We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene place in Nuwara Eliya”
Review of The Trevene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trevene Hotel
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Serene place in Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went to the hotel for lunch with my friends. We were staying at park View hotel and the owner of same owns the Trevene as well. Therefore we could have our meals at Trevene.

It is a nice place on top of hill, in front of Victoria Park. I met the owner of the place Dilruksha who was a very nice guy. Introduced his wife as well to us and he and his family personally takes care of this place which gives you a great homely feeling.

Dilruksha showed me the rooms as well as we were not staying there. Rooms are very comfy with proper heating / fire place. Nice bathrooms with hot water and bath tub. As per the prices he mentioned I think it is very much worth.

And they helped me to get my phone charged as well, even I was just a visitor for lunch. Had a lovely lunch. Food was good and served by Lalith, the manager of the place.

While we were there a couple of tourists checked in. I saw they were greeted warmly by Dilruksha and his wife who speaks French as well.

Will definitely consider to stay a night next time.

Room Tip: I believe it would help you get the room you want if you can talk to the owner (Dilruksha) directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tharinduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    171
    75
    52
    26
See reviews for
69
227
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We only planned to stay for 2 nights but we ended up extending our stay for another day as we liked the place so much! The rooms were great, a very warm and cozy feeling, you could even light a fire in the fireplace if you get one of the large rooms. The price quality ratio was great, you couldnt ask for more!
The staff are amazing. It was my girlfriends birthday and they all went out of their way to help make this a special day. It was our favourite place in all our time in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Located 10 minutes walk from the centre of town, uphill from the bus station, The Trevene is a former colonial-style bungalow thathat has been adapted to a family-owned guest house. Nuwara Eliya is dubbed "Little England" and here you can have tea on the lawn with rose borders. Our large room had wooden floor, period furniture and fireplace, and was entered through the lounge, where a fire was lit in the evening when the fall in temperatures gave the building a slight chill. Staff were welcoming and informative, in particular Nish who made a point of speaking to all guests, being fluent in (at least) English and French. Food was slightly higher in price but of good quality.

Going against usual instincts of doing our own thing, we opted for a tour offered visiting tea factory, plantations and waterfalls. Although it delivered what it said, the guide requested a higher price then we'd been told and far more than the experience warranted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Nuwara Eliya seems to be quite expensive - the Trevene was one of the cheaper options at 3000Rs per night for a double room (no need for fan or ac, as Nuwara Eliya is cold at night - you do however want a blanket and hot water, which this did hav - although the hot water was slightly dodgy and would turn from boiling hot to freezing cold randomly.) It's a nice old colonial building, but not all the rooms are in the old part of the house - ours was rather plain. However you can use the communal sitting rooms - they have a log fire some nights. We didn't eat here, but the breakfast was the standard eggs, toast, jam and tea and was nice. The staff here are very friendly (particularly Sydney - who is very smily - he was so proud that he is mentioned int he new LP guide!) and there is free wifi available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Possibly we were just unlucky but our room was really not good. Don't mind old, don't mind tatty (which is was) but it was dirty. Found other human hairs in the bathroom, used cotton wool tips behind the loo, the bed linen was stained and we were only provided one towel which was damp. One of the other guests told us that his room reeked of the kerosene used to light the fire. The food we ordered was served cold and was very bland. The owner was a lovely lady but was seemingly unaware of the poor standard of her rooms. Did peek into a couple of other rooms which did seem better - maybe we were just very unlucky but were very glad that we were only staying for one night. My husband would prefer that we could have given it a zero star rating.
Also if you are not used to the type of sheets they use on the beds it can be really uncomfortable (it brought us all out in a rash and made us feel really dirty , itchy and we constantly slept with one eye open).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie4pawedmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

In the green just half a mile from city center. Large rooms, tough not very new. Nice garden. Good service.
Overal a good staying with a nice and delicious home made dinner. The city is very sleepy but pleasant with gardens and market.
Worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmartigand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed in the Travene in July 2012. I was very disappointed with the experience given that it had been well reviewed in two guidebooks. The staff are nice and friendly however we were woken every morning at 6 am by their loud conversations and singing. We could hear every guest checking in and out so the experience was not a peaceful one. Furthermore despite the fact that my husband and I showed the staff the bites on our faces and legs, getting our room cleaned was a huge ordeal. And once it was cleaned the staff member all but demanded a tip for cleaning it...The final straw was that when we were checking out they tried to over charge us quite a significant amount so make sure you confirm the rate with them if you are going to book in here...On the plus sound the grounds and communal areas are pleasant and if you are traveling alone and want to meet up with people this might be the place for you..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obanlass28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trevene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trevene Hotel

Property: The Trevene Hotel
Address: 17 Park Road | Next to the Good Shepherd convent, behind the Victoria Park, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Trevene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 150 years old British Colonial banglow, situated in front of the famous Victoria park at 150m walking distance to the central town. We have 10 rooms all with attach bathrooms which are with bathtubs or showers. Some of our rooms also has fire places or we provide heaters if needed. You can enjoy the evenings by one of the oldest fire places of Sri Lanka, that we light in our lobby. This is the most beautiful, coolest place of our country which you must see on your trip to Sri Lanka. If you are looking for a Budget property, you can also book our Park view guest house (5 minutes away) or if you are looking for romantique, new and comfortable rooms, you can also check our new property , just next to The Trevene Hotel at Panorama Green View Hotel Nuwara Eliya Please make sure to give us a CALL prior to your arrival to reserve any room with any of our properties. Don't forget to have a look at our Ella Guest house Ella Grand Peak Hotel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Trevene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing