We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Trip.com
$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Agoda.com
$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/21
Destinia.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
233
75
50
36
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
233
75
50
36
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice view black tea great stay sri lanka thank you very much front office great hospitality excellent place gregory lake hotel staff nice room clean rooms ruban bandara mr jaggery honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 440 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

The worst experience I have had in a restaurant in my life, if anyone is thinking of dining here - Don't.

On a tour of Sri Lanka it was suggested to ten of us to eat at this restaurant. Getting out of our bus we saw some amazing views from the restaurant. We entered the restaurant and were eventually given menus. The waiter, who is pictured below, took our order after a lengthy time. Coming back to our table five or six times to ask had he got the order right. There was a thirty minute gap between the first person being served food and the last, baring in mind there was no one else eating in the restaurant apart from us. Three orders were wrong and when simply questioned, the waiter grunted at the group. The chicken provided for three dinners was clearly undercooked as evidenced by its red colour, as was the majority of the food on the table.

I asked the waiter to take back my food as it was inedible, I requested a plate of chips which he told me would be 600Rupees as at this stage I was very hungry. I have attached a picture of the plate of uncooked chips I received that I was going to be charged for. He began laughing at me and other members eating at the table when I complained and I requested his manager. He refused to get his boss and began speaking with other members of staff, pointing and laughing in my tables direction. This continued when our tour guide spoke in the waiters language to him, he denied any disrespect and then offered the table a plate of chips as a compromise for his wrongdoing, we refused this as his complete rude manner left us no option but to leave as quick as possible. Horrible experience, will not be recommending anyone to enter this restaurant again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank 933cathalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

CHECK IN/OUT went smoothly. You get welcome drink (tea with a traditional candy) and warm wet towel at the check in. The weather is colder than in the other parts of Sri Lanka so that’s why the warm drink and warm towels.
ROOM is very spacious with safe and TV. The flor is clean, but the drawers had trash in them – it seems they weren’t cleaned for a sometime. The bed is big. You also get 0,5l water per person, tea and coffee complementary. WiFi was not working well. The bad thing is that the walls are thin so you can hear everything. I recommend ear plugs.
BATHROOM is also clean. You get shampoo, shower gel and body lotion. There is also a hair dryer.
BREAKFAST is good. You get few choices of local and western food – eggs, sausages, toast, butter and jam, cereals, slices of chees and salami. There is also fresh fruit (watermelon, pineapple, papaya and bananas). There was orange juice, coffee and tea. They were taking photos, so everything was decorated. Since I had breakfast only once I am not sure if there are so many options when they don’t taking the pictures.
OTHER FACILITIES: There are a few areas in the hotel with sofas and tables where you can seat and relax.

Room tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best. The view is stunning, especially at the sunset and sunrise time.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slovenia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Oak Ray Summer Hill Breeze, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Dear Sir,
Let me thank you for your review on the trip adviser, it gives the amazing impression and image as you have given. And the few short coming that you have mention noted and informed to the management team as well.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need any help from our end specially to make your future reservations.
we all are looking forward to welcome you again at Oakray Summer Hill Breeze.
thank you and best regards
Management and team
Oakray Summer Hill Breeze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

Had a nice one night stay with a view while in tea country.

I was greeted with tea and jaggery while checking in. After climbing several steep flights of stairs I reached my room. It was spacious and had an amazing view of the fog as it crept over the town below. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A space heater was provided in the room as it was quite chilly at night.

This hotel did not have many extra amenities however was a great value with excellent service. I was unable to partake in the included dinner as I was not feeling well.

The hotel provided me with a to go breakfast of fruit, egg, and a sandwich which was very nice and I felt it was above and beyond expectations.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escape2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Oak Ray Summer Hill Breeze, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam
We are delighted to read your highly rated review on the trip adviser. I have shared your review with our team members. Your review will give all the informations of our hotel as you have clearly explained how you were impressed welcome by the staff, welcome drink,in room cleanliness, staff attentiveness and friendliness. Our staff has been informed the importance of the review of our clients ,as they need to keep up the same for all the guests in future.
we understand how you have been experienced our services and facilities and therefore you have taken little time to write such a fabulous review on us in the trip adviser which will be a great help to anyone who seeks a fabulous holiday in Hill country.
hope to see you again in Oakray Summer Hill Breeze.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017

The hotel is very nicely located in Nuwara Eliya. The dinner was very tasty, with 5 courses. The staff is friendly and very helpful. If you come to this region, be prepared that the weather is really cool/cold, and for us, the room was a bit cold as well. But it is a nice and not expensive hotel for short-term visit of the region.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orsi_DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_OakRaySenani, Front Office Manager at Oak Ray Summer Hill Breeze, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

Dear Sir/Madam, It is very interesting and inspiring to see your review on Trip adviser after your recent stay at our hotel. Words are inadequate for us to send our gratitude and sincere thanks for your GREAT REVIEW published on Trip adviser. In your review we found so much of compliments to our staff, facilities offered as well as our food. Thank you very much and looking forward to have you again at Oakray Summerhill Breeze Nuwaraeliya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

We were 3 and had made prior booking in Oakray Summerhill breeze through our tour operator. The room alloted to us initially was dingy and small and didn't have an extra bed. I asked for a change of room and the manager obliged. There was no elevator and we had to climb 2 floors to our room. The room was average and the bathroom was very small. The buffet spread for breakfast was OK.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank SRSHOBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_OakRaySenani, Manager at Oak Ray Summer Hill Breeze, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Thank you madam, for the time taken to pen a few words about your stay at the ‘Oakray summer hill breeze’ Nuwaraeliya.
The few shortcoming have been noted and the management informed,
Steps to be taken to put it right.
It only enjoys us and helps to see that your stay goes from good to excellent and this will be during your next visit.
Wishing you all the best.
Best regards,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews