We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the Secret Room at Warwick gardens, which is a beautiful room with breathtaking views. This hotel is in a beautiful setting, with the most amazing Manager (Faris) and staff. We were made exceptionally welcome by Meena and Vijay, who were close by but not obvious. The food is from quality ingredients, perfectly cooked and uncomplicated. There are endless walks through the plantation and village, and the local people are very gentile. It is difficult to describe the Warwick Gardens experience, as it will be different things to different people. To us, it was elegant, homely and relaxing; a place that enveloped us with all the right feelings.

Room Tip: We understand that all the rooms are lovely, but the Secret Room is spacious, with fabulous views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 286 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

In a region that can feel overrun with tour buses and tourists, this place is an oasis of quiet elegance. The location is wonderful, with the difficulty of reaching it adding to the charm (and discouraging above-mentioned tour buses). We thoroughly enjoyed the food, made from the freshest local produce. The service is effective and friendly without being obsequious. It may not be for everyone as it is slightly isolated and self-contained, but very much works for me and I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcinrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Yes the road up the house is a bit hairy - Devil's Elbow hasn't earned its name for nothing but we found that just closing your eyes and trusting in your driver was the best way! We arrived in a typical mountain mist but that added to the atmosphere. We were welcomed by the manager and Meena the lovely housekeeper. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the master suite, our elder son and daughter in law were also upgraded to another lovely suite accessed by going behind a wall tapestry and our other son had a very comfortable twin room. The house has been restored to a high standard with good bathrooms (all our rooms had large walk in showers and roll top baths). Beds were comfortably firm with good pillows. Drinks were served in the lounge with comfortable sofas and dinner taken in the adjoining dining room. We were little confused as there isn't a menu as such just the choice of Sri Lankan or western food - the first night we had a typical Sri Lanka curry - both chicken and fish which had been preceded by a very tasty soup and followed by a dessert. The following night we decided to "go western" and were served a really fresh salad with feta cheese, then a wonderful herb soup followed by a magnificent fillet steak with garlic and herb mash and vegetable. All vegetables are home grown and you can taste it. The chef certainly knows his onions (hardly surprising as he probably grew them himself!) - we all had our steaks cooked differently and he had them all spot on. Breakfasts were plentiful and the choice was good - the coconut roti and vegetable curry well worth trying.

We found Warwick Gardens a bit of a curate's egg. We had a major issue in that we had little hot water on our first evening and no hot water the following evening nor our last morning. Meena spent most of the time running round turning taps on and off but to no avail. We ended up wondering whether the restoration was a little to perfect and had imitated an English country house
with its problematic plumbing a bit too well. But on the other hand, the stunning views, peace and tranquility, and the relaxed feel to the house made it a great place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were the only guests staying the night we were at Warwick Gardens, which we understand is unusual for this hotel. But it was lucky for us because we had the house, and the attention of the lovely Meena (housekeeper) and Viji (butler), to ourselves. Their service was warm and wonderful - attentive but also allowing us privacy at the same time. The nature of the road to the property means the staff can see people coming from afar and guests are met by Meena and Viji on arrival. They wouldn't let us lift a single one of our many bags and settled us onto the terrace with afternoon tea while they put our bags in our room. We were travelling with a young baby and he was sweetly whisked off and entertained whenever Meena and Viji thought we might want hands free for a few minutes to drink some tea or eat some food. We were really made to feel at home.

The house is beautiful and in a wonderfully secluded setting with gorgeous scenery. We drove ourselves and didn't find that the road was as bad as some of the other reviewers have written. It made our arrival very satisfying and somewhat of an adventure in itself.

We stayed in the Glenoch room, which is upstairs and has a lovely bathroom with clawfoot bathtub and lashings of hot water for a luxurious soak. The room is really comfortable and decorated in keeping with the style of the house and we all had a peaceful night's sleep.

Guests can choose where and when to have their dinner and ours was a wonderful experience, from the wine to the delicious food to the lovely service. I understand that all the fresh ingredients are sourced from the grounds of the hotel. Breakfast was also fantastic. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and Viji had thoughtfully set our table placings next to the terrace so we got the sunshine.

Before we left we spent some time talking to the manager, who is a really interesting man and very, rightfully, proud of his hotel.

We had been looking forward to staying at Warwick Gardens as a special treat and we can truthfully say it was even better than we had imagined. We really did not want to leave after our one night and it will be a lovely memory of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Jetwing Warwick in October. It is a testament to the care of the manager and his staff.

This place is not for everyone but those that embrace the style will love it. We had two nights there and saw both sides. This is a true boutique hotel rather than a B&B, I feel the difference is the way you are treated by the staff. Here the staff are personable but although they are locals the manager has assuredly trained them as well as any hotel we have ever stayed in.

As you will have read from the other reviews the place is delightful. It is remote so unless you are prepared it may not suit longer stays than two nights. Forget about ducking out a having an impromptu dinner in Newa Eliya as you are too far away on a very narrow road for that.

You should explore the locality by day be it Ella or Newa Eliya or Horton National Park. But at night it is best in the hotel. You advise the staff on your preferred meal for your group and a time. We were lucky on our first night, the fellow guests were all present for dinner from different parts of the world, they were delightful and the conversation went into the night around the beautiful antique dining table. The following night we dined alone as the new guests either ate alone or had sandwiches (their choice!!) in front of the only television.


By all means go to the Jetwing Warwick and you will feel like the Scottish tea planter did all those years ago and think of those marvellous dinner parties he must have held. If you love food the kitchen staff are true champions and most of the produce is grown within a mile of the hotel and picked fresh that day.

Room Tip: Don't be shy when ordering dinner. There is no menu but the staff are fantastic and they can co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conantheaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

BEAUTIFUL! Wonderful location, Beautiful views, DELICIOUS food, Outstanding service. Like a step back in time to the colonial age, with roaring fires, toasty carpeted hearths, beautiful Ceylon tea freshly grown, great company and wonderful, historical and cosy atmosphere. Can’t wait to come back!!

Word to the wise- difficult internet connection due to secluded area means that paying by card can take a while, and might not work at all! The lodge is only accesible by car, and on very narrow and tricky roads at that. Plan ahead…

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECGrant-Ades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My daughter, her five year old son and myself stayed at this wonderful old colonial home. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. We enjoyed the views the log fires, beautiful gardens, wildlife, animals and fantastic food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
6.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,724 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,660 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
966 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
371 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Warwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Address: Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $303 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Warwick Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored colonial tea planter's bungalow set amidst verdant hillside scenery, Jetwing Warwick Gardens is the ideal getaway from life's tribulations. Consisting of a range of exquisitely designed rooms, this stay allows one to experience the enchantment of historic elegance and glory surrounded by nature's perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jetwing Warwick Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Warwick Gardens Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing