We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly place and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Indian

Grand Indian
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“friendly place and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The restaurant has a very pleasant setting, it has a nice outdoor area and elegant interiors. all age groups were enjoying the food as there is a lot of choice. Both the kids ordered their favorites and we also went to the hotel cafe across for tea and dessert afterwards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moyenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    427
    163
    64
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Great good in an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

They have wide range of item in the menu and the price is not rocket high at all. Anyone can also enjoy a sunny day sitting outside corner of the restaurant. The staffs are attentive to customers all the time. They are also child-friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shashanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The lack of nice dining places at Nuwara Eliya probably made this place overrated. There is always a long queue outside the door and we waited 20 minutes in the cold rain to get in. The food quality is average. We ordered a lemongrass soup which was quite nice, the lamb sheekh kebebs, malai chicken kebab, fish and tandoori roti. The kebabs were ok. The tandoori roti was crispy much to our surprise. What is nice about the restaurant is the large glass windows and cosy lighting which draws you to it. Do not go there when you are starving and need a quick bite.They don't take reservations as they are always full.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food but service is pathetic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had been here for lunch. First they told us the place is full and we need to wait for 45 minutes. When we went a second time we were again told the place is full. But we saw a lot of empty tables and contacted another person in the restaurant and were allowed to sit inside.
My son wanted a dosa. It was the worst dosa I had ever eaten. This can be due to the fact I am from Chennai the home of dosas but even otherwise it was well below average. Maybe they do not cook south indian food particularly well.
The starters and main course (North Indian food) were excellent. Overall I will say the place serves good food.
Where they lag behind is the service. We had to wait for 45 minutes from the time we gave the order to get the soup and starters. The waiters were confused and served us something which was supposed to go to the next table. Fortunately for them someone alerted the waiter about this and the food was taken to the correct table. To sum it, the place has good food and aweful service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dathathreyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

little choice in this great town -service a little laxed. good meals and at reasonable cost. they had a high chair which was a huge plus

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Indian also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Grand Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing