We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right idea, wrong price”
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Trevene Hotel
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I called the Trevene from the train station hoping to get a room. The receptionist explained they were full but could take me to the sister hotel (next door to the Trevene) for R 3,000- WiFi included. I was disappointed that I couldn't stay at the Lonely Planet's Top Choice thinking it was also the same price, however I did appreciate and respect the managers offer of the sister hotel. It seems, luck was on my side, and although "Park View" doesn't have the same warm cottage atmosphere as the Trevene, the Trevene's rooms and bathrooms are not worth the newly elevated price of $100 U.S. a night (so said the woman I met at breakfast). Yes, the hotel manager is attentive to his guest, as is the owner who introduced himself at my breakfast table, but so are most Sri Lankan hoteliers. What seems to be missing from the Trevene is a lack of substance for the higher prices they are charging. I know this from my breakfast experience. I agreed to pay twice the price of any breakfast I have paid thus far ( just yesterday was met with a glorious breakfast for R250), hoping I would be met with a Top Sri Lankan experience. What I found was disappointing: an Omelette, a smoothie and 4 pieces of toast. Even tea at the lovely English cottage was limited (Black tea only- sorry no Green tea). At R550 I would think there might be more than just the basics.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevene, Owner at The Trevene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

I have no idea what you talking about as I have rooms starting from $40 per night including breakfast and all taxes.
500rps for the breakfast with 1 fresh juice, toast butter/jam, egg(fried, scrambles, omelet etc..) Banana, Tea and Coffee is a quite good breakfast, but of course if you are use to the 100rps local cafe, this won't suit you !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 457 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

The Trevene was wonderful. My wife and I had such a lovely time in Nuwara Eliya during our honeymoon. Special mention to Nisa and her group of wonderful staff who made our stay very comfortable. We'll be back soon! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hafizzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was listed and recommended in the Lonely Planet rough guide at 2,000 rupees. We ended up paying 7,500 for a very basic room facing the back, in need of renovation. The staff was pleasant, the location lovely, but the Trevene is definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights, the staff were all really friendly and the food was good. Room was big, although a bit dated. Location is good, a 5 minute walk to town, but far enough away to be quiet. At night they light the fire and people sit around the fire and talk. They also arranged tours for us and the drivers they arranged were all really good. Would stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Swd847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Trevene is a quaint building in a beautiful garden but the interior falls well below the standards of the other hotels westayed in on our trip to Sri Lanka

The hotel is in need of refurbishment and up dating internally. The reception area is drab and needs better lighting. We stayed in room 104 which is directly off the reception area and again the room was badly in need of refurbishment. The upper walls and ceiling of the en suite bathroom were showing extensive sighs of damp/mildew. There was no proper shower facility ( the shower head was served by a rubber tube of the bath taps) and there was no way of fixing the shower head to the wall. The temperature of the water ranged from icy to scalding and it was impossible to maintain a steady temperature. The bathroom window could not be secured thus giving easy outside access to the room. (We slept with the door adjoining the bathroom locked from the bedroom side.) On the first evening we decided to take advantage of the meal on offer at the hotel as we had enjoyed a full days activity and were tired and didn't feel like venturing out. The meal was set and no choices offered. The meal it's self was adequate and tasty with desert being taken in the lounge area where the open fire was light as it was quite cold. We assumed that the fire in our room would also be lit. However upon retiring we found that this was not the case and the room was very cold. Rather than wait for the fire to be lit we completed our ablutions quickly and went to bed. Due to the proximity to the reception area we endured am fair amount of disturbance.


Breakfast was two eggs cooked to your preference with toast tea and fruit juice.No other alternatives were offered. After breakfast we were asked if we wanted our room cleaned ! Some thing we assumed would happen as a matter of course.


On returning to the Trevene at around lunch time we were asked if we wanted an evening meal that evening and were told the menu was exactly the same as the previous evening so we declined. Whilst I appreciate that we were on a bed and breakfast basis I would expect a hotel that offered its guests the option of an evening meal to change the menu or offer a choice of meal. The same can be said about breakfast. A choice including cereals bacon sausage as well as fruit, yogurt etc should be the norm


The organisation of the hotel particularly at breakfast was some what chaotic with the staff not seeming to have a clear understanding of what each other's roles were and it's great to be asked if every thing is OK to be asked the same question four times in almost as many minutes by three different people is some what comical.

Room Tip: Book in to another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew261033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were welcomed with a tea. Nice and lovely house, a bit outside the main road but within walking distance from the City, in a quiet location. The house is very well maintained, the garden is a nice place to relax. The rooms are big, and bottled water is provided in the rooms. The breakfast is ok (fruits, eggs, tea or coffee, toasts), and they gave us as many toasts as we wanted. The only negative point is that the bathroom need a bit of refurb/re-decoration as compared to the nice bedroom (with a nice fireplace). The prices they charge for their services (taxi and tours) are expensive as compared to what you can get from somewhere else. They could also provide extra blankets for the beds as it gets very cold at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked this hotel because Lonely Planet had recommended this hotel as there TOP CHOICE (nothing top about the place). The hotel is very run down and it is obvious that the owners do not want to spend any money on maintenance. The room was cold and damp and there was mould everyware, the bathroom was the worst!! dirty and as soon as you touched the shower fitting it all fell off the wall into pieces. The food was the same thing two nights running (recycled) and there was no choice,we were hassled to eat dinner at 6.00pm!!!!! breakfast was poor and limited. They had said they would give us a ride to the bus station which was not far, but then realized they would have to use there own petrol!!! No ride!!
I asked the owner why the rooms did not have heaters for the cold and to eliminate the mould, her response was '' She did not want to use any electricity'' (I was speechless).
The owners are so mean it is quite unbelievable. Thank god there are many hotels to choose from in Nuwara Eliya, Give this place a miss......

Room Tip: You would be better off sleeping at the bus station.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthonysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,596 reviews
0.8 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#3 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#10 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
205 reviews
1 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#26 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ferncliff
Ferncliff
#1 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $36 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing