We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Single Tree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Single Tree Hotel
Ranked #132 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

we were in this hotel for this chrismas.we was there two nights.
rooms are very clean,bath rooms are o.k.hot water for 24 hour working.
food was nice.the staff treated us very well.they give us free internert service

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nardeeni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    52
    55
    45
See reviews for
23
103
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Due to long continual rain causing me to abort Kandy I had to spend a few nights in Nuwara Ellya - last time in '99 I stayed at the 'Hill Club' but that is now priced out of all proportion, and I ended up at Single Tree.
Fairly dingy, drab rooms for what it cost, evening meal and breakfast were not particularly apertising and very slow service. Stayed one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1777NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I was in this hotel with my friends.safety place for every one whose traveling there with there family.because it's a family run hotel
rooms are very clean and nice.we had meals from there very tasty .
we did tours with them to Horton and tea factory they did it very well for reasonable
price.we recommend this place who is like to visit nuwaraeliya.. the driver who did tours he explained every thing.we spent two nights there.we got good service for what we spent.we found this hotel from lonely planet book.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank federicco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

One of the best budget hotels in Nuera Eliya. This place is definitely worth a night or two if you want to experience the chill of this hill station. Since there isn’t much to do and watch in this place, all you end up doing is lazying on a weekday afternoon, away from work and without even a fan to cool you down. The wooden interiors tried to give it a tree character but the windows had missing glasses, enabling the air in and making nights miserable with the blowing wind and the whispering sounds of the breeze. The guesser takes a lot of time to heat up but guess that is the price which you pay for getting a budget pick with a discounted off season bargain for a Free Individual Traveller. The breakfast and other meals are all highly priced for the quality which they offer and they try to make money in alternative modes from guests like Safaris to a nearby Single Tree Hill which gave the hotel its name.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor facing the road should be asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andybhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but we did wish we had. Our tour company and driver booked us next door at the Haddon Inn and since this hotel is not listed on Trip Advisor I will say categorically that it sucked big time.
We knew that the Single Tree was known for tours and trekking. We went there to book our excursion into World's End. We got Raja. He was great and the most experienced of all the guides. We had a great time, thanks Raja. Later we needed internet and they graciously let us use their services. I would return here and stay at Single Tree next time. The owners are not liked by the drivers of tour companies so I like them even more now.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Wanted a room at single tree but was quoted a too expensive price! Opted for a room at Victoria inn which is under same management. Dirty bed sheet, blankets non existence, no mosquito net (room filled with mozzies!), arrangement for Horton plains was done poorly!

Oh yah... Bed bugs too!

Lonely planet "good" reccomendation indeed ....

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nystul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for 1night . not so good , not so bad. Average . but it was good for us as we just wanted to spend the night. we stayed at the separate building which is just beside the main one. room and bathroom was clean. room was small and bed was average.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Richmond Inn
Richmond Inn
#8 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#7 of 179 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 179 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#5 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#10 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Highest Village Bungalow
Highest Village Bungalow
#9 of 223 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Single Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Single Tree Hotel

Property: Single Tree Hotel
Address: 1/8 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Single Tree Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Single Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing