We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty hotel, don't go there”
Review of Rising Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Lion Inn
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was a really bad experience. First of all the room and bathroom was too dirty.
Finally in this hotel you can't go anywhere else easily. The only chose you have is there food witch I can not recommend.
We booked this hotel because all the others where fully booked. If everything else is booked I would suggest just to skip Nuwara Eliya.
When we left this hotel they charged us more then we had agreed on the phone.
The price was already much more then the lonely planet said but this was way to much for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Decent hotel for a solo traveller. But if you are travelling with your family, then better look out for other options.
This place is away from the town on top of a hill. It was not value for the money i paid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShivanandIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The view down into Nuwara Eliya is the best aspect of Rising Lion, unfortunately. The castle-like building has a certain faded charm, with fire places in the room, but the whole place is in desperate need of an update. The staff are friendly and helpful with arranging tours to local sites (Horton's Plain, tea factories), if a bit shady with their advertising. But the dining room was disgusting - tables never properly cleaned after meals, for instance. There are certainly better values to be had in Nuwara Eliya for the same price point.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Romain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank VanessaWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
10 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#24 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Lion Inn

Address: 3 Sri Piyatissapura | St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $31 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Lion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rising Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Lion Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing