya, responded to this review, May 20, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback! Feed back helps us improve our service standards help serve our customers better.

Regarding your feedback, please note that the hotel is under new ownership and new management since August 2014. The hotel is renamed and re-branded as Royal Hills. Therefore we can not accept your above comments. We are pleased to inform you that the property has been fully refurbished under our management and the below additions and changes have been completed:

+ Full Refurbishment of the exterior and interior of the building
+ New Furniture
+ New luxury Celsius bedding
+ Complementary toiletries in each room
+ New Fire Place
+ New Elevator
+ New Sitting Area on Guest Room Balcony
+ New Outside Sitting Area
+ On request Steam iron with ironing board
+ On Request Heater
+ On Request Hair Dryer
+ Doctor on Call Facility
+ Seminar or conference facilities
+ New Car Park
+ 24/7 Room Service

Some of the new staff under new management includes:
+ New Front Office Staff
+ New Kitchen staff including well experienced Chef de Cuisine and Sous-Chef de Cuisine
+ New F& B Manager
+ New Resident Manager
+ New Sales & Marketing Team

We would like to invite you to stay with us now and see and experience the difference yourself!

Thank You!
Management Team - Royal Hills, Nuwara Eliya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
2.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#14 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Camellia Hotel
Grand Camellia Hotel
#40 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotels Jojos
Hotels Jojos
#19 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
40 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#20 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#10 of 222 in Nuwara Eliya
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya

Property: Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya
Address: 109, Upper Lake Road | Nesby Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Anish Park)
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the peaceful Gregory Lake, Hotel Royal Hills is a 20 roomed modern hotel situated just 5 minutes away from the Nuwara Eliya city center. All our Lake View and Mountain View rooms come with a private balcony overlooking the iconic Gregory Lake or the tea plantation. All rooms are well equipped with modern facilities including in-room Wi-Fi access, a wardrobe, flat screen TV with access to your favorite channels, private bathroom with bathtub and hot water. Royal Hills is located within easy reach to Nuwara Eliya city, Horton Plains national park, Gregory Lake, Hakgala Botanic gardens, Lipton Seat as well as Ramayana sites. Convenient location is not the main reason you should chose Royal Hills: if you stay at Royal Hills, you will surely experience real Sri Lankan hospitality coupled with friendly service. We will ensure a warm and delightful experience regardless of the duration of your stay. Because of the proximity to Nuwara Eliya city center, Royal Hills is ideally suited for travelers who would like to relax a day or two after a long journey visiting the cultural cities or before venturing on your onward journey in towards Yala National Park or the South Coast. Moreover, our Eco-friendly service policy is another reason why you should stay at Royal Hills. We will ensure a minimum carbon footprint as possible from our operations and services we provide to you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hills Nuwara Eliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing