We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Colonial Style Guest House.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Old Colonial Style Guest House.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is a real antique of a place, the bedrooms are enormous and fully furnished with chairs,tables, wardrobes, some have working fireplaces. They had the most comfortables beds we've had yet in Sri Lanka. The bedroom and ensuite were clean and well maintained. There is a club style lounge, old fashioned dining room and the hall way is so wide it has chairs and tables lining the sides. The main town is within walking distance. It makes a god base for walking tours in the area.

Room Tip: we had the room closest the lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    52
    40
    32
See reviews for
19
70
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Grosvenor is an odd place. Its a colonial style hotel which has probably looked the same the last 100 years. It looks clean and nice and as you stay there, you get to like it more.

The rooms are pretty large with large beds and what looks to be clean sheets and covers. The bed pillows are pretty comfortable, they may be filled with pieces of old seagulls... But overall the room is basic and there is not much charm about it. That is until you lie down and notice the very nice wooden ceiling while you have the fire going. Yes, for a fee (500 rupees which is pocketed by the guy who lights it and does not seem to go to the hotel) you can light the fire in the fireplace in 4 out of the 10 rooms. The somewhat cold and barren atmosphere of the room and hotel immediately changes to a cozy and different experience. Very nice. How many hotel rooms have fireplaces in the room today? (A note on safety: The cinnamon wood is lit with gasoline which is left in your room in a coke bottle. If you have kids, make sure it is out of reach).

Be prepared that the all doors in the hotel are also about 100 years old. This means you can hear everything from next door, including screams, snoring and farting. You also know when the hotel phone rings out in the hall. Its part of staying at Grosvenor.

There is a large lounge, and if the hotel cared to light the fireplace in here this room would change from a boring, cold place to a room which would attract some of the guests for socializing. But you can order tea in there and play finger billiard. A note on the tea. For two small pots that each had about 2 cups in them we paid 660 rupees. This is 3-5 times the normal price for tea and a complete ripoff! We mentioned the ridiculous tea price when paying but the guy did not seem to care at all.

Breakfast is terrible, get it over with and out the door. I would never dream of eating anything else at this hotel. Instead, head over to the fantastic Grand Hotel Restaurant 3 minutes in tuk tuk away and eat great Indian food at super prices.

So if you can get caught up by the old-world charm and like cozy fireplaces then this is the hotel for a night in Nuwara Eliya. Otherwise you can probably find something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed with our 2 kids for one night. It's not the best looking from the outside, but inside has a nice old English touch. Maybe somewhat outdated the total sphere makes up for a lot. Very spacious rooms, large lounge area and chairs in the beautifull hallway. It's a place my grandparents would have called just like home!

But the best was the fireplace at night! It was pretty cold and raint when we were there. We had to wear long pants, sweaters, socks, so in the evening they offered to light the fireplace in our room after dinner! And that is great, we went to sleep with the sound of a wood fire, best night in Sri Lanke. But it also could be lack of the noise of an airco!

Dinner was pretty good, altough it was cold in the restaurant. This place is value for money, but don't expect to much. The european touch is in fact the value....

Room Tip: Lit the fireplace at night, or ask for a room with one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giel-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurunegala, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

we stay this hotel for 2 days in may 15and 16.hotel room is very large and very clean.fire place also.very freindly staff here and they support me to find a vehicle to travel all around nuwara eliya.beautifull colonial type hotel.few minuits from the city center.but i felt it is some over priced with the foods

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madumantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Room was comfy and a good size. Had a nice range of interesting colonial-style furniture, albeit reproduction. The room itself was perfectly clean, although the bath was quite dirty with condensation mould and a tatty shower curtain.

The biggest disappointment however was the food. We were asked to order 3 hours before dinner as the kitchen was busy (there were four other diners that night). Our first choice of Sri Lankan rice and curry was unavailable (eh?) so we went for Chinese sweet-and-sour chicken which was nothing like any Chinese meal I've had before, more akin to KFC with rice and some chilli ketchup.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We felt like this hotel had a charming feel with some authentic details such as the wood ceilings and great landscaping. Rooms were very large and had a table with chairs. The lounge was a nice space to relax and read. Breakfast was nice and service was good. The hotel is just a 100 rupee ride from the city center. Being high in the mountains, the rooms can be chilly at night. The upside being that you won't need a mosquito net.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed in the Grosvenor Hotel in Nuwara Eliya for two nights and it was a pleasant stay. The rooms are really big, clean and nice furnished. Some even have a fireplace, which they going to light up for you if you ask them. Accordingly to the travel guides a room in this Hotel should be around USD 30 – USD 40 (haven’t ask for the price, because we were on a tour). The Hotel is a little bit away from the main drag so if you want to go to town you have to walk about 10 – 15 minutes. The staff was all the time really friendly and helpful. We just had breakfast there and that was coffee/tea, toast, spread, jam and eggs, nothing special but good. The Hotel is for what it is a little bit overpriced, but probably one of the better options in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#14 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing