We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Nestled in the heart of Nuwara Eliya lies a luxurious bungalow with 4 bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nestled in the heart of Nuwara Eliya lies a luxurious bungalow with 4 bedrooms
Enjoy the beautiful view of the tea estate and the mountains from the living room The living room is delightfully furnished in a cozy lay-out
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
77 reviews
Nestled in the heart of Nuwara Eliya lies a luxurious bungalow with 4 bedrooms
Enjoy the beautiful view of the tea estate and the mountains from the living room
The living room is delightfully furnished in a cozy lay-out
The cosy L-shaped sofa with the modern wall hangings in the background
Children and adults alike are sure to enjoy 3D TV with Cinema Sound System
The fireplace will be the focal point during chilly evenings
Laze around next to the fireplace on a bean bag or on the extra sofa
Spacious bedroom with full length bay window offering a fantastic view of the tea gardens
The bungalow has three bedrooms with double beds. Room heating provided. Bed linen provided.
The children's room has two large bunk beds, which can even sleep 4 adults
The stairway leads to the pantry and dining area
The dining room has the same breathtaking view, which is sure to peak your appetite.
The self service pantry is fully equipped to challenge your culinary skills.
We have 2 detached luxurious bathrooms. Towels and essential toiletry provided.
A hot water shower is always welcome at any time of the day
The beautiful view and tranquility makes Spring Acre an excellent retreat
We have our own private small garden in multiple levels.
The compact landscaped garden is a favorite place for our visitors to laze around on sunny days
The neatly trimmed turf is an excellent area to stroll around
Endemic and migratory birds are frequent visitors, who enjoy a dip in the bird bath
Parking area with the tea estate and Mount Pedro in the background
The beautiful view and tranquility makes Spring Acre an excellent retreat
View of the 'teascape' from the bungalow
Beautiful view of Mount Pedro range, which is the tallest in Sri Lanka
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
larinetou...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It was a Nice place with good location, but the management was not good at all”
Reviewed February 25, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Place was excellent, but when we reached the Housekeeping had not been done, we had to sit and wait in the Lobby for more than an hour, also the Caretaker was terible, he was not at all helpful, First of all we had to pay for the BBQ Rs1000 per day, and he BBQ everything RAW!!! had to ask him to do it again, they have a major POWER electricity issue there, we paid good money and to be in darkness for more than 3 hours at night in the cold with no heaters, and it was tough with the kids around, the cook made us a louzy ENGLISH BREAKFAST!!! and on the second day we were leaving early so we requested him for breakfast at 7 am, but he said that he can not provide breakfast so early, well for us 7am is not that early!!! Hot water kept finishing soon, and we had to like wait one hour before another takes a shower,as for me only the Place and the Location was great, the rest was horrible!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Location and View
Liked least: the service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. At the outset, we would like to make it very clear that the person who made the reservation and paid for the entire stay at the bungalow has stated in the feedback form that he would visit Spring Acre again for his next holiday and would also recommend Spring Acre to his best friend.

However, as you claim to be a party who stayed at Spring Acre under the same reservation we will respond to your comments.

1) We have clearly mentioned in our promotional material, website and also at the time of reservation of the bungalow that the check-in time is 2pm. However, you have arrived at 11am. As the check-out time for the previous guests is at 10am, it would take a minimum of another 2 hours as per our quality standards to get the bungalow ready for our next set of guests. Hence, it is only fair that the caretaker takes at least 2 hours to do the housekeeping while you wait.

2) Similarly the bungalow literature specifically states that the BBQ machine is available for a charge of Rs. 1,000 per single use and this has been communicated to the person who reserved the bungalow. Whilst the caretaker would assist you in the operation of the BBQ machine it would not be reasonable to expect the caretaker to also BBQ the meat for you, which is the responsibility of the guest. However, the guest has the option of hiring a professional cook to do the BBQ for a nominal charge, which you did not request. We would like to confirm that the Rs. 1,000 has not been charged for the BBQ machine rental.

3) We acknowledge and regret the unplanned electrical power outage, which was a very rare occurrence. We have complained to the Sri Lanka Electricity Authority, who has already commenced work to install a new electricity power transformer to augment the power supply to the area and also increase the reliability and availability of the electricity power supply. This work is expected to be completed by 15th March 2012.

4) We are sad that you did not enjoy the home cooked English breakfast, which is normally well received and has very positive reviews from our past guests. Moreover, on your day of departure you had requested for an early Srilankan breakfast at 7am, which was unfortunately communicated to the caretaker only at 10pm on the previous night. The normal time that we serve Srilankan breakfast, as per the bungalow literature, is at 8am. However, even with the short notice period the caretaker was able to arrange the Srilankan breakfast by 7.30am,

5) Each of our toilets has dedicated hot water geezers with a capacity of 30 litres. Moreover, the water is getting heated continuously. Hence, it is unfortunate that your group exhausted the stock of hot water and had to wait for 1 hour, which is a rare occurrence.

I hope we have addressed your concerns and we regret that there were some short comings, which were not resolved to your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCla...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful location!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our group of six had a very enjoyable one night stay at this lovely place high up in the hills of Nuwara Eliya. We were looked after very well by our genial Sri Lankan host and particularly enjoyed the home-cooked breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewed February 9, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colombo
Reviewed January 17, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
India
Reviewed January 12, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2012
Dear Vikas, thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and 5 star rating. I am also happy that you would absolutely recommend our property to your best friend. Regarding the comments you have made about the pictures on our website, we have specifically mentioned that the tea estate is opposite the bungalow. I am sure you would have enjoyed the walks along the tea estate. Also, we have specifically stated on our website that there is a small private lawn in multiple levels and also many common areas around the bungalow for everyone to explore and enjoy. Please see the web page that lists out the features of the bungalow: http://www.springacre.info/features.html. Thank you and look forward to welcoming all of you to Spring Acre on your next visit to Sri Lanka. Warm regards, Charini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Reviewed December 14, 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GSTColomb...
Colombo
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, great caretaker, but lacking homely feel...and heating!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Spring Acre is basically in the middle of a housing scheme - literally a load of similar looking houses on a hill. This threw me a little bit as I was expecting a quaint upcountry bungalow, but I have to admit the inside was immaculate. The kitchen, lounge, bedrooms and bathrooms were clean and tastefully decorated.

The owners, and Wije the caretaker, were really helpful. Location is excellent.

Bad points I found were the fact that everything is locked up - the board games, the coffee and tea, the crockery and cutlery etc and that does not give you the feeling of a vacation rental, as you're compelled to either keep bothering Wije or just go without (we opted for the latter).

The other down point was the fact that heating is limited to 4 hours in the living room and from 6pm to 6am in the bedrooms. It was absolutely freezing in the house and with two young kids this really was disappointing. The small fan heaters in the bedrooms were ok, but the electric fire in the lounge definitely wasn't enough and it was very uncomfortable in the morning when we woke up and weren't able to have any heating in the living room.

Overall we did have a good time at the house, it was a clean, tidy and functional vacation rental, with excellent customer service via the owners and caretaker.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coldness
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. As described in the instruction leaflet, the complimentary heating can be extended, on request, beyond the standard hours for a nominal charge. In future we will also give the necessary instructions to the caretaker to ensure that guests are not inconvenienced due to the locking up of cupboards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing