We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept colonial house”
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Trevene Hotel
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well kept colonial house”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed her for one night in October. We came in the afternoon after a nice car ride from Sigirya.
Hadn't booked ahead, and were lucky that they had a room available. Paid 7500 rupies for a big room in the front of the building. The room was nicely decorated. It even had a fireplace, which was a nice change from the A/C and fan provided in the lower parts of the island. We didn't use it :-) but you will definatly need a sweather or a jacket when you go out at night. It was a big wardrobe in the room, but it was not suitable for storeing clothes because of the stench of mold.
The bathroom was big with plenty of hot water.
The garden is very nice, and ideal for relaxing with a drink in the afternoon.
The breakfast was a bit dissapointing with only bread, jam and eggs.
It is five minutes walk down to the city centre with plenty of shopping and eating oportunities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sihanoukville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    171
    76
    51
    26
See reviews for
71
227
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Like many others, we have chosen this hotel on recommendation of Lonely Planet. We made a mistake. Hotel looks charming from outside, but inside it is hiding a very poor accommodation. I start with positive things: owner´s wife is nice and dinner was quite good. Wi-fi works well and water was hot. Here it ends. Bad things start with horrible bed with dirty linen, very very worn blankets, pillows and matrasses. We only found on morning light that linen was not changed. Furniture, including bed is very old and bed makes noises with every turn. Bathroom was not clean either. Our room was located in front of reception and doors didn´t fit the frame, so we heard all the noises till late night, to be woken up before 7 AM by chatting staff. Room is also very, very cold. This so called "romantic" sittings in front of the fire place to heat you up before going to bed (as it was put by owner) is as far romantic as you could imagine sitting in the hospital room, with neon-like lights. Actually, such lights are all over the place, so the place totally lacks atmosphere of " a charming cottage". Even if one decides so, when there are more guests, the space is very limited. In the morning, the breakfast was very small and they simply forgot to bring us tea. The price was also too high for the service provided. To sum up: if you want to avoid huge disappointment, don´t go to this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monikey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevene, Owner at The Trevene Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
If you did not get your Tea, there are 3 people at the breakfast time for the breakfast service to make sure, you have everything, why not have asked for it ??? Very difficult to understand.....hmmmm....
We have plenty of staff at the service of our clients to make sure everything is alright...it is unimaginable to see how fake smiles people makes and try to revenge on forums, other than giving directly their personnel impressions to help improve a place ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Trevene is a short walk from Nuwara Eliya town, but feels a world away. There is a lovely garden where we were welcomed with a pot of tea. The manager and owners were very friendly and helpful. They light a fire in the evenings in the common room and have games and books available, The dinners were reasonably priced and social with a communal table for the guests. The room was a little worn but fine. We had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccashields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed two nights in this place. The room was dark and dirty. We were bitten by insects. Toilets were not clean neither. Breakfast was very bad and the owner was drunk every evening. The worst place we stayed in our three weeks in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bqr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheTrevene, Owner at The Trevene Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
THIS IS NOT A MANAGEMENT RESPONSE -I CAN NOT GET TO HAVE A REPLY FROM TRIP ADVISOR FOR THIS MATTER -KINDLY REPLY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

Dear sir...

I have send sooo many mails but is very surprise to see that you ignore them and never get back with replies......many of my guest are sending mails saying that their good reviews sent has not been posted from trip advisor and asking why, but now after long, , here there is a bad one posted, I think something is wrong and I kindly ask to reply to me and let me know the problem.
I am very very dissapointed that after paying an amount of $551.20, invoice number INV00266348, to have your support, we can not even get a reply to our mails.

Thank you,
Nisa
tel 072 230 4220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed Sep 27 for 2 nights in 2 rooms right off of reception. Both rooms were dirty and the chairs were broken. The room closest to reception had a broken TV, the door didn't even close fully because it was so warped. The reception and main lounge were used by the family which included young children. They were incredibly noisy and inconsiderate of the guests. When we booked we were told transfers from the train station were included in the price. We were not advised the restaurant would not serve lunch or dinner. When we called later to advise arrival time for transfers we were told they don't offer them. The owner later told us that was incorrect. However, he did not rectify the error by offering departure transfers. The restaurant was only open for breakfast which wasn't anything special. To add insult to injury, the owner grossly overcharged from his original quote. We suggest staying anywhere else but here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room was not very clean but noisy. The worst thing is that the next day when we decided to check out we ended up paying more than we agreed on. The breakfast isn't good at all. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi_pret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Considering the price (5000 rs) and the room condition, I can't be more dissappionted about this guesthouse recommended by the LP.
My room is 106, nearly the reception in the lobby. It's noisy and damp. The worst thing is that I got bitten by some very tiny insects all around my legs.
As for the service, they just thrown out my backpacks before the check-out time without my permission.
And it's the worst breakfast I've had in Sri Lanka.
The Trevene is the place I will never stay for one more night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilltopsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,497 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Property: The Trevene Hotel
Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing