We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome little haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill View Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Bungalow
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome little haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Like others, 2nd floor balcony room. Hot, hot showers, super clean, great food, great tea with gingersnaps, free wifi, walk into town, bagged lunch for Horton's Plains, it was amazing. Mind you we had just come from Slightly Chilled guesthouse (separate review) at Adam's Peak so maybe that is why we found this place so amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaPolarBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are a family of four, with two small kids (1 and 3 years old). We stayed at the hill view for three nights. The room was great - big, clean, great view (ask for the rooms with the terrace, on the second floor). Also there is a pleasant common area outside the room where you can sit and meet other travelers. But above all - the owner is really nice, helped us with the kids, and makes great food. We recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony - they are bigger and have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Naama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is amazing!
Probably the best place we've been to in sri lanka..
The rooms are clean and cozy and the view is beautiful. In a reasonable price you get great value for your money.
Mali the owner and her family are so nice, carrying and helpful.
She also makes great food, don't miss it!

I would recommend anyone coming to nuwara eliya to stay here :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inbalcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we arrived at the station, we met with a local taxi driver who proposed us to show us his sister's guesthouse. Normally we kind of never accept these types of offers but this time, we compared it with others guesthouses and hotels in the city. Definitely the nicest room that we had in one week travelling over sri-lanka. The bathroom was extraordinary, clean with hot water and a real shower!! The owner was very kind with us, managed some laundry for us, called us a taxi for visiting tea factory, waterfalls, etc. We had read so many good things about the home-cooking staff that we were really looking forward to the diner. What a disappointment!!! The worse rice curry ever!! Tasted like burnt staff. For 750rup each?? Did not worth it at all!!

Room Tip: Take the "rose" room!!... Not the diner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I agree with many of the previous reviews in regards to room selection (balcony with a view) and the great level of service received. For our trip to Horton Plains they made a great bag breakfast/lunch for the trip. Had one dinner and breakfast here as well and it was all very good. A little bit out of town but the walk down is easy (ask about the short cuts) and for the way up you can either hike it or hire a tuk tuk for 100to 150 ru.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This guesthouse is located on a hill above the town of Nuwara Eliya, it takes about 15min. to walk down to the town. They have 3 rooms with attached bathroom on the 1st floor and 3 rooms downstairs with shared bathroom. And the bathrooms have really hot water, very important to have in this area ! The meals are huge and excellent, proper home cooking, really good, there's no need to go and look for a restaurant in the town. There's separate sitting area both downstairs and upstairs. Free Wifi, good connection. The family who's running the place and their staff are so lovely people, it's hard to leave here ! You can't go wrong with staying here, you'll love it. I stayed here 3 nights in a room upstairs.

Room Tip: Go for the ones on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay here in one of the upstairs rooms with a balcony. The view is fantastic. The meals were quite good, the people friendly, and the water steaming hot! There is a nice dining/living area where we took our meals. I love the yellow paint and nice wood furniture. Our room had a fireplace, though we couldn't have a fire as it had rained earlier in the day and there was no dry wood available. Our tuk-tuk driver from the station, Krishna, recommended this place. He also took us on a really nice tour of two tea plantations/factories and to see five waterfalls in the area. This area has incredible views along a winding road running north. I would definitely recommend him as well!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the two balcony rooms upstairs. We visited during peak season and the room was 4500 i...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.7 mi away
Club Trout
Club Trout
#30 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Acacia
Villa Acacia
#11 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 217 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Misty Mountain Villas
Misty Mountain Villas
#14 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#7 of 217 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Bungalow

Property: Hill View Bungalow
Address: 74 St Andrews Rd. Under bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing