We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, characteristic place, very nice stay”
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trevene Hotel
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great service, characteristic place, very nice stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

we stayed at the Trevene in November. Selected it from the rough guide.
Service at the Trevene was very good. Very nice & helpfull staff, great food as well.
Location is also very nice, quiet surroundings but close to the centre and the park.

The staff arranged a very nice trip to Horton Plains and Mackwood's Tea factory for us. Also thanks to one of the staffmembers we had a great experience at Yala NP a few days later, because he referred us to a friend.

overall we had a very good experience at The Trevene

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    171
    75
    52
    26
See reviews for
69
227
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 Nights with them in Sept coming in on a last minute booking. Though decorated with old, antique furnishings and fireplace, the room are minimal for actual usability. The laundry towels are old and a little stained. Given its price, one would tend to expect much more. However, the place is a sweet little cottage overlooking the victoria park, making it a much more interesting place to be compared to be in the small squeezy town of Nuwaya Eliya. The owner is hospitable and is friendly in getting the required information for you. On the pricing of food and services required, a little more transparency would be appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaciousMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

The room was ok for the price, its an old house so beware if you have allergies. It was also pretty cold inside. The owner was very kind and helpful on tips for the area. We had a fireplace in our room and a great fruit smoothie with breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brea_and_Sabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed for 1 night and had a refreshing night's sleep in one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. The hotel is a family run establishment and it felt like home with the welcoming way we were treated throughout. I would stay here time and time again. Book in advance and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niyanta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travellingphysio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We found The Trevene after I got chatting to a guy on the bus from the train station....I'm sure a marketing ploy! A pretty colonial style bungalow a short walk from where you get off the bus and a short walk into Nuwara Eliya.

We were backpacking on a budget nd this was the most expensive place we stayed in during our trip. However, it was still reasonable value and we managed to bargain for a better price than originally offered.

The room was a good size, nice and clean with an ensuita shower room with hot water (quite a luxury for us but needed here as much colder in this area than the rest of Sri Lanka). Very comfortable bed and we had a good nights sleep.

We ate curry and rice here for our evening meal, served in a lovely dining room. The food was delicious, although slightly more expensive than elsewhere in Sri Lanka.

We wanted to hire a driver to take us to Worlds End and then on to Embilipitiya so that we could then go to Uda Walawe National Park before heading down to the South coast. The Manager was able to put us in touch with an excellent driver who arranged this for us for a reasonable price, we were very pleased with his service. He even went to the trouble to get us a cheaper deal for a safari into Uda Walawe once we got there.

The only warning about this place is to watch the extra costs when you are given the bill....suddenly a fairly sizeable service charge had been added on and the staff indicated that they dont see any of this money. Having spoken to the owner we managed to get this charge taken off and gave a cash tip to the staff who deserved the money!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I was surprised by the beauty and setting of this colonial bungalow, situated within the heart of Nuwara Eliya, and yet, hidden, behind Victoria park, from the cuffufle of the city centre.

The atmosphere at this hotel is serene, and the staff friendly and helpful - ready to rustle up the next tea, the next meal or even to organise the next hike up the mountains surrounding the city - of which the patio and front garden area of the bungalow offer a an amazing view.

The trekking guide they organised knew the surrounding area suprisingly well, spoke fluent English and gave a great overview of the flora, fauna, industry and history of the area. I was also astonished to witness the involvement the owners had with the local community - the money these guys make really doeshelp local farmers and families!

I came from Colombo to get away from the heat, hustle and bustle of the city and, having only spent three days at the Trevene, I came away with the wholesome feeling of serenity that comes with a great stay in the country.

The Trevene is the perfect place for a quiet geteway, without the need to pay the extortionate prices put forward by other hotels, and I would also consider it strongly as a base for further travel through Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyRR1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The Trevene is a nice colonial style bungalow in Nuwara Eliya. We were a group of five families with young children and booked the enitre 8 room bungalow. The rates quoted are per room or for the entire bungalow.

The bungalow is well situated, within walking distance from Victoria Park. It is surrounded by lush green mountains and also has a small garden of its own. It was a great experience to have the bungalow to ourselves, and we had a pleasant two nights stay there.

The rooms range from small to large. The bathrooms are basic. Nothing fancy here, but it has charachter and old world charm. The care taker is quite helpful.

However, no towels or toiletries supplied, so be sure to carry your own. Also they had provided a cook, but one gets their own grocery. The cook wasn't very adapt at vegetarian cooking, so the ladies in the group had to take over the kitchen.

This place is for you if you are looking for a non fancy but a clean accomodation, which is very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Property: The Trevene Hotel
Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing