We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spacious room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great spacious room”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Hotel nice and spacious, good setting, walking distance to town with shops. No AC but you dont need it here, we were even cold at one point. Bathroom was ok, the shower curtain was disgusting and filthy and had mould on so we complained and they came a put a brand new one on which was good. Food was ok - depending on what you had, my roast chicken was lovely but my husbands curry wasn't great. Breakfast time the service was a bit slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliveparkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    52
    40
    32
See reviews for
19
70
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked the Grosvenor Hotel for 3 nights/4 days during the middle of April 2012, which is widely known to be the busiest month of the Nuwara Eliya season. Thousands of city dwellers, mostly from Colombo but also from around the country, flock to the cool climes of Nuwara Eliya during the months of March, April & May with the peak visitors coming during the Avurudu (Traditional Sinhala & Tamil New Year in mid-April) holiday period. This results in hotel room prices skyrocketing, sometimes to absurd, jaw-dropping rates.

I reserved the hotel over the phone from Colombo about 2 days prior to arrival and was caught off guard by two lucky breaks. Firstly, I was surprised to find out that the rooms were available, given that it was the peak period of the “Nuwara Eliya Season”. Secondly, during my telephone conversation I enquired about the need to pay an advance but was told that I need not pay an advance and that I could pay on completion of my holiday ! This is quite a refreshing approach to the traditional method of local hotels where they ask for an “advance payment” to be deposited to their bank to confirm the reservation. Such was my level of surprise that I enquired thrice during the same conversation “Are you sure I will have my room when I arrive there?”

The rate of LKR 7,700 for B&B seemed fairly decent considering the fact that the 2 other hotels that I called up asked for up to 3 times that price for the same period. I requested for a hotel with a view and was given a room (Room No.15) overlooking the race course which was, I suppose, the best view the hotel had. The hotel is a brisk 10min walk away from the City centre and hence we found ourselves leaving the car at the hotel and walking up & down to the city. Traffic during the season is pretty bad, with parking in the city a big challenge, so it was nice to stay over at a hotel that is so close to the city.

The room was very spacious with twin beds coupled together to make a double bed. There was a quaint fireplace, which unfortunately we did not light up despite staying for 3 nights. The bathroom was clean and boasted of a bathtub, which was quite refreshing in this sort of hotel. The hot water lacked consistency throughout our visit but we were able to manage. I was not happy with the flimsy door lock. Luckily they had backed it up with a latch that helped to make it more secure. The beds were comfy if not outstanding and we managed to sleep well over all 3 nights, aided by the cool weather of Nuwara Eliya of course.

Meals were acceptable, but none of the meals or dishes stood out. The garlic toast was too “garlic-cy” for our liking and the crumb fried fish smelled a bit too “fishy”, according to my wife, who mind you hates fish that smells weird. Breakfast was always Sri Lankan and we were served Bread, Dhal Curry, Pol Sambol & Sri Lankan Omelette. On our travels we are used to more of the Western Breakfasts of cornflakes, waffles, bacon & eggs etc., but alas that was not to be here. Meals were almost always about half an hour late so make sure you order early. Although there is a restaurant, we had all our meals in the convenience of our room. Maybe that explained the delay in sending the meals to us on time. It could be that the staff was busy in the restaurant during meal times. But we did not make a fuss about it and the most we had to wait was 45min.

Our room did not have a TV so we had to make do with the common TV in the Bar area. The TV had cable with ESPN, which meant that I was able to watch my team Arsenal play Chelsea in their Premier League encounter without having to leave the hotel and finding a fancier place. Luckily, when the match kicked off at 5pm there was no one watching TV so I was happily able to watch a drab 0-0 draw wearing-my Arsenal shirt !

Overall, the hotel was a good experience and I would recommend it for individuals who are looking for a value for money experience. I was told that during the “off-season” the room rates drop down to Rs.5,000 a night for Room Only, although personally I was expecting it to be around the Rs.4,000 mark. Our final hotel bill came to around Rs.25,000 with the meals that we ordered. For 3 nights/4 days in Nuwara Eliya that is a very reasonable amount indeed.

In conclusion, I would say that the Grosvenor, while not being too fancy or luxurious, is an ideal, quaint little hotel to stay over during the season. I look forward to experiencing the hotel during the off-season so that I will be able to make a good comparison between the two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We got room no.15 that overlooked the road/race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kapila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This place was once a grand hotel but is now run down and dirty. Stains on the sheets and pillow cases, balls of hair and general dust, grime etc by the side of the bed. Filthy, mouldy curtain in bathroom and generally a horrid place. In addition, it is so noisy and we were woken by other guests speaking very loudly early morning as room doors do not fit properly and walls very thin.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkyPinkyPinkyPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Queen Charlotte
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Grosvenor is the former Governor's Residence from the days of Empire, and that's both good and bad. On the good side, the antique furniture and beautiful woodwork in the rooms, and the old library and dining room, retain a great deal of elegance and charm. On the bad side, the plumbing is ancient and chancy, and the sound insulation between rooms simply doesn't exist. Add poor and indifferent management, and you have a problem!

First, count on your room being very, very cold. There are fireplaces (which haven't been cleaned since Queen Victoria was a baby), but it costs $5 for enough tiny damp sticks to produce an hour of flame sufficient to heat your feet and ankles, but not your knees. Given the inadequate blankets, this means you're doomed to shiver.

However, the rattling and chattering of your teeth are the least of your troubles when it comes to sleeping. Tile roofs with no insulation and flimsy doors between adjoining rooms mean that every sound is magnified and transmitted from room to room. In our case, it meant that when a couple of Irish girls who had been boozing it up in their room all day before going out to get really plastered rang back in very drunk very late, we got to hear them caterwaul full volume until about 1 AM, at which time they loudly invited some local guys into their room to drink beer with them.

I threw on some clothes, got out of my freezing bed, and went looking for management. One of the local guys scurried after me, and told me he was a hotel employee. In fact, he was the guy who provided the drunken sots with more beer at one in the morning! Then, out of the room emerged a short fat guy dressed like Sinbad! I did a quadruple take, and then he said he was the night watchman! Sweet! The night watchman drinks with the drunken guests who they continued to serve alcohol!

No higher authority being present, I told them to shut down the party, and said I'd talk to the manager in the morning. The boys slunk off, but one of the bimbos pointed out that she was an educated person, so she could make as much noise as she wanted. Then she and her buddy whooped it up for another half hour, until one of them started crying, and the other one joined in for 15 minutes of agonized sobbing, until they slobbered off top sleep.

In the morning, management denied that anything had happened, and gave us and our driver very cold treatment. I guess they were afraid we'd ask for our money back, or else this was par for the course. It's too bad the place has come under the management of morons, because it's a fine old building.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bima77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this lovely old hotel, a bit run-down and worn, but full of charm. The whole place had a bit of a deserted feel about it, but that added to the ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful, and when we arrived back at the hotel late, someone was on hand to let us in. The room we had was enormous, the beds were reasonably comfortable with plenty of blankets, though the shower didn't work very well. Breakfast was pretty basic, but overall it was a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Looked lovely when we first entered our room but thank goodness we were only there one night. We were told it gets cold on a night but they couldn't light the fire due to winds blowing the smoke into the room. After alot of hunting for a different room they decided they would try the fire, which we decided against as we had a small child with us. They then came back and offered us an electric heater... For an extra cost... As we would have had to Pay for firewood anyway (which had also not previously been mentioned). After a discussion about whether it was really necessary we decided against it... BIG mistake. We had the worst nights sleep EVER. It was bitterly cold. I'm sure it would have been warmer out in the car. The blankets or rather a flimsy sheet were a waste of time and I really wondered what we were paying for. I'm sorry but if it's that cold there should be adequate blankets to keep you warm and you shouldn't be paying for the privilege. The other problem was the noise. They were fully aware we had a toddler with us yet our beds were pushed against interconnecting doors (we didn't realise this until bedtime that night). The family next door were celebrating, not excessively loudly but with a thin wooden door between them and our heads they might aswell have been sat on the bed with us. Thankfully once our child was asleep he slept through any noise but I lay for several hours listening to every single word they said (and that was after I had been and asked them to quiet down). Definatley not somewhere I would go back to.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britindoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
226 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is not a hotel, please, this is less than a standard b&b. it offers just very poor facilities.
Rooms are fairly large but basic. Our room had a broken window that let cold air enter in the room.
The rooms were very very cold during the night and the poor and too thin blankets were just not enough for a confortable sleep.
Some room has the fire place (which I don't recommend to use expecially for safety reasons).
Toilet facility has poor pipes and the shawer works with a tricky fixing.


The food was poor, we ordered Sri Lankan curry which came 'western' style with no spices or flavouring whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nightfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#14 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing