We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infested with bedbugs, avoid at any cost!”
Review of Hotel Silver Falls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Silver Falls
Ranked #167 of 260 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Guys, this is truly the worst hotel I've ever entered. It was booked for us as part of Kumuka's tour of Sri Lanka, but what we saw there at check in made us to demand a change of hotel. The place is duty, dump, bedsheets are stained and have holes, the walls were covered with mould, the bathroom filthy and smelly. But the final boiling point was when we found bedbugs under the pillows. Obviously we called the local tour agent, took photos that I'll be posting here when come back home. The local agent had to urgently book a room for us in another hotel called Galway Forest Lodge, which I'll be reviewing next. Avoid this place at all cost!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sashasolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked this hotel online and planned to stay for 2 nights, upon reaching there, we extended our stay by another night. Not many visitors during this season which made our trip even more eventful. Some personalised service was always welcome. Not a fancy hotel but the scenic view offset the interiors. Looks liek the hotel has not been maintained for long and the carperts are a bit stinky. Food was good as so was the service. Always prefer to take a room facing the waterfall.

Room Tip: prefer to take a room facing the waterfall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel is located away from the town with practically nothing nearby. But for that the location is excellent just in front of a roaring waterfall and tea plantations.The hotel looks a bit old and the path leading to the rooms looks dark. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The room was spacious and had a big double cot, a couple of chairs and a small TV. The view from the room and balcony is simply superb. The only let down in this hotel, I felt was the bathroom. It was a small extension of the room with the toilet and the bath just separated by a curtain. Except for a small bath soap no other toiletries were given. There was a room heater which was helpful as the place becomes cold during the night and early mornings. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. Anything that we needed was taken care promptly and courteously. As we wanted to leave early in the morning, we wanted our breakfasts to be packed so that we could carry them and have it later. A sumptuous breakfast consisting of some delicous cut fruits, omelette, bread toast with butter,jam, marmalade and fresh juice was packed neatly and handed over to us at the time we had requested for it. Though the noise of the waterfall could be heard in the rooms throughout the night, it was not really disturbing.

If you want to have a quiet stay and stay close to nature, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yrajesh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Although this hotel wasn't anything trendy or grand, the staff was very friendly and nice, rooms were very clean and even had a heater and blankets as it is rather chilly in Nuwara Eliya, and more than anything else, the view from a balcony was simply breath-taking, with tea mountains as far as eyes can reach, and the sound of buddhist rites in the evening from the mountains. It's more like a budget hotel and compared to other similar hotels, it really was the best! So if you're not looking for a luxurious place and can enjoy simple things with beautiful nature, cleanliness and heartfelt service, I'd highly recommend this place!! I can't wait to go back and stay there for at least several days:)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The staff at the Silver Falls were very helpful, we had booked on the wrong day and the owner was more than happy to accommodate us and for that I give him the highest of praises.
The hotel is at a very beautiful (albeit slightly out of the way) location so make sure you have transport as nothing is within walking distance.
My one complaint would be the linens in the restaurant were all stained, for some reason Sri Lankan restaurants are in love with the practice of using cloth napkins, but unfortunately they appear less than sanitary. The food however was quite good, just make sure you order local as the value far outweighs the attempts at continental cuisine.
Nuwara Eliya is a DAMP town, it rained heavily the whole time we were there and everything felt damp. The hotel did as much as they could to alleviate this issue (space heaters etc...) but it is really a losing battle.
If you don't like dampness avoid this town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmaninalittleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I don't know why tripadvisor told that my review is profanity, if I was very dissapointed of hotel and all people in hotel from Europe aslo complained. We booked this hotel for few nights and cancelled it with after first night. Wet bed and dark room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etecouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Location is 'special' , 3 km out of town with lovely views on the tea fields and a nice silver waterfall. Lovely views from room and balcony. Room was just adequate, with large bed and very limited bathroom (not even a floor mat or small towel supplied). Maintenance here lags behind, they had to move us to another room when a technical problem could not be fixed.
Breakfast was adequate, but served slowly. The whole building looks worn-out and with maintenance backlogs. Hence okay for a night stay but really at guesthouse prices, not the starclass hotel price that they are asking. After a maintenance upgrade including better bathrooms and restaurant could become a REALLY nice basis to see Eliya and the hillcountry.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,614 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Falls

Address: No: 23, Nanuoya Road, Windy Corner, black pool, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: $42 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Falls is located in the most picturesque part of Nuwara Eliya overlooking a natural waterfall. Located on the main Colombo - Nuwara Eliya Road, it is just 2 Kilometers from Nuwara Eliya Race Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Silver Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing