We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience of Staying in a Tea Garden”
Review of Tea Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tea Bush Hotel
Ranked #29 of 238 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience of Staying in a Tea Garden”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We reached at Tea Bush in the late afternoon. While I was busy with check in at the front desk, rest of our group were enjoying rainbow from the hill top backyard of the hotel. Very soon I joined them and enjoyed the view of colorful sky, small scattered houses on the distant hills and lake beyond the zigzag road. Entering into the room I was rather surprised by not seeing any provision of air conditioner of fans. There was a room heater instead and at night it was very useful in chilling Nuwara Eliya. The management and the staff, specially the kitchen staff were very friendly and cooperative with the guests. My daughter and my nephew had a chat with the head cook and they managed to get foods of their liking changing the set menu!
In Nuwara Eliya, we met one of our friends with his family just by chance and next morning they joined us in the breakfast. Finally our friend cancelled booking of their first hotel and stayed in Tea Bush for the next night.
Earlier I thought that the tea plantation was abandoned there and only the tea bushes (and Hotel Tea Bush) remained. But when I got up early in the morning there were tea girls plucking leaves from the garden. So, this was a rare experience of staying in a star marked hotel surrounded by a living tea garden. If I ever go back to Nuwara Eliya, I would love to stay at Tea Bush.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our great pleasure looking after you and your team on your visit to Tea Bush Hotel and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor for us.

We are centrally located close to the Nuwara Eliya town but in a very quiet residential area. The rooms are all individually designed and to a very high standard with all the comforts we can think of for our guests. Our team of dedicated staff are here to make sure that each and every guest is taken care of to the highest possible degree and if there is anything we can think of to make you stay more enjoyable and then we are happy to do it. Also we are happy to accommodate your friends also at our hotel.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tea Bush Hotel on a future visit to Sri Lanka.

Regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
54
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Tea bush Hotel is a very nice hotel situated in Nuwara Eliya. This place is a quiet place and all i hear is the birds chirping so this would be the ideal place for someone to come and spend there holiday in a very relaxing manner.this place had enough parking space for about 30 cars to be parked. This place is very safe with 24 hour security.The staff is very kind and is very concerned about the client.The food over here was just out off the world.when i went there the hotel was fully booked and all the clients i met said that this hotel is a really good one and they were all repeating customers.They told me every time they come to Nuwara Eliya they would only stay in this hotel cause it is so peaceful.This hotel is the highest on its bit of a mountain side and has a beautiful restaurant placed to capture the view of the whole city of Nuwara Eliya. The advantage of staying in this hotel is because its only like an 5 mins walk to the Nuwara Eliya town and u will also be able to experience hiking at the Single Tree Mountain which is ajoining the hotels.The staff was excellent , the food was very good , the rooms are very clean and hygenic and out of all..... the location is the best as it is very convinient to go anywhere by walkiing I would recomend anyone coming to Nuwara Eliya to come to this hotel and stay as my experience staying in this hotel was fantastic

Room Tip: To tell u guys the truth all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanjith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed with my family for one night in the small boutique type but very professional service oriented Tea Bush hotel. It has only 10 rooms but the room we stayed was spacious for four of us. The food was excellent, especially the cook and staffs in the kitchen are fantastic and ready to serve what we wanted. View from it's terrace and restaurant is unbelievable. You can see the lake and most part of Nuwara Eliya - green hills, clouds holding a cup of coffee or tea or a glass of chilled drink on a sunny day. It's location is great, within a tea garden. We have seen the workers of the tea garden picked up tea-leaves. Any one can take a walk in the tea-garden in the morning for a hike or just a walk. Most of the staffs were professional and attentive to us. The manager of the team walked around with smile. We regretted that we could have stayed at least one more night in that hotel. We changed our booked hotel when we saw this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the inside corridor have best view from the room and also have more day lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shashanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at Tea Bush Hotel. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay with us.

Again I was really pleased that you enjoyed the little touches we provide all of our guests and I have already passed on your kind words to my fantastic team.

Please do come and visit us again and stay few more nights with us.

My kindest regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is an oldish simple boutique hotel of 9 rooms. Everything has the old look. The reception is just a table, which is fine. When we arrived they knew who we were and whisked us straight to our rooms after we filled out a card. The rooms have old solid wooden furniture, probably from the colonial era- nothing special though. The bathroom is a little claustrophobic with low ceiling and a tiny window. It's best left closed because of the cold. Surprisingly, despite the size of the room it was not too cold in the night. The restaurant is nice and large. The cook tries hard and generally did a good job with our orders. He made it a point to ensure that the breakfast was hot.If you are expecting 4 star or 5 star standard then this hotel will not meet your expectation. It's more like 3 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raviran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the tea bush for 2 nights, when it was quite rainy and cold. This small hotel is the highest on its bit of mountain side and has a beautiful restaurant placed to capture the view - sadly it was so socked in for most of our stay that we didn't get to take much advantage of this :). We had adjoining rooms for our family of 4, and they were well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Blankets and space heaters were provided - thank goodness - because it was really quite cold. The staff were very helpful and attentive to our every need. The hotel is within easy walking distance of town and the lake. Overall very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_g_kulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We enjoyed the stay in the hotel, we were upgraded to a super deluxe room since it was our honeymoon stay, staff was very polite and helpful, the restaurant service is very good fast, clean and the food was delicious and excellent. The place feels like home since its boutique hotel, room was clean and tidy. surrounding is not that breathtaking and the view of the lake is restricted to limited places. the only problem we had was running hot water we had to bird bath since the hot water in the shower was running so slow, except for this i would recommend this hotel as value for money and worth a visit next time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing has a good view & balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalaka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel in general is satisfied.it's in clean, beg rooms, delicious food, friendly staff. It's a boutique hotel where you can feel the sence of home. The surrounding view is fantastic.you can walk down to the lake as we did and the weather is cold and fresh.

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms in the hotel and i think all of them are the same because the hotel is on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moonlight9400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review following your recent visit to Tea Bush Hotel.

I was absolutely delighted to read that you had a most enjoyable time with us. We like to make sure that our guests feel at home and so we aim to provide everything they may need during their stay.

Your kind words that the staff were friendly, clean big rooms, delicious foods are most appreciated.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
23.4 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.1 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#12 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
791 reviews
25.0 mi away
Emerald Hill Hotel
Emerald Hill Hotel
#57 of 388 in Kandy
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Daffodils
Hotel Daffodils
#73 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Property: Tea Bush Hotel
Address: 29 Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing