We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tea soup. Lovely!!”
Review of Tea Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tea Bush Hotel
Ranked #29 of 238 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“tea soup. Lovely!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A bit out of town. Nice first impressions. Very British country home look. Then the room. It was cold, stale and damp.The curtains were filthy. When put head down to sleep our pillows smelt of moth balls!!!! You know its cold when the staff are wearing earmuffs!!! The view from the room was through the hall to the dining room , but are great from the roof. Food was lovely especially the tea soup.The staff were very attentive and efficient.Why play bad covers of English music while we eat. Local sounds would be so much better, more authentic! We guess we were out of the normal season and we only saw one other couple, so why not spend a bit of time cleaning?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    46
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
54
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Quite simply we liked the place. The Manager, Mr. Lal, made it clear from the outset that he wanted us to enjoy the experience and this was evident all the way though. The first night we stayed in the hotel and had a few beers and an excellent Sri Lankan curry, all done with friendly and efficient service. The second night we said that we'd wander further afield and tried a couple of other places - a mistake as nowhere in the vicinity had service anything like it - in two places we waited around twenty minutes each for a drink. Upon which it was the first tuk-tuk back to the Tea Bush where we were received at 9.00 with open arms, a welcome "Two beers Sir?" and another very generous and very tasy selection of currys. During the day there are some good sights in Nuwara Eliya, notably the Pedro's tea factory, but when all's said and done the best bit is to return for a cuppa in the pleasant garden and just to drink in that view. Overall a good adventure and one that I'd recommend. One tip - although only 6 degrees from the equator the altitude makes it pretty chilly at night - pack youself a cosy jumper.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Tea Bush Hotel Nuwara-Eliya, and for highlighting many of the best features of the hotel so succinctly. we are really pleased you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your second home.

Kind Regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a good base in nuwara eliya but we were the only people staying at the hotel, so it was very quiet. The owner was helpful and attentive and the food was good at the restaurant with a good view of the town and hills. The hotel is within walking distance of the town but up a steep hill. The rooms are clean, large and spacious with a lovely powerful hot shower,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard,

Thank you for your charming review of your stay at Tea Bush Hotel Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka. We are really pleased that we were able to create many fond memories for you, and we look forward to your return when we can make many more.

Kind Regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake,
Co-ordinating Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Dear Guys

Dont stay at the Hotel . There are thieves in the hotel . We lost SR 15000 from our room when we went for breakfast. When we complained manager asked for written statement and we given the same. They told us will be setting it . But till now no news. Its not the matter of money. No safety ! Wnen we were there no other guest was there. Its was like a ghost house. We stayed there because we paid the advance. Suggest guys dont stay at this hotel . Myself and family went safe by gods grace. The price we booked was also high and more than a 4 star. All the rooms are located in an isolated corridor like a ghost house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PETER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

i love the place this hotel is situated and it shows whole nuwaraeliya town and the Adams peak. in the evening when the mist covered this hotel. oh!! i dont have words to explain the beauty. anyone from india or any country who visit nuwara eliya just stay at least one night and see am i lieng.. good service, good management. and head office at Colombo also have a very helpful staff. its worth for the money and compare to other hotels (not bungalows or rooms) this hotel is cheap. foods are tasty. restaurant also very nice.. its a very good place to relax. no harmful sounds and very calm place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank din p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback about your recent experience at the Tea Bush hotel.

We are very proud of our staff at The Tea Bush Hotel and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

I hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Tea Bush Hotel (Pvt) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

this is a lovely, good hotel with lovely staff. compare to the other hotels we have visited during our stay in Sri Lanka this is the best. me and my wife enjoyed the stay at Tea bush. good staff, good service, good foods and yes i love the weather at Nuwara Eliya. but i do agree with other comments they must make their garden nicely. room is clean and neat. old furniture gives a historical attraction to the hotel. but i like if you can put modern furniture's. No hassle make for my agoda booking. all were arranged accordingly and i love the service they have provided from our arrival.

we also like to recommend to put movie channel like HBO or star movie. but range of channel available is still good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

How wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with your wife at The Tea bush Hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and how we look after our guests. We want them to feel at home from the moment they arrive so I am thrilled that we achieved just that for both of you.

I do hope when you next plan a trip that you will come back and see us once again.

Warm regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Manager and the staff were helpful. Rooms were ok too. But the food was not up to the standard. Low in quantity and quality (My son found a dead FLY in a curry).
As for the location there was no view from the room what so ever. There are 2 rooms with a view but costs Rs10,000 extra. The garden was not really beautiful as compared to other hotels in Nuwara Eliya and could have done a better job.
We were there for two days under half board basis and my real feeling was that the hotel is overpriced because I expected much more from the hotel especially when it comes to meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roshithaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiranthi, Co-ordinating Secretary at Tea Bush Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Silva,

Thank you very much for posting a review.

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the condition of the rooms and the staff service. and also thank you for rating all aspects of the hotel service, foods, etc., as "Good" in the guest comment card filled by you at the time of the departure.

The room was offered to you for a two days stay in Half Board basis is at a very special rate which include a 20% discount and it is not overpriced according to the other hotel rates.

Also the complained regarding your son finding a dead fly in a curry was investigated immediately. it is emphasized that the food is prepared under very hygienic condition and the chance of any contamination is virtually non existent. all food served are brought in covered up to the table. thus it is very unlikely that a fly could creep in to a dish before being served at the table. The only possibility, if at all, of such a thing happening could be after the table was laid out.

If this incident was promptly brought to the notice of the staff, suitable remedial measures could have been taken. While not doubting your son's identification of what he saw as a dead fly, we profusely apologize you and your son for this most unfortunate incident.

An expansion project is under way for the hotel and we assure you that serious consideration will be given to your observations on the garden layout and the view from the room.

I do hope that you will stay us on your next trip to Nuwara Eliya and if we can ever be of assistance we are only an e-mail away.

Kind Regards,

Shiranthi Dissanayake
Co-ordinating Secretary
Tea Bush Hotel (Pvt.) Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
23.4 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.1 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#12 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
790 reviews
25.0 mi away
Emerald Hill Hotel
Emerald Hill Hotel
#60 of 388 in Kandy
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Daffodils
Hotel Daffodils
#75 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Property: Tea Bush Hotel
Address: 29 Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing