We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpfull owners and nice hotel”
Review of Tea Bush Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tea Bush Hotel
Ranked #29 of 243 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Helpfull owners and nice hotel”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The owners of this hotel were very helpful in giving advice for our trips and in arranging breakfast at time in which normal people are still fast asleep.
The property has a nice view across Nuwara Eliya and rooms are spacy and clean, although a bit cold at night.
We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    46
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
55
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elsloo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

This hotel is just way overpriced. 8000Rs for the simplest room for one night when there isn't even a closet or a hanger for your clothes. You need to put your clothes, books, etc.. on the floor. The hotel has a nice view from the restaurant, but doesn't have the right feel to it. The manager is trying to be as nice as he can, but gave us the creeps as he was always everywhere we were aswell. That may have something to do with the fact that the hotel was almost empty. The manager also made the staff nervous. They were frightened to say or do anything when he was around as he always gave them the feeling he wanted the control and took the work out of their hands. We had planned to stay 3 nights, but made it 2 nights. We couldn't get out of here fast enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocomotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

ostend
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are clean, bathroom is ok and there is hot water 24 hours, the food is also good. Good and helpful staff.
The manager Lal cares good for you, in every way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seasideOstend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Do not stay at this hotel until you've made very sure what kind of a room
they are giving you. If you plan on booking a 'Standard' room, save your
money and go elsewhere, as the owner's 'standard' is one unknown to any
hotel or even guesthouse I've ever stayed in! My tour company booked a room here for me, and when I arrived I found it had only a bed and a TV -- and that was it. By 'only' I mean there was no wardrobe, closet, desk, chair or anything. In other words, you were basically meant to dump the contents of your suitcase onto the floor and get into bed to watch TV. (Oh, there was a paperback-sized bedside table covered in some kind of quilt, but as there
was no bedside light, in fact just the bulb hanging in the ceiling, you
wouldn't need to use it for your book as you couldn't read in bed unless you
wanted to get out of bed and turn off the switch by the door when you were
done. When I complained, I was told 'Madam, this is not a 5-star hotel.' I
pointed out that I had stayed in no-star hostels, and they at least provided
a cupboard for your clothes and some form of bedside lighting. As it gets
dark early there, and there is basically no nightlife to be found in Nuwara
Eliya, you will be spending a lot of time in your (very cold, very damp)
room--so be forewarned. The website will show rooms lavishly furnished with
antique furniture--and yes, as the hotel was completely empty except for me,
I looked in those rooms and found them as shown. But 'Standard' room--you
have to be joking! A total rip-off. (On the plus side, it was very
clean--good thing if you're dumping your clothes in piles on the floor, eh?)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

i stayed at Tea Bush Hotel for 3 days. it is a very nice hotel with only 7 rooms, so you get personal treatment. the people are very nice, manager is also very helpful, restaurant staff goes out of the way to please you.

the location of the hotel is good, and autos are available to all points (sightseeing points). the food is good and they make it as per your request (thats the best part).

rooms are neat and clean and hot water available 24 hrs.

tea bush soup is a must have.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehamanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

-rooms with colonial style, clean and comfortable, but a bit expansive for the quality
-staff can be quite pushy for you to eat there, go with their car...
-food at the restaurant is quite bad, we had one breakfast and one lunch and both were really poor
-view from the terrasse, outside and the restaurant is really nice

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom-Kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
23.4 mi away
Kandyan View Holiday Bungalow
0.1 mi away
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Heaven Seven Hotel Nuwara Eliya
#13 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
357 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tea Bush Ramboda
Tea Bush Ramboda
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
810 reviews
25.0 mi away
Emerald Hill Hotel
Emerald Hill Hotel
#63 of 406 in Kandy
184 reviews
7.8 mi away
Thuruliya Lodge
Thuruliya Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ramboda
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bush Hotel

Property: Tea Bush Hotel
Address: 29 Haddon Hills Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Bush Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Bush Hotel is a boutique type hotel of 10 comfortable rooms, situated in Nuwara-eliya, the little England of Sri Lanka. The original planter’s granite bungalow, “Shelborne”, as it was then known built in the 1800’s, where most of the hotel rooms are housed adding to the old world charm of the hotel, was the residence of the superintendent of Haddon Hill Tea Estate.All rooms are provided with hot and cold water and room heaters are optional. Ample parking space coupled with drivers’ quarters is a boon for the tour operators. The large well appointed restaurant serves delicious food for both in-house guests as well as walk-in guests. Room service is also available on request. The limited number of rooms makes every guest a special one for the hotel. The high elevation of the hotel above the town makes the view from the rooms and the restaurant of the surrounding hills, Nuwara-eliya town and the Lake Gregory to be quite breathtaking. Mt. Pedro or Pidurutalagala, the highest peak in the Island is close at hand. One could get a grand view of Adams Peak or Sri Pada, the famed holy mountain by climbing the Single Tree Hill just behind the hotel.Guests on their own may visit the Victoria Park and the Lake Gregory which are just walking distance from the hotel, while hiking trips may be arranged by the hotel to the surrounding hills. Guided day tours may be arranged on request to the Hakgala Botanical Gardens with its famed rose beds or to the Horton Plains, the National Park among the clouds at an elevation of 7000 feet, and perhaps a peep down the Worlds End, the 3000 feet sheer precipice.All this would make your stay at the Tea Bush Hotel linger in your memories for long years to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tea Bush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing