We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, historic, friendly service”
Review of Ceybank Rest

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ceybank Rest
Ranked #92 of 252 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value, historic, friendly service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was the best hotel experience we had in 3 weeks in Sri Lanka. It is a charming colonial era hotel overlooking a lovely garden with friendly staff, excellent food and good value for money. The buffet breakfast and dinners are superb.

Room Tip: The front middle room is a beaut
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    47
    24
    23
See reviews for
48
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place tells us how it was in late 1900's in Nuwara Eliya. This is a well located big colonial house with a nice garden.The staff is helpful. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are correct with very hot water which is quite rare in SL and very welcome in this cold city. We slept very well in the four-poster bed. On the other hand, the breakfast was very poor with horrible "fanta" orange juice and pink neon-colored jam ! Local food like honey and curd would have been a lot more appreciated. It was around 7000 ruppies in Nov 2012.

Room Tip: Victoria room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Ceybank hotel during a recent tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel does have a certain colonial charm, although by modern day standards it is obviously old fashioned. I thought it was a lovely looking building with a large well tended garden. My room was very spacious with an enormous four poster bed. The bathroom was basic but ok, but be sure to bring your own toiletries. The town is only a 10 -15 minute walk away and is quite busy. The hotel food was good quality although the variety was smaller than the other hotels i stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a dark, dingy room, the lone window of which looked out into an air shaft that was home to cooing pigeons. There were two chairs, their upholstery grimy and ripped. The twin beds were pushed together and they had these stained and faded blue canopies whose chief purpose was to collect loads of lint balls and dust; the bed posts holding them aloft were about as secure as a pile of pick up stix. The bathroom had one little pad of soap you get to shuttle between the sink and the dimly-lit shower. The wall mount for the hand-held shower nozzle was in a fixed position that allowed the water to shoot over your head and the shower curtain and onto the bathroom floor. The presumably once-white, now grey, towels dangle from a broken rack. There is only one wall socket, so you have to choose between running the electric heater (it's cold here), or watching the tiny TV, or charging your camera battery or your mobile phone or your laptop/tablet. The permanent resting place for the tea kettle is on the floor by the sole socket. There is no closet--but there is a hat rack! Ceybank works hand in glove with Rail Tours, a travel agency masquerading as the "tourist information office" at the Colombo railway station. The travel agent, a Mr. Pranassa, charged me for a suite. When I complained about my (sub)standard room to the female manager at Ceybank and reminded her that I had paid for a suite, she said the hotel has no suites. But over the course of my stay, I saw housekeeping cleaning what were, in fact, suites. A dishonest hotel working with a dishonest tour operator. Avoid them both.

Room Tip: The only good thing about this place is that it is within walking distance of the upscale Grand Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is an old Colonial style hotel in Nuwara Eliya which is run by the Government owned Bank of Ceylon.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The ceilings are high as one might expect in this type of hotel.
The bathrooms as far as I could say from the one in our room, was pretty basic and the plumbing was erratic but most of this was sorted fairly satisfactorily.
We were on half-board and so the buffet style dinner we had was good. There was a good choice of Sri Lankan and European style food at breakfast.
The reception was relatively painless and the staff were generally helpful.
The gardens are straight out of England and are huge.
The hotel is situated close to the Nuwara Eliya Park which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyanfernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the hotel looks like an english cottage villa..large rooms, cosy lounge and all surrounded by a beautifully designed garden. Food was good and carefully prepared. Possible drawback is
that during rainy weather the hotel and rooms inside also feel a bit cold and damp ..but this influence of the climate is beyond control of the hotel management. Overall rating price vs quality excellent !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevensGentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms and ekstra blankets - the city is very cold. Nice rose garden, good, tasty, cheap food and freindly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.1 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#2 of 252 in Nuwara Eliya
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#4 of 203 in Nuwara Eliya
442 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#7 of 252 in Nuwara Eliya
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceybank Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceybank Rest

Property: Ceybank Rest
Address: 119 Badulla Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ceybank Rest Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing