We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, warm hosts”
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Trevene Hotel
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, warm hosts”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My friend found this place from Trip Advisor & we stayed here for 1 night during our Sri Lanka visit.

True to the reviews, we had a great time here. It's an old British style villa, with a front yard. The villa has 6 or 7 main rooms & a couple of common rooms. The place still retains its old charm and decor, trinkets from old times.

Nisa was a very warm host & made every effort to make our stay comfortable. We reached early in the morning directly from our flight to Colombo. She gave us a guest room at no extra charge to rest for a bit & freshen up. Since 2 of us were vegetarian, she even made arrangements for a vegetarian breakfast.

The Trevene's location is also awesome. The race-course, lake etc. are a 20-25 minute walk away. Has enough place for parking as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevene, Owner at The Trevene Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again at The Trevene !!
Nisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    173
    76
    51
    26
See reviews for
73
227
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. They also helped me to arrange a bike for a reasonable price. I can definately recommand this place. The food quality was also good. Especially the service was very very friendly! Price-Value was absolutely ok!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Note: I'm only just getting around to writing reviews from our fun month trip to Sri Lanka. My husband and I stayed here just over a year ago. The drop-down selection of dates provided by Trip Advisor only goes back 11 months, so I selected February 2013 as the closest date. I mentions this simply because temperature was a factor.

The outside facade and location are lovely, as was the female manager who painstakingly wrote out directions in Sinhalese so we could show others if the need arose during out travels. The room, however, was far from lovely. My husband and I had the room right off the reception area. As many others have mentioned about this specific room it was freezing, the bedding insufficient, the water went from cold to scalding hot without warning, and the door did not fit the frame allowing all hotel noise to easily be heard.

We elected to not eat dinner at the hotel because they offered only western dishes and we were excited to try as many different local dishes as possible. Thus, we can't comment on the dinner. Breakfast was nothing special, but certainly sufficient.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Trevene, with our 2 young kids. The room was very comfortable, with nice wooden wall. In the evening, they light the fireplace in the living room so everybody come and enjoy - you get to know and chat with other travelers. Food is nice, but the menu is very similar from one night to another (so I rated 4 and not 5).
The service is GREAT. The staff is super attentive with children, very nice. Our children played a lot with the owner children.

We definitely recommend this place. Very good value for money!

Room Tip: our triple room with wooden wall was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikaf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Trevene at the beginning of our Sri Lanka trip, and this place connects you to the old colonial charm. We had room 103 with the fireplace (not all rooms have it, so be sure to ask at time of booking). The staff were warm and friendly.

We had all our breakfasts and dinners here, not too bad but would have preferred a little more variety.

Overall, good place for short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0ul_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

First of all, the hospitality is great, the owners are friendly. Breakfast is plain but nice. However, this does not make up for the severely disappointing room, or the lack of amenities. Room #105 is nothing like the photos on tripadvisor, it is extremely plain and lacking any sort of colonial charm. Do not take room 105, it is not worth the price. The sheets did not fit the bed, there are no room cleaning services, and the bathroom door did not close from the inside. Also, though it is listed as a service, the Trevene does NOT have a laundry service. Ultimately, the Trevene is not all it is cracked up to be, perhaps unless you actually get a nice room with a fireplace.

Room Tip: Don't choose #105!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed in one of the pricey deluxe rooms here. I'd just had a long train journey from Kandy and since I wanted to get on with seeing a tea plantation I just resigned myself to the price (6000-7000 rupees!). So not the best value but the staff, atmosphere, and dinner did its best to make up for it.

The room utterly cavernous with a large double bed, small TV, wardrobe, fireplace (!). It even had an adjoining room with another double bed which I had to walk through to get to the bathroom.

The staff were impeccable. I had tea on the lawn when I arrived. I joined 6-7 other travellers for beers by the fire which turned into a three course dinner (ordered in advance) where we moved into the dining room for soup, curry, and amazing curd and treacle for dessert.

It's within walking distance from town and I was also easily able to arrange my own transportation to the Labookellie Mackwoods tea factory and when I left, transport down to Nanu Oya.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Property: The Trevene Hotel
Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing