We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely host, lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glenesk Bungalow

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chelsea G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely host, lovely location”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful two night stay at Glenesk Bungalow. The location is as beautiful as you can imagine and Khema is the epitome of a welcoming host. Khema went above and beyond to serve us copious amounts of Sri Lankan tea and helped organise our transportation before, during and after our stay. We hiked the renowned Horton Plains/Worlds End/Bakers Falls during our stay too. We were also treated to amazing traditional dinners, cooked by Khema's staff for a small price. We will definitely be recommending Glenesk Bungalow to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2017
Hi Chelsea (and Maddie),
It was great having you both to stay. You are definitely in our hall of fame for your epic trip to Horton Plains. Would love for you to stay here again next time you head to Sri Lanka.
Keep in touch,
Khema
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AravindKD
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As we were planning another visit to beloved Horton Plains we needed a place close by that would be both convenient and homely. We came across Glenesk Bungalow by chance, our family immediately felt drawn towards its charm after seeing the images of the place. We arrived at the place around 3 in the afternoon and was greeted by our hostess for the weekend who was very welcoming and kind. The staff had arranged freshly brewed tea along with home made cookies upon arrival and was available whenever we needed their services.

The evening should be spent by the front window couch curled up with a loved one or a good book while enjoying the view of the mountains and surrounding valley. A leisurely walk around the area help calm your mind and let you wind down from the hustle of city life. The evening time, settling down with the family around the fire place with a good bottle of wine was perfect followed up by their delicious dinner menu.

The rooms were spacious and very clean, the gardens were well kept adding to the beauty of the area. The breakfast was nice, we went for the Sri Lankan option.

Overall the experience at the bungalow was just what we needed as its very close to Horton Plains national park.

We thank the whole team and hope to be back the next time we plan to visit the national park.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Hi Aravind,
It was lovely having you and your family stay with us at Glenesk Bungalow, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Looking forward to having you stay with us next time you're heading to Horton Plains.
Warm regards,
Khema.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudhaif A
1 review
“Lovely bungalow, amazing view, great hospitality”
Reviewed January 19, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful stay in Glenesk Bungalow. Without doubt the best choice! View from the bungalow is magnificent and the garden is amazing. Loved sitting by the fireplace in the evening. We stayed in the Rose Room which was the main bedroom of the bungalow, very spacious and comfortable.

Lovely host not only ensured we had a great stay, but helped us with various other things like transportation and organizing our trip to hortain plains. And the staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay as well.

Excellent hospitality! I hope to be back.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Hi Hudhaif,
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Glenesk Bungalow and that your trip to Horton Plains went smoothly.
Would love to have you stay with us again when you're next in the area.
Warm regards,
Khema.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing