We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea on the lawn!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Club Restaurant

Hill Club Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tea on the lawn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

No trip to Nuwara Eliya is complete without afternoon tea on the front lawn of The Hill Club; worth the 100 LKR's temporary membership fee!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A unique (almost) experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I bracket 'almost' because apart from the Hill Club there are a bare handful of old British colonial clubs still operating around the world that allow access to non members to savour what is an unforgettable experience like this. For me,the Hill Club sits alongside the Ooty Club in India and the Bulawayo Club in Zimbabwe as old colonial clubs proudly if not a little desparetly holding onto society standards set and practised many decades ago. It really is an historical gem and no matter what views you may hold over colonial history and its impact, the Hill Club still has over 700 fully paid up Sri Lankan members who love the place. The English are now the 'guests' and not the 'hosts' so please expect to comply with the host's request over standards of dress. If you disagree with these then simply don't come to the Hill Club for dinner. As it turns out it isn't a problem if you don't have a jacket and tie. I was politely given a choice of over 20 clean and neatly pressed jackets to chose from and a club tie to borrow. Suitably dressed you are qualified to be treated like any other (more or less; members have a slightly cheaper bar list). Dinner itself was a great experience. A 4 course set dinner, candlelit white linen covered tables, served by attentive waiters in white gloves and all for a very reasonable $24 per head. After dinner we took tea by a roaring log fire and were offered a game of snooker on the century plus year old table. Sadly our night came to and end when I had to hand back my borrowed jacket and tie and a little like Cinderella, put on my practical travel clothing again and slipped into a waiting tuk tuk to whisk me off back to the real world. If only I could be a Timelord!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific experience if a little eerie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I hate to use a cliched phrase but the Hill Club really was 'a step back in time'. Even though the restaurant was totally empty save for us the formal dining experience in the middle of a backpacking trip was something else.

I had the foresight to arrive in shirt, decent(ish) shoes and tailored trousers but I still needed to borrow a tie and an ancient jacket to completely fit the bill.

The food in itself was quite terrific if perhaps lightly 1970s inspired. I highly recommend a meal here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Futtock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“do not eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

on arrival at the hill club my husband was crudely examined by the waiter and told he was not suitably dressed for the posh dinning room....we had expected this but not quite in the manner it was done. we were esp. perturbed as we were the only restaurant guests in both dining rooms????? we were told to got to the casual dining room for dinner...the food was mediocre at best but the waiting staff was attentive and nice. after dinner we asked if we could have our coffee and brandy in the billiard rooms and told we only had a short time as the hotel was closing....we thought this was very rude as we had spent a small fortune in there. every few minutes a waiter came through to inspect us and hint that we should be leaving. the moment we left the lights in the hotel were turned off and we were left to walk down the hill in near darkness, only to find they had locked the gate and there was no security...after 20 minutes we finally were able to leave.

this is not worth the money and the feeling from the staff that you are not worthy to be there. the food was not that great and the wine very over priced. an interesting experience but one leaving you feeling used and upset

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstyangela16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get dressed up and go back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went for dinner here for the experience of a trip back in time to experience the old colonial atmosphere. We weren't expecting too much from the food but it was surprisingle good and good value. Delicious asparagus soup and chocolate and coffee pudding. Main course of roast lamb and mint sauce - well done meat thinly sliced to remind me of my childhood. Waiters wear the full kit including white gloves. Go - it's a hoot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonHedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Club Restaurant also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Hill Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing